We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I expected more from a Hyatt” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Santa Clara

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Santa Clara to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Santa Clara
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5101 Great America Parkway, Santa Clara, CA 95054   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast for Two
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Santa Clara
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Jose, California, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“I expected more from a Hyatt”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I stayed here for a convention I was attending. The hotel, the pool, the lobby bar and the rooms were very nicely updated. They need some help from a designer on the look and feel of their elevator banks and hallway though. It is truly disgusting and makes you feel like you're in a two star hotel. Thank goodness the rooms make up for it.

The beds are comfortable and the room very modern. Housekeeping could do a better job though. They have these cool Japanese-style sliding bathroom doors made of glass. Once inside the bathroom looking at the glass doors, they're covered with toothpaste and who knows what sprayed all over them. I mean seriously housecleaning...closing the doors and look at them before you leave the bathroom. You'll notice many more things like peeling wallpaper or hair stuck to walls that you should be taking care of before you leave. Besides that, everything felt very clean in the room.

The hotel elevators, OMG the worst! Right in the middle of a convention (which the hotel is sold out to accommodate) they only had 1 elevator out of 4 working. And the one that did work wouldn't close it's doors all the way until the 6th time. It was like a bad joke. We would all try holding the door closed button, etc. But the doors just wouldn't close until the sixth try. There were no fat people on the elevator, there was no one blocking the door, but those darn elevated doors just would not close! Since I was on the top/14th floor with 2 little kids, taking them wasn't an option unless it was an emergency. At one time I did take them a few flights, and what did I see on the 12th floor? An elevator blocked open so someone could clean/oil the tracks. Really? At 9am when you have hundreds of people trying to use them? Whatever. I don't know anything about elevators so maybe this is mandatory. Don't know the story on the other 2 that never opened.

My last gripe is for the Regency Club or whatever it's called. I booked online and paid extra so I could have the convenience of getting afternoon drinks/snacks, plus breakfast for my family before we had to be downstairs at 7:30a. When I checked in, there was no mention of food even though they had me on that floor. When I asked about it he said it wasn't available and the manager lowered my rate. When I asked for proof of the lower rate and why wasn't I notified of this at time of booking, he couldn't provide or answer either. So I took down his name to make sure I got the lower rate at checkout, and luckily no problems there. So at checkout I asked the gal at front desk why Regency breakfast room was closed, and she said it always is on weekends because typically only weekday business travelers ask/pay for that service. So why can I book it online if its always closed on weekends? She didn't know. She said this is not a Hyatt thing, just their thing, and recommended I call in the future to confirm. Oh brother.

So would I stay here again? For the convenience of being at the convention center, maybe. But literally right across the street is the Hilton Santa Clara which is just as nice if not nicer, and cheaper! I would recommend the Hilton.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    183
    106
    37
    20
See reviews for
65
53
44
284
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dearborn, Missouri
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Well if you are in the area for business, a conference or convention, this is the place to stay. Right next door to the convention center in Santa Clara, it is a lovely hotel with lots of amenities. Hotel staff is friendly and very helpful. Even though there are business people everywhere going to meetings and such, it is still kid friendly. From the restaurant, to the gift shop and pool, they make kids feel welcomed. That is sometimes hard to come by with a more upscale, business like hotel. We felt very welcomed. Room was sparkling clean and food was fantastic in hotel restaurant. Lovely place overall.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Santa Clara, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Hyatt Regency Santa Clara. I’m pleased that you and your family had a wonderful experience. We welcome all travelers whether on business or leisure. I’m glad that you found your room to be very clean and the food in the hotel restaurant to be very good. Your recommendation is greatly appreciated!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Nice hotel. Hallways tired - rooms ok. I stayed 2 nights on business travel. Perfect if youre visitng the local large tech firms.

Best part is the breakfast - buffet - nice lay out.

Internet - standard $5/ night and $10 if you want premium.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at this location several times this month - the staff was friendly and very helpful. We used the AAA rate which included a full buffet breakfast both times - a great value. The parking in front of the hotel was free and easily accessible. The rooms were comfortable and clean. The rates were reasonable considering it was a Hyatt. The only 'downside' were the corridors - the floors are a bit dated, but that is strictly cosmetic and had no bearing our our comfort. We will stay there again when we have business in the area.

Room Tip: City view pleasant - suggest the 5th floor or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Santa Clara, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Santa Clara for your business trips. I’m thrilled that you found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. It sounds like you enjoyed your room and found it to be well appointed. Your feedback and recommendation are our biggest compliment. We look forward to your return!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, CA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is really a business/convention hotel, so don't expect too much around without driving. We are used to getting free wifi, so that was a bummer that we had to pay. The restaurant is small compared to the size of the hotel, so we ended up going to a local diner, Country Inn Cafe, for brunch. That turned out to be a really good decision 'cuz my corned beef hash eggs benedict was so awesome. No other compliants or frills....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stay here two or three times a year for events my daughter has. The rooms are very clean and inviting. The staff has always been very friendly and helpful. It is right next to Great America, and close to shopping and dining. The price of food at the hotel is a bit extreme. I paid 4.50 for a large cup of hot water and a tea bag to go back to my room and find two of the same tea bags in there for free. The food is just as expensive so we eat outside of the hotel. Great place to stay though.

Room Tip: Facing east was beautiful. I watched the sun rise and could see the beautiful green hills all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merced, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

At check-in they automatically hold 50.00 on your bank/credit card for "incidentals". Room was very modern and beds were comfortable. There was no breakfast offered and I got a knock on the door asking if we could keep the noise level down. I was a little put off by this seeing as how there were just a couple of kids in our room laughing relatively quietly?? Overall I would say take your money elsewhere and at least get a hot breakfast included with your stay someplace else. Not really a hotel for families.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Santa Clara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Santa Clara

Address: 5101 Great America Parkway, Santa Clara, CA 95054
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Clara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Clara
#10 Business Hotel in Santa Clara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Santa Clara 4*
Number of rooms: 501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Santa Clara combines luxury and service with a premier location. Our newly renovated Santa Clara hotel accommodations feature the Hyatt Grand Bed, high-speed Internet access, deluxe amenities and sweeping views. A selection of inviting restaurants offers a variety of cuisine, from classic American to Sushi. Take advantage of extensive meeting facilities and 24-hour business center to make every stay at this Hyatt hotel in Santa Clara a success. With its unmatched service and ideal location - connected to the Convention Center, in the heart of the Silicon Valley and near the Great America Theme Park - you'll discover why we are the premier choice among Santa Clara, California hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Santa Clara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Santa Clara Hotel Santa Clara
Santa Clara Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Santa Clara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Santa Clara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.