We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Premier hotel in Central California” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property to your Saves list
San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   900 San Ysidro Lane, Santa Barbara, CA 93108   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 61 Hotels in Santa Barbara
California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Premier hotel in Central California”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We were married at SYR in April, 2012. From start-to-finish this is the best hotel we have ever stayed at (and I travel 5-6 times/year for work, nationwide and abroad). The staff was gracious, accommodating, helpful and knew us by name. The room was gorgeous, luxurious, clean, everything we could have dreamed of for our wedding night. The grounds are incredible and helped give us beautiful wedding pictures that we will always cherish. The food was delicious.

We will absolutely be returning for our one year anniversary.

Room Tip: Every room is a good room, but if you can afford the extra to get one with your own private hot tub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    19
    16
    13
    5
See reviews for
26
151
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We had a wonderful experience at SYR. I can't imagine a more peaceful place to relax. The grounds are impeccably groomed, and the gardens full of flowers. We had our own deck and jacuzzi which was very private. I loved the small touches - the canopy bed, the little note at turn down, the care taken in every detail. The restaurant is fabulous, get a table outside under the stars. The hotel is serene!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We spent a weekend recently here for our daughter's small wedding. Dinner outside on the patio was fabulous. We were able to choose from both Stonehouse and Plow & Angel. The trees had small lights in them making it very romantic. The service was amazing. If you got up from the table, someone came and folded your napkin for you. The beautiful charger was there just for decoration, it being removed before the dinner plate arrived. Everywhere the lighting is "yellow" making the area very warm and calm. We were in the Lantana cottage. Loved it!! Our name on the SYR stationary, personal welcome note with french macaroons. Ice already in the ice bucket. Our robes were laid out and "holding hands" when we returned from dinner. Fresh sprig of rosemany and lavendar on the bath. Beautiful claw footed tub, heated floors in the bath. Lovely outdoor shower with rain type shower head. Private jacuzzi, chaise lounges, umbrella. Fresh towels with fresh rose in between them for outdoors. You can pick which newspapers you would like delivered to your mailbox in the morning. A little needlepoint sign that says "Shhhhh" that you hang to your door if you don't wish to be disturbed. The maintanence is as if they just painted everything. The pool is quiet, wonderful padded chaise lounges and chairs. Sunscreen, water and outdoor shower. Everyone is so friendly..anytime you call anyone you are alwasy greeeted warmly. When you arrive you give your name at the gate and when you pull up someone is there to open your door and welcomes you by name.
It is expensive and the food expensive also, but it was such a physical and mental vacation. So restful......

Room Tip: The creekside rooms would be wonderful after a rainstorm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our room was magnificent - comfy, cottage feel, great amenities, beautiful outdoor space, welcoming. The entire grounds are beautiful and the staff is responsive and helpful. Both restaurants are well run with fine food - the more casual one is relaxed, the more formal one feels elegant. We came for our anniversary this year and may make it a tradition

Room Tip: On line pictures and description are most helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC Area
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Spent one week in California and drove down the coast from San Francisco to Newport Beach. I wanted to treat my wife to something special so we stayed here because I knew she would love the flowers and gardens.

The place is ethereally beautiful. The grounds are so picturesque that it almost makes your eyes water. The setting along with the design and execution of the landscape and architecture produces a sense of serenity so profound I almost became a Democrat.

Our cottage was just delightful and perfectly proportioned with tasteful accoutrements thoughtfully arranged to give it a total coziness. The small yard and hot tub were totally private and very inviting.

After a vigorous and scenic hike (maps they give you are crap so get clarity about trail locations, distances and difficulty beforehand) we had dinner at the informal restaurant and as you would expect the food, wine and service were sensational.

Extremely expensive but worth every penny. You definitely get what you pay for here. My only regret is that we only stayed one day. I am pretty sure we will be back for a longer stay.

Highly recommended

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennett Square, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This was the most overall, truly relaxing stay I’ve had anywhere.

It was an unplanned 2 night stop at the end of our weeklong drive down the pacific coast highway. I knew of the place from tripadvisor, but it didn’t fully appeal to me in photos. Photos do not do this place justice.

It’s understated but luxurious beginning with the olive-tree lined pavered drive past the guard station to your own cottage which has every luxury needed. Think outdoor shower and hot tub. From the hot tub I watched hummingbirds frolic in the flowers above me. Very private front and back outdoor space with seating. Radiant heated floors in your HUGE, sunny bathroom, a gas fireplace, canopy bed, small dining table for your room service orders available 24/7. There were several little special surprises left in our cottage as well. My favorite was the fresh herb and rose cuttings they left for us around the room and hot tub. I still have a piece of rosemary I took when I left. Life is just better when things smell good.

We didn’t ask for any room type in particular but were shown to what I think is considered a Jr. suite. We found out after the fact that it was $100 more than the least expensive room type, but included a $100 food credit. And I do believe we had a mid-week price reduction. We stayed in Outlook. They even brought our car from the front desk, after taking us to our room in a golf cart.

Things to know: no actual spa, treatments are done in your cottage. We had a wonderful experience with this. Breakfast and lunch seemed to only be available via room service while we were there. You’re at the base of a mountain, with no panoramic views—but our cottage was covered in, and surrounded by herbs, flowers, and vines and was like a Garden of Eden. There are hiking trails around the property as well. Dogs are welcome and had their own room service menu. (Not being a dog owner, I did not smell or see dog hair anywhere either!) Lovely. I could live here.

Room Tip: Get a cottage with a hot tub. I believe you'll be happier with the overall cottage size too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We went to a wedding at SanYsidro Ranch and what a wonderful experience. The ranch is absolutely beautiful, immaculate in every way. The gardens are everywhere and perfectly maintained. The buildings are charming with cottages nestled into the landscape affording a most private stay. The wedding was out on the lawn between gardens and fruit trees. There is even a rather formal vegetable garden. We were shuttled up to the top of the hill to a lavish tent for the reception. The view was spectacular, the food delicious and the staff very accommodating. If you are looking for a once in a lifetime location for a wedding or just a luxurious getaway this is hard to beat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property

Address: 900 San Ysidro Lane, Santa Barbara, CA 93108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#3 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#4 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#8 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, LHW, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property Hotel Santa Barbara
San Ysidro Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.