We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, Excellent Service, Nice Outdoor Patio!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arnoldi's Cafe

Arnoldi's Cafe
600 Olive St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-1627
805-962-5394
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Arnoldi's Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #65 of 450 Restaurants in Santa Barbara
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Cota Street
Kalamazoo
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great Food, Excellent Service, Nice Outdoor Patio!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We found Arnoldi's through TripAdvisor and we were pleased to hear that they had a table outside on the back patio. Our server was responsive and friendly. The food was classic Italian fare and was delicious. There are lights and a terrace that make it nice at night. There's also a bocci ball pit if you're into playing that! Makes for a memorable dinner experience in Santa Barbara. Definitely put it on your list. Be sure to sit outside!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    12
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“simply the BEST!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Saturday night reunited with Arnoldi's Cafe spaghetti and meat balls. The best meat balls I have ever tasted and consistently always the same. Perfect blend of herbs and tomato sauce. Wine lists very resemble, This stop we shared Gelato with rum and expresso! Wow, a wonderful end to a wonderful meal. We eat hear twice a year on our annual family trips to Santa Barbara, Arnoldi's is the best! A must stop for us in Santa Barbara!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Sorry, Arnoldi's but your service and food is just too inconsistent- last time we were there in Feb., service was excellent, food was excellent, wine was excellent. This time, in April, it was not. Service was poor- we weren't even sure who our waiter was. No personal attention, not once did they ask if we had questions nor could they describe items on the menu. Had a question about the wine- the guy knew nothing about wine and gave some type of bogus answer. Seems like there must be a big turnover in staff- they were just not efficient or knowledgeable at all. We could have been sitting in a mexican take-out restaurant - these guys were not trained nor professional. What really makes us mad is that you will pay $16-$24 for an entree and an extra $11 for the smallest caesar salad (not even big enough for 2) and the ambiance and service doesn't justify the prices. And, once again, when we made reservations, we made it clear that it was a special birthday dinner. They did nothing to acknowledge this until we had to point it out 3 times. Our impression is that this place, which is owned by 3 long-time locals (shame on you) is trying to glide by on its reputation from the past. It is evident that the owners pay no attention to how it is being run, nor do they care.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangevale, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Ate here for a group dinner and the food was delicious! Had the lasagna and just melted in your mouth!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa barbara
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Local hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Here's the thing: you can't find this place unless you are looking for it. In a quite light industrial neighborhood near downtown, it really is just locals that know a good thing. It reminds me of a supper club experience in the Midwest except the food is better: friendly ambience, lively bar and, as noted, excellent food. Had the lasagna Bolognese--outstanding-- and my wife had some pasta, and we split their house salad, which is fresh and hearty. Nice wait staff, clean, charming inside, bocce ball going on outside. Can't beat this place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arnoldi's Cafe also viewed

 
Santa Barbara, CA
 

Been to Arnoldi's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arnoldi's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.