We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tomatina is good but expensive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tomatina

Tomatina
3127 Mission College Blvd, Santa Clara, CA 95054
408-654-9000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #70 of 365 Restaurants in Santa Clara
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Pizza & Pasta
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Santa Ana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Tomatina is good but expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I've been really surprised at this place. While the food is good, the prices are pretty expensive for what you get. In all honesty, I liked going here when I was able to expense it to work, but I don't think I'd rush here on my own dime.

Definitely not bad food, but overpriced for the quality.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    27
    21
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

At the recommendation of a local, I visited the restaurant with business associates on a recent trip to the Bay Area. The place was crowded at noon with lunch-goers, but we were seated right away. The food was great and the service was quick. I would recommend this to others and plan to stop there again on my next trip.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire, England
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Interesting menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

You will find all the usual Italian staples on the menu here, as well as a few more unusual combinations, like a pork and butternut squash risotto (which was very nice). Good for a lunch or casual dinner.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarpon Springs
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great place for a small biz lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This is a great place for lunch with good thin crust pizza and variants of it. I've taken lots of out of town business guests here and all seem to really enjoy it. It is a little more upscale than the average pizza place with some more unique items. As others have said, the service is average but the food is better than average. It's very popular at lunch so best to arrive around 11.30 to get a table. There are also outside tables.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Draper, Utah
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Now this place food is what I call "Italiano"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I'm here on a business trip with a bunch of other engineers from around the world, and of course at the end of the day, everyone wants to down shift and chill. Some one did a search on Italian, and suggested Tomatina's and off we all went. I had a house salad and a pizza. The pizza was thin crust but not cracker like and very tasty with the right combination of cheese's, sauce and toppings. The price was reasonable for the Bay area (I'm use to small towns), the other guy's got different types of food but everyone agreed that their dishes where excellent, and the service was attentive without being over the top bothersome. I didn't have any of the house wines but the others did, and thought it tasted better than some other places we have eaten with their house wines. On the whole this experience was very positive, but as others have mentioned it is near the AMC theater and the parking is interesting to say the least.
on the scuba bubble scale I give this place 7 out of 10 bubbles.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tomatina also viewed

Santa Clara, CA
Santa Clara, CA
 
Santa Clara, CA
 

Been to Tomatina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tomatina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.