We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, Staff are Super friendly many thanks!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn At East Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Inn At East Beach to your Saves list
Inn At East Beach
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1029 Orilla Del Mar, Santa Barbara, CA 93103 (Formerly East Beach Lodge)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 54 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great hotel, Staff are Super friendly many thanks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

We stayed here for two nights in August and enjoyed it very much, staff are great there very helpful and more than happy to recommend restaurants and things to do.

The Room was large with a double sink, bed was great, room very clean and plenty of space to store your suitcases. Large carpark around the back to park your car for free.

Minutes away from the zoo and the beach but about a 30minute walk to the centre of town so bring your walking shoes.

Breakfast consisted of coffee, lots of pastries and cereal but remember to set your alarm as we missed it the first day but the nice chap behind the desk let us has some coffee and some pastries that were left over.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    228
    45
    29
    21
See reviews for
135
310
29
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

What a welcome! We stayed here en route to L.A. from San Fransisco for one night. Wish it could have been more. Linda at check in was very welcoming and left us feeling relaxed after the drive. Our rooms were ready as we arrived 1 hour early and getting our luggage to our room was no trouble. Fantastic decor and well planned with lots of drawer and cupboard space. Seperate washing area to bathroom. All very modern. Bed very comfortable and plenty of toiletries. Well what can I say about Frank?! What a character! Linda's husband did the continental breakfast and nothing but nothing was too much. Plenty of everything and he wanted to make sure everyone had what they wanted and knew where it was and how it do it! Frank and Linda were definately cut out for this job. There was a small pool area which we did not use as not there very long but was being used by other guests. Also vending machines for drinks and snacks. Very handy. The beach was just across the road and great. A little along from the main resort at Santa Barbara but thought that was good as the beach was very comfortable. Had to just walk though the large hotel opposite which had a late bar if you needed one. For dinner we walked towards main Santa Barbara (myself, my husband, daughter and her boyfriend) and this took about 20 mins. We ate at the first main resturant we came to which was fantasic. The Fish House I think it was called and we all had great meals and drinks. Very popular large resturant. The walk back was welcoming to walk off dinner and then so to bed in our lovely room ready to hit the road again the next day. Frank was very helpful at checkout and gave us additional information and maps to help us on our way with some more advise. The hospitality was first class and thought the location and price paid was excellent. There was a notice upon arrival that the hotel was full which goes to show how popular it is. Apparantly Frank has a big following and we can understand why. You need to meet him. No disappointments here. I felt very much at home.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

Good location, one block from the beach. Very clean, good size rooms and friendly helpful staff. I can recommend

Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, Ca
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

The room is nice enough, the staff is friendly and efficient and the front desk makes you feel like the most important guest there! The atmosphere is quite but friendly. The continental breakfast is excellent. The baked goods are high quality, breads and bagels for toast are yummers, fresh fruit and juice, boiled eggs, cereal and milk, yummy coffee, tea and juices. Great start to the day. However, if you are watching sugar/carbs you may want to consider bringing one or two things up to the serene patio where you can get a great start to your day. The beach is literally less than a 3min walk, the zoo and the refuge a stroll of less than 5…spectacular location! The kitchen is indeed a full kitchen but bring a pan if you plan to use the oven and maybe a couple extra mixing bowls. When I go back…I’m defiantly staying here!

Room Tip: ask for back part of hotel if you have alot of gear to unload or stay awhile. Also, speak up..they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

We stayed here on a recent Nor Cal road trip and had an excellent stay. Frank greeted us with his wonderful demeanor and got us expediently checked in. He gave our son a small truck which our son loved playing with during our stay. The room was comfortable and very well appointed for the price and the amenities. The lack of AC did not bother us as we live in Coastal CA and do not have it in our home either. I noticed that ear plugs were provided in the rooms in case you were sensitive to sounds when sleeping with the windows open. The location of the hotel is perfect if you are visiting the beach or zoo. If you are visiting the zoo, you can park here for free and easily walk the few short blocks to the zoo. On our walk to the zoo we noticed a great playground in the sportspark behind the hotel. It is a bit of a walk to the downtown / boardwalk but it is along the beach so if you are in a strolling mood, the location is perfect. My husband gushed over the breakfast choices and quality of the coffee. He went down and was able to bring up breakfast for our family on a tray which was really helpful and convenient. I loved the fact that the shower head was high and could accomodate taller people. We were able to locate our toddler's favorite shows in the morning on the TV so we could get ready and out the door without causing too much noise and destruction to the room. We did not have any issues finding parking in their lot at all. We want to explore Santa Barbara more and plan to come back and stay here. The only real issue I see with this hotel is that it is on many different levels with lots of stairs and no elevators. If you have alot of luggage you do have a bit of a walk to your room and then lug it up multiple sets of stairs.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

This hotel is cute, in a good locatation and friendly. The 'modern make-over' gives the hotel a cool vibe without the huge price tag. I was really surprised to see how expensive hotels in Santa Barbara are! So based on that I gave the hotel 4 stars. For what you get and what you pay it's very good value, especially compared to other hotels in the area. It's not luxury but it doesn't come with a luxury price tag either. Breakfast was included which is always nice.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights for our first SB visit. Frank was super friendly and helpful. The walk across the street to the beach was a plus! I loved the recently renovated rooms. The room itself was spotless! Extremely clean - very impressive! We will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn At East Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn At East Beach

Address: 1029 Orilla Del Mar, Santa Barbara, CA 93103 (Formerly East Beach Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#16 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#16 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn At East Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps to Santa Barbara's best beach - Exclusive East Beach Resort area near zoo, wharf and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Inn At East Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At East Beach Hotel Santa Barbara
Hotel At East Beach
At East Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn At East Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.