We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little motel, friendliest lady!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Agave Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Agave Inn to your Saves list
Agave Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3222 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93105   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 54 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great little motel, friendliest lady!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Spent one night at Agave Inn. Best decision. It was inexpensive and comfortable. The place is small, but the rooms are really nicely decorated and the bathrooms are clean. The lady at reception was exceptionally nice. She let us use her phone for free to call Los Angeles. The room was downstairs, we parked right outside the door. Surprisingly, no noise during the night. Would definitely recommend this for an overnight stay! They even serve a basic breakfast on a counter just outside the reception!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    132
    33
    4
    6
See reviews for
55
148
35
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

The Agave Inn is a decent option in Santa Barbara. There is nothing very special about the hotel, but it's a well done up Motel with good decor and is comfortable enough.

It's a no-frills option, with a poor breakfast option (avoid the coffee), but there's stuff in the area to go to instead. The supermarket across the road is excellent, which makes you wonder why they couldn't have made more of an effort with the food.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterville, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This was a cute little hotel that had everything we needed, actually more. It was clean, comfy, and well kept. Nothing extravagant, but you can't beat the price for the quality. Free wi-fi, fridge and microwave, great location. I didn't see a coffee maker, but I don't drink coffee, so perhaps I missed it. That might matter to some people, but did not to us.

Room Tip: There are only a few rooms, it's a small place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We loved our stay at this small Inn. Very friendly reception by Susan.
Room was clean and modern. We stayed in the large unit with kitchen
and sitting area. A good place to spend some time when visiting Santa
Barbara. Very good location close to everything.
This place is colorful, modern and with many clever touches that please
the eye!

Room Tip: Upstairs large room has good view of surroundings and nice landing to sit on and enjoy your evening...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed for one night.The staff was very friendly and helpful.

This motel is a great place to stay while visiting Santa Barbara. The rooms are clean and lovingly decorated. We had two rooms on the 2nd floor (no elevator) which provided us with enough space for 2 respective 3 people. WiFi Internet was fast. We also enjoyed the little breakfast.

This is a great inn and we look forward to visit it again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta Ga
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed at the Agave Inn for one night on our way up the coast to San Francisco.

The positive elements; super clean and bright linens. Nice color accents in bed scarf and shower curtain. Nice renovation in the bathrooms. In our room (and perhaps in all) the bath tub had been removed to make a walk in shower which was very pleasant. The Agave is close enough to State Street and all the people watching, restaurants, vintage theaters, etc. just a short drive to the Mission, Court house and all the architectural gems. There is also a thoughtful little handbook with restaurant suggestions prepared for the hotel guests in each room.

However, there are a few negatives. For a one night stay, they may not be too important. For a weekend getaway or longer, these factors may steer you to another hotel option. The rooms are small. (Think motels from the 1950's). The walls are paper thin. If you have neighbors that are boisterous in any way--you will hear it. We heard regular conversations. Road noise; this inn is also very close to the road (certainly not unique in Santa Barbara), but if you get the first two or three rooms that are closest to the road, you will hear it. If you are looking for a very quiet, peaceful location, keep looking. Also---(this was an item that should have been disclosed before booking the room); they do not have enough parking for the rooms they have. Upon checking in, I was told that if I came in late that I would most likely have to park next door at the Veterinary clinic, and that I would have to move my car by 9 AM. Not acceptable!---you are on vacation, you don't want to park next door, you don't want to move your car by a certain time. I expressed dissatisfaction and to the owner's credit, she remembered our car and when she saw us pull in later that evening, she moved her car so I would have a space. However minutes later, a family with small children pulled in and they had to unload in the driveway; kids, bags, toys etc.--father dropped off mother with two kids and lots of stuff while he went to park the car. We had a brand new rental---did not want to park on street, next door etc.

The breakfast was terrible. It was not orange juice...could it be Tang? Below average coffee...in the land of Peet's coffee? There is no excuse. And it is served on the top of some outdoor appliance in front of the office. Please just give up on the pastries which were terrible. If you have to apologize for the breakfast upon check in, telling us to go across the street to get the fabulous croissants, just go across the street and get those croissants for your guests! If you are not going to serve real juice---do not serve anything. Not good coffee?---don't serve anything. Then you can lower the price for the room by $15 and people can get their own coffee and croissant.

I realize that there are certain things you cannot change, parking, thin walls, etc., but the Agave can certainly rethink the things that they can change and make their small inn better. common people, you can do this!

Room Tip: we room #6...in the middle, some road noise but not as bad as the rooms closer to the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

A great little place. Nothing particularly scenic to look at - essentially a small motel wedged into an average-looking block - but tastefully and cleanly set up. The real surprise came upon opening the room door - a riot of cheerful colour in an expansive and well-appointed room. Incredibly comfortable bed, equally restful lounge, big bathroom, table & chairs - this place had everything necessary for a comfortable economical stay. The Indonesian host was genuinely and warmly welcoming, with a smile that truly reached the eyes. The parking situation is tight, but there’s overflow available next door. No issues.

What might be an issue is noise, at least for the rooms at the front near the road. Fortunately, I was in a top-floor room at the back (#23) which in addition to being charming, spacious and quiet, also had a pretty view over back-yards (incl. orange trees).

There’s a very basic breakfast, enough to get the day moving.

Overall, I was very happy with this place and would recommend it. State Street is nothing special at this location, but becomes quite interesting and hip further along (car required).

Room Tip: Top floor at the back, away from the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Agave Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agave Inn

Address: 3222 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93105
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#18 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Agave Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agave Inn-a Shelter Social Club property is a small 13 room Inn. Free WiFi,continental breakfast,and Ipod players in all rooms. Conveniently located close to Earl Warren Showgrounds, Sansum Clinic, Santa Babara Municipal Golf Course and downtown. We look forward to seeing you soon! While visiting please be sure to check out our restaurant- Sama Sama Kitchen -located in beautiful downtown Santa Barbara! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Agave Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agave Hotel Santa Barbara
Agave Motel Santa Barbara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agave Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.