We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply stunning” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property

Save Saved
You added San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   900 San Ysidro Lane, Santa Barbara, CA 93108   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 61 hotels in Santa Barbara
Aberdeen, Scotland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Simply stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Beautiful rooms, majestic grounds - super restaurant and a cut above most US hotels. Complete silence at night leaves you wonderfully refreshed in morning - definitely a place to go to recharge. Service is generally excellent as well

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanysidroranch, General Manager at San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us at the San Ysidro Ranch. Rest and relaxation are always at the forefront of the Ranch experience.

On behalf of the San Ysidro Ranch Team,

Seamus McManus
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    180
    18
    15
    13
    5
See reviews for
25
147
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Reading through recent reviews of San Ysidrow, i feel like i stayed at a different hotel but when i looked further back in the year, there are others with the same issues as us, i am also amazed that where management respond to complaits,mthey totally ignore the negative points and just focus on the positive. Just so you know that we are not being fussy..... This is the bathroom we were given in what they call a Romantic Garden Suite but as you can see there was nowhere to store anything despite advertising a dual vanity and chandelier which led me to expect a good sized bathroom. I actually think,that the hair dryer (at the left of my photo) and placed there by housekeeping is nothing short of dangerous!
There were four shelves in my wardrobe with a high shelf that held the spare bedding and my husband had no shelves other than one very high shelf Mathew who checked us in was less than gracious. First he admonished me for pushing ahead of some other guests one of whom was looking at the garden and the other was standing by the boutique! Then he curtly told me that we were expected at dinner 30 minutes previously at 6.30pm!! How it is listed as No 1 hotel in America I am not too sure as it really does not provide the amenities and service provided by others. I think that it is resting on past laurels whereas the hotel,industry has moved on so far now. However the setting is spectacularly pretty and we had a really excellent meal at the Stonehouse We arrived at 7.00pm and checked out before lunch the following day and into the fabulous El Encanto where they seemed genuinely pleased to have us.

Room Tip: Do not go for the romantic garden suite I think that you need to go for a higher category suite an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanysidroranch, General Manager at San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
We are very sorry we did not meet your needs. We are diligent in communicating accurate room descriptions and will double our efforts to ensure further clarity is provided. We trust you had an enjoyable visit to Santa Barbara and wish you a safe journey home.

Seamus McManus
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

The SYR offers private cottages with wonderful outdoor showers and hot tubs. The grounds are beautiful with citrus trees and gardens set agains mountains with challenging hiking trails. The on property restaurants are very good dining options, and the location near Montecito and the Central Coast wine region is superb.

Room Tip: All the cottages are private and quiet. Citrus and Tangerine cottages offer a front porch with a vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanysidroranch, General Manager at San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful description of our treasured property!

On behalf of the San Ysidro Ranch Team

Seamus McManus
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

One of the most amazing hotels I've ever visited. My fiancee and I stayed in the Tangerine cottage which offers an amazing view of the ocean from the breakfast nook. The hotel and its clearly took pride in offering an intimate and serene experience. The king size bed was neither too soft nor too hard. The bathroom offers a deep soaking tub perfect for my fiancee. Despite being located adjacent to another cottage, the foliage surrounding the cottage offers complete privacy for us to take dips in the outdoor Jacuzzi. The service was impeccable even though the front desk mistakenly charged us for an extra in-room massage session and rose petals. I'd recommend hiking in the trails behind the property; the panoramic view from the peak is breathtaking. Wifi and in room snacks are complimentary.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanysidroranch, General Manager at San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in Tangerine Cottage and were able to relax in comfort. We are fully committed to offering an unparalleled experience and always do our utmost to ensure customer satisfaction in every way.

On behalf of the San Ysidro Ranch Team

Seamus McManus
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The most lovely, luxurious accommodations I've ever had the pleasure of experiencing. I couldn't call it a hotel or a resort. San Ysidro Ranch goes beyond that. It is own animal in the world of hotels and resorts. Beautifully appointed rooms. Canopy beds and beautiful linnens. The most pleasant, efficient staff I have ever dealt with while staying away. The most beautiful property you could ever imagine, tucked away in the shade of beautiful oaks and ferns. Flowers, vegetable and herb gardens. Pergolas to sit under amongst the hydrangeas. More hummingbirds that I have ever seen in one place. This only partially describes the San Ysidro Ranch.

Room Tip: Any room you would be given would be lovely. The property is spread out so that you hardly see any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanysidroranch, General Manager at San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
The description of your recent stay at San Ysidro Ranch is an absolute pleasure to read. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and are honored by the same. Our Gardens bloom year round, offering something new and beautiful at the turn of each season; we hope to have the opportunity to share more with you in the near future.

On behalf of the San Ysidro Ranch Team

Seamus McManus
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The San Ysidro Ranch was on my bucket list; and our experience was everything I expected and more. My brother and I stayed in adjoining cottages (upgraded as we had booked through the Travel Office)) in August 2012 for 4 nights. One should not expect some of the amenities that have become standard at many hotels such as a fitness center that could accommodate a professional sports team, or 24 hour room service, or a seemingly instantaneous response to every request, etc. The hotel is spread out, covering a number of acres, most of them uphill from reception and the restaurants. If hummingbirds, butterflies, honeybees, masses and masses of every flower imaginable, quiet corners in which to sit and read or simply relax, adorable cozy cottages with private terraces housing Jacuzzis and showers just outside marble bathrooms with deep soaking tubs, delicious food in three venues, a sparkling pool, serenity and, certainly, a staff who demonstrated over and over again its commitment to service and to preserving the reputation of this legendary hotel, the San Ysidro Ranch should be on your bucket list as well. Everyone we encountered from the front desk staff, the gardeners, the valets, the housekeepers, waitstaff at the restaurants, pool attendants, etc. helped to make this a truly memorable stay, for all the right reasons. It was very reminiscent of the Hotel Bel-Air pre-evisceration. We loved very moment and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanysidroranch, General Manager at San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
We are honored you've taken the time to share the many highlights of your stay at San Ysidro Ranch. It is the common goal of the entire SYR Team to offer a memorable and wonderful experience each and every day. May we have pleasure of welcoming you back for yet another super experience in the near future!

On behalf of the entire SYR Team

Seamus McManus
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

After an exhausting night drive from pebble beach we arrived in the dark and couldn't appreciate what a beautiful place this was until the morning. However the morning came too soon when we were woken by construction work !! Breakfast is only served in the room but was really fabulous. It is a stunning property. We had to leave for LA early so we didn't get to see what else was on offer around the hotel. I think it's a wonderful honeymoon location and couple retreat and not entirely suitable for teenagers.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanysidroranch, General Manager at San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
It is wonderful to learn of your decision to stay at San Ysidro Ranch during your recent travels through California. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for a longer, more fulfilling stay in the future.

On Behalf of the San Ysidro Ranch Team

Seamus McManus
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property

Address: 900 San Ysidro Lane, Santa Barbara, CA 93108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#4 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, LHW, Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property Hotel Santa Barbara
San Ysidro Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.