We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely motel with nice touches” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lavender Inn by the Sea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Lavender Inn by the Sea to your Saves list
Lavender Inn by the Sea
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   206 Castillo St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 22 Santa Barbara B&B and Inns
England
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely motel with nice touches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We arrived pretty late here and only spent one night here.

The reception staff were very friendly and helpful and offered help on where to eat so late.

The rooms were comfortable, not decorated to my taste but they were clean and comfy.

The rooms had lovely touches such as an array of toileteries, lavendar bags on the beds and champagne in the fridge ready for you.

The breakfast was ok, not much choice but set out in a small lounge so you can meet the other guests.

It was a short stay but a memorable one and would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    82
    30
    10
    1
See reviews for
40
144
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
shang hai
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Santa Barbara is really very nice place to visit. We are very happy to stay in the Lavender Inn. Sophia is very nice and hospitality. And the hotel gave us secret surprise. We felt so happy and so sweetie. This trip we only stayed one night in this beautiful town. And next time, we will stay few more days to feel this beautiful town. And Lavender Inn will be my priority.

Room Tip: We booked three rooms. And one room has been upgraded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

My family and I had a wonderful visit this past August 2013. Be advised that this is really a nice motor lodge. However, the vast majority of hotels in Santa Barbara are this style. We had a suite for our stay, I believe it was number three. It was very large, on the end, and there isn't anyone on top, so its very quiet. None of the rooms have any good views. My major complaint was that the bathroom was very small and it had no counter space. Also, the decor was dated. That said, we enjoyed our stay. The pool and Jacuzzi were really nice and we took advantage of them. Also, they have free continental breakfast, free bike rental, and a nightly wine and cheese, and cookies and milk. Also, you are welcomed to your stay with a bottle of champagne or sparking apple cider, which is a nice touch. The location is good, its close to many things and a few blocks from the beach.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room make sure to ask for a room not directly in front of the pool or Jacuzzi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This is a two story motel type place. Be aware there are no elevators. They are very accommodating with wine and cheese at 4:30 pm and cookies and milk in the evening. We did not use the pool or hot tub but others seemed to enjoy it. It is within walking distance of Amtrak and the beach. Very nice Continental breakfast. The room was decorated well but somewhat small and dark. In order to get the full benefit of the Santa Barbara air your curtain had to be open which did not provide for privacy.

Room Tip: 10 minute walk to Amtrak . Nice economical brewery type pub one block away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel. Beautiful grounds. Helpful staff. Stunning room. Lots of freebies that make the stay all the more special. Complimentary champagne and wine and cheese. The best place we stayed in the US.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed at this hotel back in November 2010. We loved Santa Barbara and this hotel. We had a room on the second floor which was very nice and comfortable. It is a short walking distance to all the shops and restaurants in Santa Barbara. We loved the pool and jacuzzi. Warm cookies and milk in the evening was a nice touch we haven't experienced in any other hotel before. Hotel has a free parking. Great place to stay in Santa Barbara!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crescenta, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Lovely, classy inn. Our room was elegant, clean, great service and staff. They offer free muffins, fruit, juice and coffee in the morning...and wine and cheese with crackers in the afternoon...warm cookies in the evening. We can personally attest that both the pool and the hot tub are nice. It's located on a fairly quiet street, and we never used the car to go anywhere. Just a few blocks to the beach, close to restaurants and the wharf. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lavender Inn by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavender Inn by the Sea

Address: 206 Castillo St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lavender Inn by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along a sweep of California coastline reminiscent of the Côte d'Azur, guests can relax amid the soothing scent of lavender and soft ocean breezes at the Lavender Inn by the Sea. French-inspired paintings adorn the walls, lavender bouquets grace each room, and sunlight shimmers off the waters of the pool. Lavender Inn by the Sea's plush guest rooms feature pillow-top beds, down duvets, lavender-scented bath amenities, and a welcome bottle of Champagne. Savor a deluxe continental breakfast on the sunny patio, wine and cheese by the fire, and milk and cookies before bed. Surrounded by beautiful lavender gardens, the Lavender Inn by the Sea is just two blocks from Santa Barbara's picturesque beaches and yacht harbor. Stearns Wharf, the oceanfront bike path, and downtown shops and restaurants are all within walking distance. Golf courses, wineries, and the Santa Barbara Mission are just a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lavender Inn by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lavender Inn By The Sea Hotel Santa Barbara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lavender Inn by the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.