We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable San Jose institution” 4 of 5 stars
Review of By-Th'-Bucket Bar and Grill

By-Th'-Bucket Bar and Grill
4565 Stevens Creek Blvd, Santa Clara, CA 95051
(408) 248-6244
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
By-Th'-Bucket Bar and Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 335 Restaurants in Santa Clara
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Williamsburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
367 reviews 367 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 158 cities Reviews in 158 cities
287 helpful votes 287 helpful votes
“Comfortable San Jose institution”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We have been going to this restaurant for many years and always find it comfortable and welcoming. It is a busy place, and we rarely go without reservations. To offset the price, look for their "early bird special" coupons in the paper, good until 6:30. As long as you are in the restaurant before 6:30 and signed in, they will honor it.

The atmosphere is cozy with many TV's around the seating area. Volume is low but allows you to watch your favorite team if they are on. Especially good during football season. Service is not fast, but they get the job done.

This is an Italian seafood restaurant, but we mainly go here for the seafood. Portions are large and take home boxes are needed. I like the cedar plank dishes where the salmon or shrimp is cooked along with the vegetables on a cedar plank. Great flavor without any heavy sauces. My DH likes the paella with seafood and spicy sausage and the blackened catfish jambalaya, also spicy. You don't find these dishes on every menu in town and is a nice change from the usual restaurant fare.

I would recommend trying this restaurant if you are in the area.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    28
    11
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
California Hot Springs, California
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Great Food - A little expensive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

The cool guys from MINI Cooper made this suggestion. It was excellent food, I have the blackened salmon (attaching pic) it was a good experience but with tip a $58.00 lunch for two. However that did Include one glass of wine.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Grove, Ca
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Home cookin' at its best!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We came up to Santa Clara to purchase a car after ours was involved in an accident. Had a great experience at the Hertz Car Sales place on Stevens Creek and as we were leaving, we asked about a good restaurant nearby. They recommended what they called "The Bucket." We saw that it was full at 8 p.m. - always a good sign, so we went in. The place was busy and full of 49er fans with the Super Bowl just 2 days away. Staff was friendly and quick to serve us. Warm sourdough rolls were brought to our table along with the tomato soup we ordered - clearly a family recipe that does not disappoint! I ordered the Rotisserie Chicken Marsala Style which is Bone-In Chicken Breast simmered selected style served with rotisserie vegetables for $16. The dish that arrived was filled with tender chicken pieces and lots of mushrooms, spinach, carrots and noodles. Delicious!! It was enough for two people so I took home the leftovers. My husband had the Rotisserie Chicken dinner and that was equally as delicious. If you have a desire for a warm, homemade meal and you don't mind the sports stuff on the walls, give this place a try. Next time I think we'll try the seafood. An awful lot of empty plates going by from those dishes!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“very good food and great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We have been there twice in November. The wait staff is great. The food has gotten back to very good (use to be great) but definately up from their low. The menu has become more simple and while I miss the great sword fish some of the new dishes are very good.I do recomend staying away from anything titled "pepper" as that will be the only taste on the dish. Once again becoming one of our favorite restaurants.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Favorite neighborhood hangout -- Still the one after all these years”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We had not been to By-Th--Bucket for perhaps eight years. A friend had relatives in town and invited us to come along on a Sunday night. The place was packed. Our party of five only fit in the bar, so that's where we ate. The bar was full too with many who were obviously regulars.

You may be wondering about the name "By-Th--Bucket." It refers to the restaurant's specialty: mussels and clams served in a bucket (a real tin pail) that's filled with shellfish and butter/cream sauce. Our host ordered that and he was mighty happy. Two of us ordered catfish and prawns etouffee. We too were pretty happy but be warned. It's hot.

The restaurant's specialty is seafood, as you might have gathered. A whole king salmon was iced in a display case when we arrived. There are also beef and chicken dishes on the extensive menu as well as soup and salads. One member of our party had eggplant parmesan, so there's at least one vegetarian dish on the menu.

Decor is 1970s brass and oak. It's a warm, comfortable place and everyone seemed pretty mellow or happy. The bar has seven flat-screen TVs showing sports events. We watched a bit of the Cowboys-Eagles game. The sound's turned down do conversation is possible and there's lots of that going on in the bar. Several patrons at the bar had clearly succeeded in lowering their inhibitions on conversation.

Service was friendly if a tad slow, but this is not really a place to rush in and out of. It's a throwback in time, and so you might just want to take the time to savor the atmosphere.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed By-Th'-Bucket Bar and Grill also viewed

 

Been to By-Th'-Bucket Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage By-Th'-Bucket Bar and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.