We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   17 W. Haley Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #23 of 54 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Marina del Rey, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great Location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

The hotel is in a great location basically on State Street. The only slight problem is the street gets a little loud when the bars let out. This didn't bother us, but it may bother some.
The staff is very nice and accommodating.
Free breakfast is the standard HIE buffet.
The rooms are small, but don't feel it. The have so much charm with the brick exposed walls.

The only problem we experienced was in the parking lot. It is very small and when we arrived the valet was off duty, so we parked it our self in the last spot. When we returned to our car after check we checked out someone hit it. We went back in to notify the supervisor and she informed us that there is nothing she could do because the valet didn't park our car. She also said that the hotel manager, Douglas would give us a call- we are still waiting.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    216
    67
    25
    8
See reviews for
116
191
27
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

Stayed over the weekend in Jan. The hotel was just around the coner from State Street, there was fine dining and dancing and even if you want a foot massage!
Good service overall,the hotel had charm and the breakfast was very good too,it came free with your hotel stay.
The beds were nice and soft and the rooms were very clean.

Room Tip: Stay in the mountain veiw room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

This hotel is not the usual looking Holiday Inn Express, for it is located in a totally rennovated mission style hotel with lots of charm. Even better, the price is reasonable, just like all Holiday Inn Express Hotels.

The downtown location could not be better positioned for shopping, the harbor, wine tasting and even the next door (almost) location of the Amtrak station should you arrive by train. Everything is walkable from this great location.

The management was particularly helpful to us and we are grateful for the assistance of Manager, Douglas.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012 via mobile

Great locatin jus a stones throw from Stse St where all the shops and restaurants. Reasonable value for money.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

Beautiful historic hotel in downtown Santa Barbara, half a block off State Sfreet and across the street from the microbrewery. Couldn't be more convenient. Helpful staff. Beautiful room. Quiet, gorgeous views outside our window. Includes full hot breakfast but does not include the nightly managers special of free wine, cheese and crackers that we've experiences at other Holiday Inn Express hotels. We would stay here again. Comfortable bed, lovely hotel reception area, the dining area is small so be prepared for no place to sit in the mornings, you may have to take your food upstairs to eat! All in all, we really enjoyed this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
392 reviews 392 reviews
311 hotel reviews
Reviews in 224 cities Reviews in 224 cities
513 helpful votes 513 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Even though we were lucky to have one of the quiet rooms in this hotel, we were awakened by other guests when they came home at 2:00 a.m. after a night of partying.

Our room was not large, but it was big enough, it was comfortable, and it was decorated in a pleasing style.

The hotel is well situated for walking around downtown or to the pier.

The staff was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for two nights and were disappointed by the state of our room which was in need of renovation. The bathroom fan had to be disconnected as it was so noisy. The hotel was busy and noisy and Santa Barbara was a big disappointment being full of vagrants and beggars. We will not go back, it was the only let down on a month long trip to the West.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara

Address: 17 W. Haley Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#19 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#20 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a half block from State Street in historic Old Town Santa Barbara, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Virginia provides luxury and convenience for the sophisticated traveler. Enjoy a complimentary hot breakfast served daily from 6:30AM-9:30AM daily. Downtown shopping and restaurants are steps from your door, and the beach and Stearn's Wharf are four blocks away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara Hotel Santa Barbara
Holiday Inn Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Holiday Inn
Santa Barbara Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.