We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, great value accom” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Agave Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Agave Inn to your Saves list
Agave Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3222 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93105   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Clean, great value accom”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Visiting LA, I wanted to do a quick trip to Santa Barbara and visit some of the vineyards at Santa Ynez. Agave Inn turned out to be perfect. I knew it was quite a ways out on State St, outside of Old Town SB, which was fine with me, but it turned out to be perfect, because it's that much closer to Santa Ynez.

The location got even better, as being a bit out of the main tourist centre puts you closer to the 'real Santa Barbara', or more specifically a Whole Foods, Macy's, CVS, and other helpful shops like that. It's really just a 10 minute drive down the main drag from 'downtown'.
The Agave Inn looks like a regular, old school motel, and to some extent it is. It's no frills, but it's clean and has been updated really nicely. I paid $69/night (+tax) and felt like I more than got my money's worth.

The decor was simple, but clean and fresh. It was nicer than it had to be for the price. The place was clean. And this is more important at a roadside motel than it is, say, at a Sheraton, let's face it. The owners clearly take pride in the place, and it shows that they care.

The bed was comfortable -- I got a really good night's sleep! I was concerned about the road noise when I checked in, but to be honest, it was fine. If you're a light sleeper, maybe request a room further back from the road -- mine was the second or third in from the road. I think State St just does get really quiet at night. No boy racers!

I also noticed that (with one possible exception) other people staying there looked like they'd prob found Agave on Tripadvisor, and perhaps were not 'standard motel customers.' In the office, they had a card requesting TripAdvisor reviews as well, which signals that the Agave is counting on discerning folks like us on the hunt for high quality value accommodation, as opposed to motel trashers looking for a $69 crashpad. (Apologies to any motel trashers out there, I'm sure you're all lovely people.)

I'm sure there's flasher accom to be had in SB, closer to the beach, with views, etc. But if you're just after a nice clean place to relax and sleep in Santa Barbara at a very good price, this is a great spot.

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for a room farther away from the road if you're concerned about noise. I didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    142
    38
    8
    6
See reviews for
60
170
41
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, CANADA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Agave Inn is a little jewel ..thanks to her welcoming & knowledgeable staff; immaculately clean rooms; sweet ambience & amenities ~ including complimentary light breakfast, with terrific coffee; convenient location ~ short distance to airport & minutes from downtown SBA; good eateries, grocery & other shopping within easy walking distance, a large shopping centre also nearby. As a regular guest from Canada (solo female) I highly recommend Agave Inn as a comfortable, secure, delightful place to stay .. well done Agave Inn, see you next time!

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

My 89 yr old mother and I weren’t sure what to expect, but it was wonderful! The room was very clean and looked just like the photo. Loved the walrus on the wall outside our window. I’d definitely go there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

$99.00 plus 12% tax (yes, the tax added to our bill was $12.....That was just for the tax! and there was nothing I, nor the proprietor , nor you can do about that.....Yes, screw the traveler who chooses your city to vacation in! Tax him to death!).

Now that that editorial comment has been levied:

Clean, Comfortable, Pleasant motor hotel on the north end of State Street.

You will need an automobile, or be able to afford a taxi, to get from agave Inn to sights of SB.

The motel is cute...Our room was room 22 (Upstairs away from the street...kitchen, two double beds and beautiful view (through power lines) of hills to the east.

You will NOT be disappointed with Agave Inn....Our $99.00 rate for 3 on a Sunday on November 19 Late Fall/Early Winter was very fair. Orange Tree Inn, 2 miles west, without kitchen, was $84 plus TAX. (Orange Tree Inn is also a fine, affordable, convenient motor hotel on State Street with very nice staff and within walking distance of SB sights).

Agave Inn was very cute, very clean, and very comfortable. The front desk staff was so friendly, so helpful, so accommodating.

Lots of words to say,"We loved our stay for $99/night and the $12 which the city extorted from us.

You will also love your stay.

Room Tip: Room 22 costs a bit more (Winter rate $99 PLUS $12 tax (12%) but has kitchen and a pleasant view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The inn itself is at a quiet location on state street, and with a french bakery and grocery store as well as numerous other locations for food within walking distance, the stay was well worth it! The staff was extremely knowledgable of the santa barbara and surrounding locations!!!!!!!! GREAT PLACE TO STAY!!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

No real lobby, just a 'dutch door' with a bell. Friendly and efficient check-in. Room was very clean but also very small. It was an older motel but newly renovated. No coffee maker and coffee not available until 8 am. Breakfast, very small also not available until 8 am. Location for us was very good.but motel has very limited parking.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stayed there for one night in a King bed room on the upper level.

Pros:
- Room is spacious and very clean.
- Bed is comfortable.
- Very friendly reception by the owner (?).

Cons:
- Extremely thin walls. I could hear everything from my neighbours below me (not next to me), but didn't dare to say anything as they sounded like drunk American gangsters.
- It's still a motel. Everyone can walk up to your doorstep.
- But for a motel, it doesn't have enough car parks.
- Location is OK. Still on State St, but far from the city center.

Overall: Ok for the price, but next time I'll book an actual hotel in Santa Barbara.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara
3.9 mi away
Inn At East Beach
Inn At East Beach
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 stars 728 reviews
3.0 mi away
Avania Inn of Santa Barbara
Avania Inn of Santa Barbara
#35 of 52 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 stars 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Lodge & Suites
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 stars 651 reviews
2.3 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 stars 907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agave Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agave Inn

Address: 3222 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93105
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#21 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Agave Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agave Inn-a Shelter Social Club property is a small 13 room Inn. Free WiFi,continental breakfast,and Ipod players in all rooms. Conveniently located close to Earl Warren Showgrounds, Sansum Clinic, Santa Babara Municipal Golf Course and downtown. We look forward to seeing you soon! While visiting please be sure to check out our restaurant- Sama Sama Kitchen -located in beautiful downtown Santa Barbara! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Agave Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agave Hotel Santa Barbara
Agave Motel Santa Barbara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agave Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.