We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Their master suite is fabulous for families .” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Beach Inn

Save Saved
You added West Beach Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
West Beach Inn
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   306 West Cabrillo Blvd, Santa Barbara, CA 93101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 59 hotels in Santa Barbara
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Their master suite is fabulous for families .”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2009

Our family of eight rented the master suite at the West Beach Inn last August for two nights, and it is amazing. The suite is over 2000 square feet of living space, plus a huge terrace on the second floor (and a first floor patio, which we did not use). It would be perfect for hosting a large gathering for a wedding or graduation as well as a family vacation.

There is a small, locked gate on the ground level which leads to the lower patio. After climbing the staircase, you enter a wide entry hallway with the master bedroom and en suite bath to your left and the first of two double-queen bedded rooms on your right (the second bedroom is entered off a hallway). These two bedrooms share a connecting bath - which I mention because sometimes people do not wish to share a bathroom. In our case, we hosted our three grown children and their spouses, who were happy to share in exchange for a mini-vacation.

Walking in further into the entry way, a wide hallway to the left leads into a very large (20' x 25'?) living room with three sofas, a flat screen TV, and a small balcony with chairs and a few tables (the bottom of the balcony wall is solid, so you need to perch on the bar-height chairs to see the marina view, but still - great view!). Back at the entry, going off to the right is a beautiful, fully equipped kitchen with a table that seats at least eight. There is a door next to this that leads out to my favorite part, a big terrace with lounging chairs and another table with seating for all of us. The entire apartment has lots of large windows and is beautifully decorated.

We walked along the beach, into town to C'est Cheese for breads and cheeses and other stores for wine and fruit, and had a wonderful al fresco lunch on the terrace. Because there are trees and large plantings at ground level, there is pretty much total privacy on the terrace.

The hotel personnel were very nice and helpful both on the telephone and in person. . I cannot speak to the other rooms in the hotel, but this apartment knocked our socks off.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    113
    126
    35
    9
    10
See reviews for
58
146
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2009

This is a small inn right in front of West Beach. You cannot beat the location, walking distance to State St. where all the shops and restaurants are located. The best things about this place are free parking, wine and cheese reception every night, free continental breakfast, and an amazingly fast and free wi-fi. The pool/jacuzzi area is really nice too and there are tables and chairs all over the property to just sit outside and hang out in the sun. Staff was friendly and helpful. The room and the bathroom were clean and well equipped and the bed was pretty comfortable. However, this place is really loud. You can hear everything (and I mean *everything*) from the room next door or upstairs--the walls seem to be paper-thin--as well as every time the cleaning service goes around with their carts. Bring earplugs!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

This is a nice, smaller hotel right across from the harbor and pier. We were thrilled with the Anniversary special.....A percentage off for every year of marriage. We had sparkling cider and 2 chocolates waiting when we arrived. The room was average, but had a nice balcony overlooking the harbor. At 5 pm they had complimentary wine and cheese. There is a nice pool and the hotel has a quaint feel. We were happy to find a washer and dryer as we'd been on the road a week, so we washed our clothes while enjoying their free breakfast by the pool.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex england
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2009

Stayed for 2 nights in Sept 09. Great hotel right on the beach. Nice clean modern rooms, free parking, pool and jacuzzi. Would recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights a couple of weeks ago. It was really nice, and reasonably priced. The rooms were a good size, very clean etc. Pool is lovely and there's a hot tub. Parking is free and abundant. Located right around corner from beach. Couldn't recommend highly enough

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leics
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2009

I stayed for 4 nights with my family in the West Beach Motel in August, from the booking in by Margaret( a fount of wisdom on SB area) to our checking out we were very happy to have booked here.
We had two rooms on the third floor- ocean view -each had a small balcony area with two chairs and a table. Great views of the marina.C. Blvd runs by the motel but traffic noise was never a problem.
The rooms are beautifully furnished with flat screened TV's and tea and coffee making facilities.
Each evening the motel has an informal two hour wine and cheese get together. The only problem is trying to dodge a pesky seagull who wants your cheese.
The motel also has a laundry facility which was great as we were travelling.
Continental breakfast was good, problem was trying to find a table to eat it at, most people took their breakfast to their rooms or ate it poolside, weather permitting.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2009

Santa Barbara is a great town to visit, and the West Beach Inn was a great location right off the beach on Cabrillo Blvd! We rented a King Garden room which has a king size bed on the first floor with a sliding glass door to a private patio area. The bed was fantastically comfortable. The room also came with A/C ( not available in many locations - we checked), flat screen TV, small refrigerator, and coffee maker.

The complex pool was nicely heated for the cool evening air, and the large jacuzzi could seat 10-16 guests at one time.

The room came with a continental breakfast in the morning that included coffee/tea, juices, milk, cereal, pastries, oatmeal, yogurt, and fruit. It was really quite good.

We were able to walk out of our room right onto the boulevard and walk down to the harbor, or Stearn's wharf within minutes.

If you are looking for the place to stay on the boulevard, this is your choice!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to West Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Beach Inn

Address: 306 West Cabrillo Blvd, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#17 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — West Beach Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The West Beach Inn is nestled in between the beautiful Santa Barbara Yacht Harbor and historic Stearn’s Wharf along Cabrillo Boulevard. The hotel is centrally located, only a few blocks from downtown Santa Barbara and steps away from the many beaches, restaurants and shopping areas. Complimentary wine and cheese and a deluxe continental breakfast are offered daily in our sunny lobby alongside the heated pool and large luxurious spa. Guest laundry facilities and Complimentary parking are available to all guests. All rooms and suites are air-conditioned and include in-room safes, refrigerators, high quality bathrobes, coffee makers, irons and ironing boards, hairdryers, cable TV including HBO, desks and telephones equipped with voicemail and automated wake-up call services. Complementary High-Speed Internet is available property-wide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your West Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Beach Hotel Santa Barbara
West Beach Motel
West Beach Inn Santa Barbara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Beach Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.