We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn At East Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Inn At East Beach to your Saves list
Inn At East Beach
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1029 Orilla Del Mar, Santa Barbara, CA 93103 (Formerly East Beach Lodge)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
141 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great place for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We were very happy with the Inn at East Beach. Frank was very friendly and welcoming, and the other staff were the same. The room was very large with a very well equipped small kitchen – including oven, gas top stove top, full size fridge, microwave, cutlery, salt and pepper etc. The room was very comfortable with a fireplace which made it very cozy when the nights got chilly. The bed was one of the most comfortable beds we’ve ever had in a hotel. The breakfasts were very generous with delicious fresh pastries, hot beverages, cereal and breads. The only negative with the room was the fact that the pool was not heated, and the noise from the highway made sleeping difficult, especially in the early morning. The location was great – about a 45 minute walk to downtown, along a beautiful waterfront. If a person didn’t want to walk, one could take the shuttle for 50 cents from the Hyatt across the street to downtown. Based on the price, it is definitely a bargain for Santa Barbara. There was plenty of parking behind the hotel also. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    249
    50
    30
    21
See reviews for
157
327
32
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This is an older property that has been nicely updated. It's located just a block from the coast and near the highway exit. The staff is friendly, the room comfortable, and the continental breakfast was above average.

As said, the property is older so it had its squeaks and show of wear, however, our fireplace king was more than comfortable. I would choose this property any day over a luxury chain who sock you with fees for parking and WiFi.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
70 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We arrived mid afternoon and checked in. The desk clerk was friendly, informative and helpful, like telling us how to get our luggage to the room with the fewest steps. The motel is a three story swirl of rooms that circle the pool. The center court yard is filled with the pool. Our room was a nice size with a king bed and gas fireplace. The room was clean but needed some attention like the peeling paint on the door. The motel is near the beach and a short drive to downtown shopping and restaurants.

Room Tip: Try for a top floor room away from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We were looking for something close to the beach, clean, and reasonably priced. We got all of the above *and* tasty coffee and breakfast items in the morning. Rooms were a wee small, but we were travelling with our two teenagers, so that is normal. I'm pretty picky about cleanliness, so this place deserves a good review just for that! Fun pool, too! Easy parking. Quick drive to downtown.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

We only spent one night at this motel, and we had an excellent stay. The room was a reasonable size, everything was clean, they provided mugs for the coffee machine, (instead of the usual paper cups!). Our host, Frank was delightful, and was pleased to ensure that we had a great time.

There was a good selection at breakfast, and it was all good.

Would definatly go back, and can recommend staying there!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halle
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We arrived after a long journey of difficult driving, but forgot everyting after the very nice and enthousiastic welcome we received from Franck. Franck is really great, the site we booked at, did not transmit the correct number of persons we were travelling with, but no problem for Franck: he solved this problem even before we arrived to our hotel room. The hotel looks a little bit retro style, but this makes it very charming, everything was very clean and we definitely will stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

The Inn at East Beach was perfect for the price -- just one block from the beach (and the East Beach Grill and their blueberry pancakes) with private parking, helpful and friendly staff, clean, quiet rooms. All rooms are outdoor entry. They've done a nice job keeping things updated/renovated while keeping the charm of the original building. Happy to support a local business. I didn't have the free breakfast but the spread looked nice enough. Considering that Santa Barbara has some places beyond my budget, the Inn at East Beach was perfect for the price. Can't beat the proximity to the beach! I'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1.6 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 stars 891 reviews
1.5 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#7 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 stars 417 reviews
2.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#15 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 stars 949 reviews
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
#17 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 stars 627 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#33 of 52 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 stars 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn At East Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn At East Beach

Address: 1029 Orilla Del Mar, Santa Barbara, CA 93103 (Formerly East Beach Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#12 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#15 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn At East Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps to Santa Barbara's best beach - Exclusive East Beach Resort area near zoo, wharf and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Inn At East Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At East Beach Hotel Santa Barbara
Hotel At East Beach
At East Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn At East Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.