We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Plaza Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Plaza Suites to your Saves list
The Plaza Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3100 Lakeside Drive, Santa Clara, CA 95054   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Santa Clara
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
“great Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

Big room very clean and functional.
Great breakfast and hospitality.
Free wired and Wireless internet with 6GB download and 3GB upload quota.

Room Tip: Take the suite it is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    110
    43
    8
    9
See reviews for
80
33
23
132
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

This isn't a hotel I've heard of before, so I didn't have high expectations. We stayed for our annual three day district convention for Jehovah's Witnesses. What a surprise! The hotel lobby is warm and welcoming. Check in was friendly and quick. The room itself was clean, smelled good, nice view of the swimming pool. The beds were comfortable (a little firmer than what I'm accustomed to), the down comforter kept us warm and comfy. I loved the partitioned off "living room" with separate desk, pull out sleeper sofa, microwave, and small fridge. The included breafast buffet was delicious and started our long day of bible education just right! The location is off the highway, but away from traffic, so it's quiet, close to several restaurants and close to the convention center- about a 10 min drive.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Nice place for families. Our rooms had a living room with a sofa bed and then a separate bedroom with a door. Flat screen TVs in both the living room and bedroom. My brothers' room had a TV that worked. Our TV did not - had a bad connector which produced a fuzzy & unwatchable picture. We found this annoying, esp. since we were in the tech capital of San Jose! Sofa beds were difficult to sleep on with your head being lower than your feet. We had to take the mattresses and flip them around to put our heads higher than our feet. Free breakfast buffet was a definite plus, and an easy way to start the day. Rooms were a tad dusty. We asked for a feather-free room when we booked, but this did not happen. Consequently, allergies were triggered which made the stay less than an optimal experience. Why can't hotels get this right?? Doors for bathroom and bedroom were constantly banging into each other. Not a terrific design.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turlock
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

We had a good night stay in this hotel. The only problem that I had with this hotel and I had to rated 4 stars was the elevator. When I tried to check out, one of the elevators was down and the other one we had to wait forever, so we decided to use the stairs several times. Well, At least we had a good exercise and we burned the calories of their free hot buffet breakfast!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albuquerque
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

We stayed one night on a Saturday. There were lots of families, the hotel seemed close to capacity. This led to a few problems. When we first checked in, there were no carts for our luggage. The guy at the front desk just shrugged and said we would have to wait for one. One elevator was broken, and the wait to use it was very long, with some people having to wait many times to get on. The worst part was the pull out sofa. Our 10 year old son could not sleep on it. There were springs poking his back, lots of bumps, and it was not comfortable at all. The hotel does not have roll-away beds, you have to use the pull out. We tried extra padding (with a blanket), but nothing worked. Eventually he moved to our bed. You can hear the 101 freeway noise. We were on the side away from the 101, but facing it. Nobody slept well, or long enough. The next morning, there was a HUGE line at the breakfast buffet, and not nearly enough tables to sit at. The room was clean, the hotel generally nice, but we would not stay again.

Room Tip: Facing the pool, on the 101 side may be quieter than the other side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

The staff was wonderful and the hotel was beautiful. They were extremely busy but promptly took care of everyone in a friendly manner. I checked in and to my amazement I was being offered an upgrade in my room at a cheaper price that included 2 extra tickets to Great America. I will be back!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

I found it pricey but the location is very central to our business. The rooms were clean but it seems that it is an old building. For the price, I think there could be better deals out there. Breakfast was included in the price and very convenient to have a breakfast meeting

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Plaza Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plaza Suites

Address: 3100 Lakeside Drive, Santa Clara, CA 95054
Location: United States > California > Santa Clara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Clara
#7 Business Hotel in Santa Clara
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Clara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Plaza Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Plaza Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plaza Hotel Santa Clara
Plaza Hotel Santa Clara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Plaza Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.