We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic little B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Madison Street Inn

Save Saved
You added Madison Street Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Madison Street Inn
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   1390 Madison Street, Santa Clara, CA 95050   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct, Save $!!!!
Ranked #1 of 2 Santa Clara B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Fantastic little B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Had a conference to attend in San Jose, and all the big guys were full. (Thankfully!)
Came across this place on the internet, and couldn't believe the great reviews. Had to check it out to see if they were all nuts (or paid off).
I couldn't believe that places like this still existed. Very cute little B&B. Incredible hosts Teressa and Ralph. Great food, great hospitality. It really was a truely delightful experience. Next time I'm in the area I won't hesitate staying there. Why would you pay more for a sterile chain hotel room. I have stayed in many of these all over the world, and none of them offered free cookies, port, and a BBQ around the firepit after a long days work! Really feels like you are popping around to with friends who just invited you over.
Great job guys!!

Steve

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    11
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
19
20
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Whangarei, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Madison Inn was like staying at a friends house only with privacy. Theresa is very relaxed in her approach to running a B&B and yet professional at the same time. Both mornings we had a wonderful breakfast and she was helpful in suggesting where to dine and to go for shopping. We had the cabernet suite and found the bed most comfortable, the sheets were gorgeous. We had our own entry which was great and found the neighbourhood to be very quiet. I could have easily stayed there for a week as the inn is so relaxing. Our room was large and clean. The rates are extemely reasonable

Room Tip: The cabernet has its own entry and was very quiet, also it is very large with a sofa so ideal for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I spent a wonderful one day vacation on Aug 6 at Madison Street Inn. Tess (owner) is a nice women and has very good cooking skill. I enjoyed her breakfast and swimming poll-side BBQ. Room is clean and with Wifi internet service. and the dog Puppy is very friendly. I love everything so I booked my next vacation on 8/30-31 at Madison Street Inn.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are large and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Madison Street Inn is the place where you relax and make lifelong friends. Really, the owners Theresa and Ralph are easy going and generous. They care to every need of their guests and provide excellent service. I can attest to this because by the time I arrived, I drove cross country from Florida to Santa Clara, CA. I was exhausted and Theresa made me feel like I'd just arrived at my new place. She was even kind of to accept a package for me. This B & B is great alternative to a hotel. I truly enjoyed the outdoor BBQs over the fire pit by the pool and waking up to a nice freshly prepared breakfast. I was lucky enough to stay in the Suite. The room is decorated with fine furnishings that combine modern style with a touch of elegance and sophistication. This B & B is located in the heart of Santa Clara and walking distance to Neto's and Mio Vincenio. There is a bus line that close by that goes right into the heart of Silicon Valley and to the nearby Cal Train station. This is a great place for solo travelers, family, business types, or friends. I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Try and get the suite. Its like a mini studio apartment complete with a bathroom, microwave, and fri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tesswsantaclara, Owner at Madison Street Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Inn.
We have enjoyed making guests happy for over 26 years and plan to continue for many more as our efforts are being so well received.
Theresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

I stayed at the Madison Street Inn from mid-January until the end of April. Aside from giving me a clean, quiet, comfortable room at an unbeatable price, there were all kinds of unexpected extras. Theresa brought me homemade soup when I was sick, found me good people to paint and clean my current home prior to move-in, and always kept the inn's parlor stocked with port and wonderful chocolate chip cookies. Ralph, meanwhile, fixed my car, took me to an authentic San Jose speakeasy, and orchestrated at least one gourmet dinner a week for the inn's guests.

I miss the place already!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights with our dog Cooper. It was my husband's first time in a B&B & we really had a great time. Even our dog was happy playing in the backyard with their dog Lana. The location itself is very convenient. We had a nice breakfast prepared every morning. The chocolate chip cookies was to die for. The hosts Ralph & Teresa are very accommodating & attentive to their guests. We will be staying here again if we happen to be in town.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yellowstone National Park, Wyoming
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

I would definitely go back and recommend this B&B to others. The building is original, the furnishings are very comfortable while fitting in well, and the garden and pool area provide an enjoyable place to hang out if you have the time (and you should take the time). Above all, Ralph and Theresa are very warm and welcoming hosts. And did I mention the cookies?

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Madison Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Street Inn

Address: 1390 Madison Street, Santa Clara, CA 95050
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Clara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Clara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Madison Street Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Madison Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madison Street Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.