We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best HIE for Location, Price and Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   17 W. Haley Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #23 of 54 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Stirling, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The best HIE for Location, Price and Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This is the fourth time we have stayed at this hotel. The location is excellent for going to State Street, the beach and there are plenty of excellent restaurants nearby. Kay and her staff are always on hand to take care of your needs and we have always had a lovely room. The breakfast has plenty of choices and lovely fresh coffee. When in Santa Barbara we will always stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor and a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    215
    67
    25
    8
See reviews for
116
190
27
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
139 hotel reviews
Reviews in 148 cities Reviews in 148 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We choose the HIE to stay during our trip in California and we were not expecting five star hotels.
We stayed only one night at the HIE Santa Barbara and for us the location was good, we could walk to the wharf and come back without problems. The hotel itself is very reasonable or good, room with enough space, bathroom ok, the service also good but we hadn´t any problem to test it
Yes the breakfast I don´t like the paper plates and the plastic cutlery .and besides these the breakfast is equal in all the HIE and this is boring. Anyway we have always the possibility to have the breakfast outside.
I am not sorry to had select the HIE Santa Barbara.

Room Tip: We received a room to the parking place and was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

PROS: State Street, the main boulevard where all the shops and restaurants are, is literally a 30 second walk from the hotel. The beach is only a 10 minute walk. The neighborhood is nice, there's a bar right across the street. The room was clean, the staff was friendly and very knowledgeable.

CONS: This is a renovated hotel that was originally built in 1915. My room was slightly smaller than the average hotel room but not by much. My boyfriend and I stayed here for our anniversary and we had a very pleasant experience. We plan on staying here the next time we go to Santa Barbara. Otherwise I have no complaints about the hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 310, which was in a corner with no neighboring walls to other guests. We had a ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

There was mold in the bathroom, stuff spattered in more then one area by the beds, and the towles were wet before we even used them. After I brought this to their attention I was told we would be compensated. Upon checking out the next day, there was no change in the bill. SO brining it back to their attention they took off about 40%. Great for them. I will never stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, WA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We like the relaxed Santa Barbara atmosphere, and this hotel is a good example of the style. It's like staying with your Aunt Ethel...she's glamorous if a little faded, her house is California chic if a little scuffed around the edges, and she always makes you feel at home. Plus there's the typical HIE breakfast and the property subscribes to a decent selection of cable choices. As others have pointed out, the location can't be beat for restaurants, shops, movies, and a pop up farmer's market on Tuesday afternoons (delicious organic strawberries). Though we do avoid the beach by the wharf, too many street people camping there. All in all, a good value for your money, and a pleasant place to while away a day or two.

Room Tip: Over the parking lot is quieter than Haley Street, and you may have a view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Habra
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

We walked to the Farmers Market and then went to the movies. Short wallk to everything. On our walk back we went into Starbucks for a hot chocolate. Great location. We will be coming back again this spring and then again this
Summer. We will be staying here.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZ
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We met another couple at this hotel for a long weekend. We loved everything about this hotel! The rooms were wonderful, lobby was so cool with the historic Spanish style. Service was excellent as well! We can't wait to go back!! What a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara

Address: 17 W. Haley Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#19 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#21 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a half block from State Street in historic Old Town Santa Barbara, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Virginia provides luxury and convenience for the sophisticated traveler. Enjoy a complimentary hot breakfast served daily from 6:30AM-9:30AM daily. Downtown shopping and restaurants are steps from your door, and the beach and Stearn's Wharf are four blocks away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara Hotel Santa Barbara
Holiday Inn Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Holiday Inn
Santa Barbara Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.