We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great overnight in SB” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Agave Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Agave Inn to your Saves list
Agave Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3222 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93105   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 54 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Sugar Land, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great overnight in SB”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

What a great find! This cute roadside motel off of State Street is a great stay in Santa Barbara. The price was perfect and it is just a 5 minute drive to the city center where all of the action is. Considering the prices in downtown SB, this hotel was great....and the parking was free!

The room was quiet at night, the shower had great water pressure, and bed was clean and comfortable. While we did not have the breakfast (which is included but is only a pastry and coffee), we did head across the street to the Renault Bakery for the best almond crescent roll I have ever had!

Overall I would highly recommend this property. We travel A LOT and can be very discerning of our hotel choices, but this one is a win. Friendly service, great prices, clean rooms, free parking. What more could you want? Book it!

Room Tip: Eat early in downtown SB. Most restaurants close at 10 but won't seat past 9:30.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    133
    33
    4
    6
See reviews for
55
149
35
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

Very friendly, personal little inn rather than soulless motel. Our room was very bright and airy, very clean, good bed. It is a little far from downtown but doesn't really matter. Don't rely on breakfast as it is very limited. We stayed 3 nights and would stay again.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We were passing through Santa Barbara. This place was perfect and excellent value. Comfy beds. Rooms were sparse but more than adequate. There was a microwave, fridge, iron. No cutlery or plates. A paper cup would have been handy to heat water in the microwave. Plastic cups provided plus the usual soaps/shampoos.

There were several close by places to eat. Note that you are a 10 minute drive in traffic to the Pier which is worth doing. Just head straight down the street. Easy to find. You can drive on to the Pier and park for 90 mins for free, providing you buy something and have your ticket validated.

This motel was 5 minutes from the 101 Highway which made it quick for us to resume our journey south. We noted a small beach town called Carpentaria, just south of Santa Barbara. Would stay there next time, just to be out of the City.

Breakfast was simple. Hot drinks, fruit, muffins were all presented very nicely on the bench outside the office.

Parking was not an issue. Extra spaces were right next door at the Pet Hospital. You had to move your car from here by 9am the next day.

We definitely recommend Agave Inn. Nicely presented. Very helpful staff.

Room Tip: Room 21 was quiet and above the office. There was a small balcony outside this room for guests to sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Stayed there with my partner for one night. The room and bathroom was very clean, and the furniture was very nice and comfortable. For a motel the receptionist was very helpful where to get food or about Santa Barbara. For the Prize very good and very central. The prize was very good>!

i would book there again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

I contacted the Agave Inn because I had seen an article in the Los Angeles Times regarding affordable STAYS in Santa Barbara. Well, from making the reservation, to checking in and out, it was an easy stay. The room was clean, HD TV, comfy bed, breakfast in the morning along with, the L.A. Times set out for the occupants. It is on upper State St. and near to markets, bookstore, Harry's Bar and lots more. So happy I found this little jewel of an INN. Katherine Chapman Wetzel

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

For the money I'd give it 5 stars. Really comfy bed. Good wifi signal. Clean room and all quite new. Coffee and muffins for breakfast and close access to restaurants, supermarkets etc.

The lady on reception was really nice and helpful too and although the room was close to a main road it was surprisingly quiet at night.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

The woman who checked me in was warm & delightful providing lots of good restaurant/bakery info. There are plenty of places in the Gelson's shopping center across the street.
The room was small but stylish and cool. The bathroom was a good size for such a small room. The bed was comfortable. Wifi signal was spotty, but worked overall. My room was very quiet except when the people who parked in front of my door kept using their car alarm and chatting very loud as they came and went. Once they were in though it was peaceful and surprisingly quiet. I really liked this little place and will return. It's a great place to stay for 1-3 nights. Right off Las Positas/State it's only 1/4 mile or so from the freeway. Excellent location!

Room Tip: Room 8 was very quiet and furthest from the street of all the downstairs rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Agave Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agave Inn

Address: 3222 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93105
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#18 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Agave Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agave Inn-a Shelter Social Club property is a small 13 room Inn. Free WiFi,continental breakfast,and Ipod players in all rooms. Conveniently located close to Earl Warren Showgrounds, Sansum Clinic, Santa Babara Municipal Golf Course and downtown. We look forward to seeing you soon! While visiting please be sure to check out our restaurant- Sama Sama Kitchen -located in beautiful downtown Santa Barbara! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Agave Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agave Hotel Santa Barbara
Agave Motel Santa Barbara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agave Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.