We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tough to Top!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property to your Saves list
San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   900 San Ysidro Lane, Santa Barbara, CA 93108   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
151 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Tough to Top!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

In order to fully appreciate this fabulous treasure, you must be all of the following...
1) Hopelessly in love with your lucky travelmate
2) Without fear of losing communication
3) Without any troubles anchored nearby
4) Willing to choke on the hotel bill in advance and forget the costs thereafter (it is worth it)!

If you've read any of my other reviews, you know that I am happy to spend the money when it's worth it, but I can sporadically get a little irked when it isn't. This is one of those perfect places where money should not be dwelled upon.

(Allow me, if I may)

San Ysidro: sexy without trying.
It's cozy, no denying,
Those robes, you'll end up buying.
Whether or not, you tie the knot..
This is a weekend, not for naught.

Room Tip: There isn't a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    21
    18
    13
    5
See reviews for
33
195
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This is a beautiful property and we've stayed here twice. This time we stayed for 5 nights and our cottage was just lovely. Unfortunately we did have a couple of issues. I had emailed ahead regarding a special diet, which they ask you to do. I also enquired on check in to make sure they knew about it, but at breakfast the next day, they had made no arrangements to accommodate me. The coffee they delivered was cold. This continued for the entire stay. The coffee pods in the room were not replaced unless we asked, which seems like a small detail, but this is supposed to be Americas number 1 Hotel. The gym has very little equipment and feels like an after thought.
We also overheard another guest complaining about the breakfast. It is a beautiful setting though and very romantic.

Room Tip: Book one of the cottages, Olive is a beautiful one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We were married at SYR in April, 2012. From start-to-finish this is the best hotel we have ever stayed at (and I travel 5-6 times/year for work, nationwide and abroad). The staff was gracious, accommodating, helpful and knew us by name. The room was gorgeous, luxurious, clean, everything we could have dreamed of for our wedding night. The grounds are incredible and helped give us beautiful wedding pictures that we will always cherish. The food was delicious.

We will absolutely be returning for our one year anniversary.

Room Tip: Every room is a good room, but if you can afford the extra to get one with your own private hot tub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We had a wonderful experience at SYR. I can't imagine a more peaceful place to relax. The grounds are impeccably groomed, and the gardens full of flowers. We had our own deck and jacuzzi which was very private. I loved the small touches - the canopy bed, the little note at turn down, the care taken in every detail. The restaurant is fabulous, get a table outside under the stars. The hotel is serene!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We spent a weekend recently here for our daughter's small wedding. Dinner outside on the patio was fabulous. We were able to choose from both Stonehouse and Plow & Angel. The trees had small lights in them making it very romantic. The service was amazing. If you got up from the table, someone came and folded your napkin for you. The beautiful charger was there just for decoration, it being removed before the dinner plate arrived. Everywhere the lighting is "yellow" making the area very warm and calm. We were in the Lantana cottage. Loved it!! Our name on the SYR stationary, personal welcome note with french macaroons. Ice already in the ice bucket. Our robes were laid out and "holding hands" when we returned from dinner. Fresh sprig of rosemany and lavendar on the bath. Beautiful claw footed tub, heated floors in the bath. Lovely outdoor shower with rain type shower head. Private jacuzzi, chaise lounges, umbrella. Fresh towels with fresh rose in between them for outdoors. You can pick which newspapers you would like delivered to your mailbox in the morning. A little needlepoint sign that says "Shhhhh" that you hang to your door if you don't wish to be disturbed. The maintanence is as if they just painted everything. The pool is quiet, wonderful padded chaise lounges and chairs. Sunscreen, water and outdoor shower. Everyone is so friendly..anytime you call anyone you are alwasy greeeted warmly. When you arrive you give your name at the gate and when you pull up someone is there to open your door and welcomes you by name.
It is expensive and the food expensive also, but it was such a physical and mental vacation. So restful......

Room Tip: The creekside rooms would be wonderful after a rainstorm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our room was magnificent - comfy, cottage feel, great amenities, beautiful outdoor space, welcoming. The entire grounds are beautiful and the staff is responsive and helpful. Both restaurants are well run with fine food - the more casual one is relaxed, the more formal one feels elegant. We came for our anniversary this year and may make it a tradition

Room Tip: On line pictures and description are most helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC Area
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Spent one week in California and drove down the coast from San Francisco to Newport Beach. I wanted to treat my wife to something special so we stayed here because I knew she would love the flowers and gardens.

The place is ethereally beautiful. The grounds are so picturesque that it almost makes your eyes water. The setting along with the design and execution of the landscape and architecture produces a sense of serenity so profound I almost became a Democrat.

Our cottage was just delightful and perfectly proportioned with tasteful accoutrements thoughtfully arranged to give it a total coziness. The small yard and hot tub were totally private and very inviting.

After a vigorous and scenic hike (maps they give you are crap so get clarity about trail locations, distances and difficulty beforehand) we had dinner at the informal restaurant and as you would expect the food, wine and service were sensational.

Extremely expensive but worth every penny. You definitely get what you pay for here. My only regret is that we only stayed one day. I am pretty sure we will be back for a longer stay.

Highly recommended

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Barbara
4.6 mi away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 stars 558 reviews
4.5 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 stars 893 reviews
4.9 mi away
Canary, a Kimpton Hotel
Canary, a Kimpton Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 stars 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 stars 346 reviews
4.5 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#15 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 stars 956 reviews
2.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property

Address: 900 San Ysidro Lane, Santa Barbara, CA 93108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#17 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property Hotel Santa Barbara
San Ysidro Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.