We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, Clean, Affordable, & Friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coast Village Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Coast Village Inn to your Saves list
Coast Village Inn
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   1188 Coast Village Road, Santa Barbara, CA 93108   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 21 Santa Barbara B&B and Inns
Ventura
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable, Clean, Affordable, & Friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2010

Stayed for a night on my way through California. Room was very clean and amenities were all that I needed. The bed was comfortable and the staff was very helpful. They helped me find a great place for dinner and answered all of my questions beyond my expectations.

If you need a good room at a good rate this is the place in Montecito!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    54
    21
    10
    14
See reviews for
31
50
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2010

Okay so what do you expect staying in Monticeto for a night for under $100.00? One thing would be too not have the office staff make mistakes on your credit card.
First off when I booked and paid through Expedia I put in the notes that I needed a handicap room. When we got to the hotel they informed me that they had no such rooms and did not see any notes. I asked if they had a shower chair at least and the man at the desk said "no"! Fine.. so we checked into our little room with 2 twin beds, I noticed in the bathroom no railings which made me a bit shaky, right off the bat I slipped on the tile floor. Immediately I found the maid who brought in 8 rubber mats for the floor and shower. Now i will admit that was quit nice of her. Although when I went to housekeeping the next day I noticed a shower chair in the laundry room!!! She said I could use it!!(thought they didn't have one?) My daughter was interviewing for a job the next day-so I inquired to a half day rate and possibly another night. They said that would be fine if we were out by 5. We decided to leave by 5. When I went to check out at 5 the girl at the desk took awhile to process my half day charge. She also informed me there was a parking fee. It was only $3.00 but still no one mentioned this fee to me. She began to challenge me on this and i decided not to give in. She agreed to waive it. I paid her the half day fee in cash. She said she would email me the receipt. When I got home 3 days later I checked the receipt to see that not only did I pay the cash she also charged my credit card the half day rate. Evidently she found the mistake and credited it back. Then to make matters worse when i checked my bank account I noticed that they also charged me $102.00 for another night on my credit card!!!! So I paid for the 1 and only night I stayed through Expedia, I paid the half day rate 'cash' and now 4 days later they are charging me another night for which i didn't even stay. When I called the manager, he double talked saying they had to cover themselves and it was a pending transaction in case I stayed another night, even they they assured me that nothing would be charged until check out. Of course I asked for the owners name which they will not give me. I have stayed in hundreds of hotels and have never had this happen to me, ever!!! i am bound and determined to get a hold of the owner. He needs to know what an inept office staff he has. So much for customer service!!!!I wouldn't step foot in this place again even for a free room.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2010

First off, I don't know why this inn is rated only two stars. It was really charming with fairly nice rooms (we stayed in room 37) and EXCELLENT location. It's literally within three minutes of the highway (although you can't hear or see it from the inn). Coast Village road is gorgeous and is actually in Montecito, not SB. There are shops and restaurants on the same road and there is a restaurant right next to the inn. The room could use a little updating (paint, different cleaning product with less scent) but otherwise it was great. Our room had a room off the bedroom area with a couch and the bathroom was very charming. The staff was really friendly too.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, England
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

The hotel was located in Montecito which is about a 10 minute drive into Santa Barbara. The hotel is located on a quiet, quaint street. At first we wondered if the location was too far out of Santa Barbara. Having driven into Santa Barbara that afternoon and then back to the hotel we felt we had seen everything in Santa Barbara and changed our plans to go back for an evening meal ans stayed local and are glad we did. There was a choice of five or six restaurants which all looked very nice and reasonably priced, we opted for a Mexican at the end of the street. The hotel room was a fair size and was very clean with a modern tv. It could have done with air con as it was very warm and only had a fan on the ceiling and could have also done with a refrigerator in the room. The hotel staff were very helpful and let us check in early as we arrived at 12 miday. Free wireless internet was also a nice extra along with free parking. We also got a continental breakfast included in the price of the room at the Peabody bar next door to the hotel. We were limited in time as doing a 19 day road trip around California and would have liked an extra night.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2009

My fiance and I stayed at Coast Village Inn for a couple nights while vacationing in Santa Barbara. It was a great value and got decent reviews.
The location is on Coast Village Rd, which is on the border of Santa Barbara and Montecito. It is a picturesque street in an upscale and safe neighborhood. However, I wasn't crazy about the dining options on the street. Although the hotel was within our price range, the restaurants were not.
It took about 10 minutes to get to the heart of Santa Barbara. Not a bad drive, but next time I would prefer to be in the middle of it.
The rooms were tiny and cramped. The TV hung from the wall and I expected it to come crashing down any second. The shower was made only for people under 5'10". My 6'3" fiance had to duck his head to get under the shower.
The staff was very nice and helpful.
Overall, we got what we paid for. A small but clean room in Santa Barbara. Not a bad value.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2009

I recently stayed at Coast Village and enjoyed my visit. Given the mixed reviews, I was a little hesitant to book, but did so anyway. With my tight budget this place was very tempting. To my surprise it was a very pleasant and enjoyable experience. The hotel is located in beautiful and charming Montecito. My expectations were definitely met and surpassed. I checked into a very nice, quaint queen bed bedroom (I later found out it was a remodeled room). The office staff was very friendly, helpful and polite. They helped with directions and suggesting activities in the area. They recommended a wonderful dinner at the Montecito Café that is just down the road. There were plenty of fine restaurants within walking distance to this hotel.

At check out, the manager greeted me and he was very polite and insightful. He explained his position and the direction the hotel is going in. Apparently, it’s the sister property of Montecito Inn, a luxury hotel down the street where the Montecito Café is located. Ownership is working hard on upgrading the hotel and taking care of the wear and tear that has taken its toll on this property. I explained my tentativeness to book the room because of the mixed reviews and the manager made clear that he had been managing the property since January and has been working hard to attend to all of the necessary upgrades (I think they are well on there way).

Again this place was definitely worth the money, considering the prices other hotels in the area are asking for. Plus you can’t beat the location!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jippy09
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2009

Their's not much around their and the price is too much to stay. the rooms are all right. and services. the pool is cool heated whenever u want to get in. the experience very quiet and nice atmosphere .people that work at the hotel very nice. the continental breakfast should be all u can get for this hotel. the rooms should be a/c. and the room we were in the corner back by the ice machine. alot of quietness. that all

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Coast Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Village Inn

Address: 1188 Coast Village Road, Santa Barbara, CA 93108
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Coast Village Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Coast Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Village Hotel Santa Barbara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coast Village Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.