We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, sweet room, decent price.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn At East Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Inn At East Beach to your Saves list
Inn At East Beach
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1029 Orilla Del Mar, Santa Barbara, CA 93103 (Formerly East Beach Lodge)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Cloud Climbers Wine Tour
Ranked #12 of 60 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location, sweet room, decent price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We recently stayed here when in town for a friends wedding. Front desk was friendly & easy. Clean, well decorated room with all of the necessities! Stated w out 5.5 month old baby. All was great & delicious pastries in the morning!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatEastBeach, General Manager at Inn At East Beach, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
I’m so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We all hope to see you again on your next trip to Santa Barbara.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    223
    45
    29
    20
See reviews for
130
306
29
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Great location, rooms and staff. Just 2 mins from the beach and on a quiet road, whilst the 101 was not too far way the road noise wasn't a problem. The staff were great, really friendly and helpful. Also the hotel provided items we didn't expect, towels for the beach, some beach toys (bat and ball, frisbee) and also some beach chairs which we took advantage of and was a nice touch. Cleaning staff were first rate (best of our entire trip). A small heated pool was quite nice at the end of the day to play around in.

Breakfast was nice (closed a little early) although we did miss the waffle iron which for international visitors is a novelty and nice treat and could be a consideration for the owners to add. Whilst we drove everywhere you can walk to the main street in c25 mins along pedestran boulevards.

Just two points to note:
1. Breakfast is to 9:30 (a little early for my teen daughter) and seating is outside (a little chilly)
2. We had a couple of disturbed nights sleep due to quite a lot of noise leakage between rooms, something other guests mentioned as well. I'd advise asking for a top floor room which will help a little..

PS Avoid Solvang (imagine a Disney version of Europe) but do go to Los Olivos which was lovely and worth a half day visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor, the building originates from an earlier day where noise insulation wasn't t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatEastBeach, General Manager at Inn At East Beach, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Inn at East Beach. This is truly the best reward as your feedback is how we learn what is most important to our guests and how we can improve! A later breakfast with waffle irons may be something we will consider in the future!

I am so sorry to hear about your unfortunate, noisy, experience during your stay with us. We do offer various solutions such as earplugs or offering a different room when there is one to offer, however, I understand that these solutions may not work for everyone. I do hope you would consider visiting us again and allow us the opportunity to show you just how amazing your time with us can be!

Sincerely,
Linda Santana
General Manager
Inn at East Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Love this small hotel. Frank makes it an experience you'll never forget. Our room was luxurious and the bedding, furnishings and bathroom all of very high quality. The continental breakfast includes pastries, cereal, toast, boiled eggs and fruit. We loved that it was so close to the beach. Lots of beach toys to borrow too. The pool is warm and inviting. My only complaint would be that our room was right in the walkway and there was often noise late at night as people returned from having dinner (or from children who were out way too late and completely unsupervised by their parents!). Would totally recommend this hotel to friends.

Room Tip: Somewhere away from the walkway and lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatEastBeach, General Manager at Inn At East Beach, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us! It warms our hearts to know our efforts have paid off and you have enjoyed your time with us! I will share your comments with my team! I certainly hope to be granted the pleasure of your next visit to Santa Barbara!

Sincerely,

Linda Santana
General Manager
Inn at East Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Amazing stay, wish we would have stayed longer! To begin Frank was very welcoming when we arrived. He gave us coupons and maps and told us some good places to go. This was a breath of fresh air because usually when going places me and my boyfriend aren't treated as nice, I think because we are in our 20's. Here it was different. The breakfast was great and once again Frank was amazing. Bagels, hard boiled eggs, pastries, cereal,tea, coffee, and juice are some of the things offered.
The location was great. Easy walk/bike ride to downtown, the pier, and the zoo. You can rent bikes from the hotel, which was very convenient.
Room was nice and clean, however the pool looked a little dirty. Didn't bother me since it was too cold to get in the pool anyway, and it had been raining so that could be why.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Great little place to stay for the weekend. The building is a little 1970's fabulous but the rooms are updated with new furniture, fireplaces, and a big bathroom. The rooms were really clean and they had lots of fans available in the room to get the air moving.

Since there's no AC, you leave your windows open and because of the shape of the building, you can across the way into someone else's room. It's not really a big deal, people are very considerate of others but if you're looking for a very quiet room, this may not be the place for you.

The location is great- just a block off East beach and within a mile walk of State street. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatEastBeach, General Manager at Inn At East Beach, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at Inn at East Beach. We are all happy and proud to see that our efforts pay off, this is the best reward! Please come see us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights during our roadtrip up the PCH. The Inn is across the street from the beach, perfect! Frank, the friendly owner, let us borrow towels, boogie boards, and beach chairs. We had a rental car and parking is free at the Inn and just a short drive from State street. Our room was cozy...okay pretty small, but it was just us so it worked. The toiletries were unexpected bonus and we had a little fridge which came in handy with our snacks we got from Trader Joe's. Overall really liked this place and we would stay here again.

Positives:
easy check in with Frank, lots of coupons
clean room, inviting color scheme
free parking
yummy breakfast included (cheese croissant!, jalapeno bagel!)
toiletries basket (Gilchrest products, ear plugs, lotion, cotton balls)
location is quiet and next to beach
vent fan in bathroom
beach stuff you can borrow
mini fridge

Negatives:
no a/c (kinda stuffy at first, but we left windows open and it was nice plus fans in room)
tight room/ bathroom (ok for two people)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatEastBeach, General Manager at Inn At East Beach, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
I’m so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! I will share your comments with my team, and we all hope to see you again on your next trip to Santa Barbara.

Sincerely,

Linda Santana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We have our choice to stay at any Hotel in Santa Barbara,but the past 7 years
we have been coming back to Inn At East Beach,staying anywhere between 3 weeks to a month
Frank & Linda are like Family they make it so pleasant every time we come.
Just ask Frank anything he will have the answer there is not a thing he does not know about
Santa Barbara. The grounds are always kept nice and clean and the housekeeping staff
does a great job on taking care the rooms. I would not stay at any other Hotel because
I know the service would not be as nice as it is here at ''Frank's Place''.

Room Tip: The Jr. Suites with a fireplace and small kitchen are great !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatEastBeach, General Manager at Inn At East Beach, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and for sharing your experience with us! This is the best reward! As always, it was truly wonderful to have you with us! We are looking forward to seeing you again on your next visit!!!

Have a wonderful day!

Frank, Linda and Christina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn At East Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn At East Beach

Address: 1029 Orilla Del Mar, Santa Barbara, CA 93103 (Formerly East Beach Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#15 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#16 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn At East Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps to Santa Barbara's best beach - Exclusive East Beach Resort area near zoo, wharf and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Inn At East Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At East Beach Hotel Santa Barbara
Hotel At East Beach
At East Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn At East Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.