We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite SB hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   17 W. Haley Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #23 of 54 Hotels in Santa Barbara
LA, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Our favorite SB hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We take the train to SB a couple of times a year and this has become our favorite place to stay. It's easy walking distance from the train depot even with overnight bags. It's located just far enough off State St to keep out of the noise and traffic. The hotel offers the basics with no pool or other specialties which we never use any ways. They do offer a complimentary breakfast (nothing special but adequate),wine several nights per week, very comfortable beds and functioning windows. The rooms are small but plenty large for my wife and I. There is also a lovely balcony that is not heavily used but nicely appointed. We have sipped wine and enjoyed lunch on the balcony. While we have stayed at several, more upscale hotels in SB this has become our first choice do to price, location and our comfort.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking Haley have a better view but rooms above the parking lot are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear mwbohn,
Thank you for your positive review! I'm glad to hear that we are your first choice for accommodation in Santa Barbara. It's wonderful to hear that you were able to take advantage our our newly renovated balcony! Next time you visit the area you should take our complimentary bikes out to explore more of the city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    215
    67
    25
    8
See reviews for
116
190
27
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This hotel is in a great location just off the main street of Santa Barbara and it has parking. It has a nice feel about it and the rooms and bathroom are a decent size. There is a compliementary breakfast although not as great a variety as other Holiday Inn Express hotels we stayed in as part of our road-trip. The sound-proofing was very disappointing - it felt like our room door was open when anyone walked along the corridor talking at a normal volume. Our room was next to the ice machine which didn't help. Santa Barbara is a great place, very sophisticated with loads of shops, bars and restaurants to entertain you. We would defnitely return to Santa Barbra and would consider staying at this hotel again if we could get a top floor room away from the ice machine.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear gftimes2,
Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to provide a positive experience for all guests. I'm happy to hear you took advantage of our location and were able to explore the city. In regards to breakfast we are working on introducing new items to provide even more options to guests. I'm sorry to hear that noise was an issue during your stay. We do have security on property to manage any noise issues as well as a good neighbor policy. We also accept requests from guests for rooms off the street or away from ice and vending machines. I would love the opportunity to regain your faith in our hotel and welcome you to stay with us next time you visit Santa Barbara.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed here for one night . The location was amazing ! We were right in the middle of everything, restaurants, bars, and the pier. The room was really comfortable and clean . I would definitely recommend this one to travelers.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Christina569,
Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review. I agree that our location is ideal for exploring the city! I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the room was to your liking. We hope to see you next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown Shores, Rhode Island, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The Holiday Inn Express - Hotel Virginia in Santa Barbara is located within walking distance to everything - fabulous restaurants, farmer's market, art walk, incredible shopping, and oh yes...the beautiful beach and marina, with a backdrop of palm trees and mountains. The staff are friendly, helpful, and accommodating. The hotel is not your typical chain hotel - it is dripping with charm. I was there on business, and internet speed was super. The breakfast is standard hotel fare, but certainly there is something for everyone's taste. All in all, a wonderful visit, and I would stay there again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Susan P,
Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay at our hotel! I'm glad that you got to enjoy farmer's market, art walk, restaurants, and more during your visit. I'm happy that we were able to meet your expectionas and our staff always appreciates being mentioned. We hope to see you next time you visit Santa Barbara!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moneta, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

If you're headed to the Santa Barbara area, I highly recommend the Holiday Inn Express. It's wonderfully located, just off State Street near 101 and the beach/pier. It's reasonably priced, and the accommodations are clean and safe. The breakfast is serviceable, and you have the option of eating on the second floor balcony with a view of the mountains. On the second day we decided to venture out for breakfast, and many options were available to us on State Street. The staff was very helpful and friendly, and were able to help us with a couple of complimentary toiletries that we forgot at home. They were also able to direct us to where we needed to walk to see Mission Santa Barbara, which was about a 2 mile round trip from this location. Parking is $12 daily, and we felt our vehicle was safe as we did not use it for the duration of our stay. If you are lucky enough to time your visit with the gorgeous Farmers' Market, it is literally around the corner. They also have free wifi and a business center if you are in need of these services. All around a great visit!

Room Tip: We appreciated our room on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Dina L,
Thank you for your positive review! I'm glad that you got to enjoy breakfast on our balcony and that the staff was accommodating. It's always great to hear positive feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our property soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Very helpful staff and management that was very customer focused, feeling that client relationship building is of the utmost importance. Look forward to another stay there. Great Walk Score to State Street in central Santa Barbara. Historic feel with all the “Santa Barbara” architecture and touches that you would envision in the classic Santa Barbara style.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Moises P,
Thank you for taking the time to post about your recent stay with us. We strive to give great service and build relationships with all of our guests and it makes us happy to read that we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel. Once again thank you for taking the time to give feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leawood, Kansas
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

The hotel is nice and the rooms and lobby are big and clean. It’s in a good location within Santa Barbara. The staff is friendly and helpful. The valet service is quick and easy to use. They also have a decent business center.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear lovetotravel65432123,
Thank you for your positive review! I'm glad that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Our staff always appreciates reading positive reviews and being mentioned. We hope to see you next time you visit Santa Barbara!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara

Address: 17 W. Haley Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#19 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#21 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a half block from State Street in historic Old Town Santa Barbara, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Virginia provides luxury and convenience for the sophisticated traveler. Enjoy a complimentary hot breakfast served daily from 6:30AM-9:30AM daily. Downtown shopping and restaurants are steps from your door, and the beach and Stearn's Wharf are four blocks away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara Hotel Santa Barbara
Holiday Inn Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Holiday Inn
Santa Barbara Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.