We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Otherwise Decent Stay Ruined by Rowdy Guests” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Agave Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Agave Inn to your Saves list
Agave Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3222 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93105   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 53 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Carlsbad, CA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Otherwise Decent Stay Ruined by Rowdy Guests”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

This "inn" is really a drive-up motel despite the fact it's in Santa Barbara. Our room was decent; small, no frills, no HBO, barely absorbent towels, good bed and passable water pressure. As others have noted, the free breakfast is pretty weak. Parking is a major problem as there are only eight drive-up spots before you have to park next-door and fetch your car by 9:00 a.m. But what ruined our otherwise decent three-night stay was on the second night rowdy guests rolled in way after midnight screaming, swearing, stomping and door slamming. As it doesn't seem that any management is on-premises most of the time, the noise went on (and on). Next time we return to Santa Barbara (and we will) and we're looking for reasonably priced accommodations, we will look elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    138
    37
    7
    6
See reviews for
58
162
38
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I highly recommend this motel to anyone staying in the Santa Barbara area. I was there over 4th of July weekend on a road trip with my boyfriend.

It's a vintage motel that's been renovated with modern fixtures. The bathrooms have been completely redone. It was clean, quiet and comfortable. It's true that their parking lot is small, but there was no trouble finding parking on an adjacent street and I was there on a holiday weekend.

It's located right on State Street, within walking distance to Whole Foods! What more could you ask for?!

The staff was friendly and personable. I had a smile on my face everytime we returned from a day trip. What an absolute pleasure my stay was. I cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back away from the street or on the 2nd floor. It wasn't available for me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

The staff was so nice! Very welcoming! And I forgot my shoes in the room and they called me about an hour after we left to say they had the shoes and held it for me until I could pick it up! The room was nice and clean, very modern fixtures.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Our room was great, modern, colourful and clean, and reasonably priced. The lady on the front desk was lovely, very friendly and helpful. It is a fair way out of town, you'd need to drive in but she advised on where to park. Only grumble is the shortage of parking - there is not enough spaces for the rooms! You can park in the car park next door but have to move your car by 9am meaning we had to be up, out and off earlier than we'd wanted.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We loved the Agave! We were in SB for a wedding, and initially had reservations for a Friday and Saturday night. As our trip evolved we ended up requiring a 3rd night for Thursday. Our original room wasn't available for Thursday, so they put us in another room; On Friday morning they cleaned our original room first, and then moved all of our things over to that room! They laid everything out so neatly and hung up our closet items. The rooms are sparsely decorated and simple, yet bright and cheery and clean! We stayed in their largest room that had a kitchen with full sized stove and sink, along with two comfy(!) beds and a pull our sofa - perfect for our kiddos! Prices were a little higher for Friday and Saturday since it was the Summer Solstice Event in Santa Barbara. The staff was very helpful and very kind - they even called and emailed to make sure we could get things worked out for the additional night. There isn't a pool, but the rest of Santa Barbara and the beach are within 10 minutes drive. We highly recommend and would stay their again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Agave Inn is very simple, but neat, and seems to be run by a friendly & very young staff. My single room had a fridge and microwave, the bed was comfortable, the furnishings were sparse, but that's okay since the rooms are very small. Upon check-in I was warned that since they had very limited parking, I might have to park next door and would need to move my car before 9:00am. This is on one of the busiest streets in Santa Barbara and it's near a major intersection, so there is a lot of traffic noise - I ran the air conditioner and that helped. The 'reading material' in the room was a skateboarder magazine. After my morning walk, I removed my shoes and made some tea in the microwave...the bottom of my white socks became dark grey from walking on the carpeting...yuck.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far from the street as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

On our road trip along the California coast we decided at the last minute to stay in Santa Barbara for one night and looked online for a place to stay. Most places were quite expensive as we were booking the night before so when we came upon the Agave Inn we thought it looked simple but colorful and charming and decided to call and check the rates. We were given a great rate compared to what we had been looking at and the very friendly lady let us know we were getting a discount as the rooms only had one queen bed and were close to the street so might be noisy. We decided to give it a go. In fact the rooms were quite small and it was a pity the bed was so small because for one night that was really my one complaint. The decoration is charming, simple but with a modern twist and really colorful with one wall in each room painted a bright color and then with small accents like the shower curtain, the Mexican bedspread and the bathroom mirror in different colors. The bathroom is also kind of small and it could do with a little more shelf space but it was clean. The towels were not enough and could be a little larger. We travelled with friends and were given 2 rooms on street level so we parked the car outside. We were only one room away from busy State street although the noise was not too disturbing. We were actually more disturbed with the noisy minibar. We had to keep our curtains closed since the Inn was quite busy so had people walking past just outside. The simple breakfast was a nice touch and offered coffee or tea, fresh fruit and some scones and muffins. Better than nothing right? The lady who check us in and out was really friendly and let us use her phone for free.

Room Tip: If the rate is good ask for a room on the 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Agave Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agave Inn

Address: 3222 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93105
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#21 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Agave Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agave Inn-a Shelter Social Club property is a small 13 room Inn. Free WiFi,continental breakfast,and Ipod players in all rooms. Conveniently located close to Earl Warren Showgrounds, Sansum Clinic, Santa Babara Municipal Golf Course and downtown. We look forward to seeing you soon! While visiting please be sure to check out our restaurant- Sama Sama Kitchen -located in beautiful downtown Santa Barbara! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Agave Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agave Hotel Santa Barbara
Agave Motel Santa Barbara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agave Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.