We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Global Winter Wonderland” 3 of 5 stars
Review of California's Great America

California's Great America
Great America Parkway, Santa Clara, CA 95050
408-988-1776
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 14 Attractions in Santa Clara
Type: Amusement/ Theme Parks, Amusement Parks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The new roller coaster, called Stealth, mimics flight and is one of the park's thriller rides.
San Jose, California
1 review
“Global Winter Wonderland”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This was a pretty fun event. There were a lot of interesting attractions. Our family had a good time. It was super cold for us Californians so I recommend bundling up.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    104
    51
    17
    18
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DC
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
74 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Global Winter Wonderland great for young kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This is a review for Global Winter Wonderland which occurs during the winter season at Great America. 2012 was their second season. We found discount tickets and decided to try it out. Fill your car with all the people it will hold because you will have to pay for parking. There weren't any signs on where to redeem discount tickets so that was a little confusing. You can purchase tickets just to enter the park or pay an additional fee to ride the rides. This is convenient for people who don't want to go on rides. Only some of the park's rides operate during Winter Wonderland, but they bring in additional carnival kiddie rides. Overall, I'd only buy the ride ticket for young kids who enjoy rides or others who enjoy calm rides. The ride lines were short so they will definitely get good use of the ticket.

For those who don't care about rides, there are lots of light displays throughout the park, a laser light show, a dinosaur maze, an outdoor show area, indoor theater with a variety of shows, booths selling various items, and of course food for purchase. Fun time for a family.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
67 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Winter Wonderland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

It was so amazing to see all the beautiful and colorful gigantic Chinese lantern festival recently, the event start at 4:00 pm till 10:00 pm, they have laser light show with rising smoke, reflective bubbles and winter snow at the seven story Enchanted Castle, the Dinosaurland are good for young kids, they also have the special Peking Opera - the Monkey King, the only disappointed shows are the magic shows performed by Alex Wu and Heather Rogers

When we first came to the park, we wanted to know the performance schedule, which none of the workers had. And the written scheduled contradicted each other from show times to actual shows. The first show Dan Davinci, was 30 minutes late, but had an entertaining show.

Alex Wu started his show pretty strong with card manipulation and a classic of magic, the linking rings, but for a reason unapparent to me and the rest of the family, he “switched characters” to what appeared to be a parody of an Asian magician. His off-color comedy routine could be easily mistaken for racism and all tricks that he did afterward were intentionally bad (bribing a volunteer to say something had disappeared, harassing a child through a “lie detector, and doing magic with no payoff, that was supposed to be funny”). Also, throughout this entire part of his act, he played the popular song Gangum Style on repeat. This is incredibly annoying and made his stand-up/magic act very hard to hear and understand. The end of his show just left a bad taste in my mouth. I see that he has potential, and am very puzzled as to why he would wreck that by the finish of his show.

Heather Rogers was a main act on stage, she is a very talented magician and all her magic was excellent, unfortunately she did more silly mugging and semi-comedic stories then magic. She danced around awkwardly and mimed songs like 50’s era Jerry Lewis, but was ill equipped to pull it off. She coaxed a nice looking gentlemen on the stage and proceeded to make off-color remarks and kept him on stage a long while she mugged and did unfunny comedic routines. I sincerely hope I get a chance to see her magic act as this is where her talent lies.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Should've left it in my childhood”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Growing up I loved PARAMOUNT'S Great America...But as soon as the money dried up and paramount split from the park, all the garbage in California took over. Tacky, gross, low class is what the park screamed after all the movie relics were removed and ride names were changed. I feel bad for the miserable employees, but I feel worse for my crappy time BECAUSE they were all so miserable. I also definately smelled 'ganja' near the bumpercars...the Grizzly gave me headaches, but thats my fault. I should have saved up for Disneyland, because this was disappointing. The pizza was still bomb though, can't hate on good greasy pizza :) Oh, and also, if you're going to have 4 of your biggest rides shut down, please hang a sign in the parking lot or something so we know when to turn around. Yeah Disneyland is expensive, but you get what you pay for when you pay cheap. I probably just had too fond of childhood memories there, that this was a shock to me. I miss Top Gun and Days of Thunder :(

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilroy
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

California's Great America is fun on any given day but has added educational value on 'Physics Day' in May. Students conduct experiments about the rides - they 'have to' ride the rides! The park is clean and safe.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed California's Great America also viewed

 

Been to California's Great America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage California's Great America, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.