We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good view of harbor.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of West Beach Inn

Save Saved
You added West Beach Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
West Beach Inn
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   306 West Cabrillo Blvd, Santa Barbara, CA 93101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 61 hotels in Santa Barbara
O'Fallon, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good view of harbor.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

The staff was very nice and helpful. We had a great view of the harbor. Close to everything.. free breakfast and wine and cheese pairing in the evening. Also free parking. Within walking distance to the wharf. We would end each evening on the balcony with a glass of wine.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    113
    125
    35
    8
    11
See reviews for
63
152
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, AB
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I stayed here one night after a long (post-St. Patrick's hangover) drive from Monterey. The front desk staff were friendly and checked me in quickly. They informed me of the continental breakfast and offered some opinions on where I could eat dinner.

The breakfast the next morning was nothing fancy, but definitely sufficient. They had bagels, bread, etc. with cream cheese and jam, cereal, yogurt, pastries with juice, tea and coffee.

I received a "courtyard" room, which I thought was great; off Cabrillo so it's quiet, overlooking the courtyard, but still with a semi-view of the beach and ocean. The rooms are dated, but clean and quiet. My bathroom was a little musty, and after I showered I could see why. While I didn't feel like I had an overly vigorous shower, there was about a gallon of water on the floor when I was done. Crappy shower curtains aside, I thought the place was terrific.

I would absolutely stay there again.

Room Tip: Overlook the courtyard with a view of the ocean; 101-112 or 210-212
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The room itself was MUCH smaller than I had imagined it (barely bigger than the bed) but nice accessories in the room and little touches like the dark & milk chocolates, bright green bed comforter, marble bathroom counter, upscale complimentary toiletries, etc.
There were teenagers hanging out in the jacuzzi on Friday night until almost 11pm so we didn't get a chance to use it.
The wine & cheese reception from 5-7 was great! They also offered water, fruit and coffee in the lobby - at any time of day. The "continental breakfast" was just that plus packets of instant oatmeal, orange juice and some boxed cereal - we ate at Sambo's about a block down the road which was much better.
Our room was about $200-210 including taxes, for a Friday night when Jerry Seinfeld was in town, performing at the Arlington Theatre. We booked this hotel through Travelocity for the best rate, and the Front Desk said they do honor a AAA discount but only on weekdays.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 2nd floor in a Garden Suite - room 204. The window to the hallway outside was nowhe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

This Was our first stay at the west beach in. And we are definitely looking forward to coming back very soon. The staff is very friendly, helpful and incredibly service oriented. The only complaint, if I could even call it that is, the wine they served for their free happy hour in the evenings is less then tasty. But that is an easy fix because there are so many great wineries in walking distance to the hotel so go pick yourself up a bottle of your favorite and bring it back to the hotel, Grab a lounge chair by the pool or hot tub and enjoy the view of the beach across the street!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Our son attends UC Santa Barbara and we have stayed at several properties within the vicinity of Santa Barbara. This property will definitely become our " go-to" lodgings choice when visiting him. A smaller, Santa Barbara-feel hotel the WBI is a great value. The property overall is well- maintained. Intimate pool area, accessible free parking, and within walking distance to the pier and State Street. The inn is just across the street from West Beach. The rooms are renovated and the bed was very comfortable. Decent offerings of a continental style breakfast and wine and cheese in the p.m. The staff was very friendly. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: One building faces Cabrillo. I stayed in the 2-story building and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Location on waterfront is an easy walk to beach, sailing club, boat tours and Sterns Wharf. Beds a little on the firm side, but comfortable and clean. This hotel offered free wine, cheese and biscuits for a few hours in the afternoon (4 - 7pm I think), and a decent breakfast in the morning. Only down side was a lot of noise in our room from the floor above. Nice place but a little expensive compared to some of the other places we stayed between LA and San Francisco.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I have visited Santa Barbara several times in the last year. It is a tricky town to find nice well located hotels under $200 a night. I have stayed at the West Beach Inn twice in the past few months. While it is an older property, it is a great choice if you want to be near the beach.

I like lots of things about this hotel. It has a beautiful courtyard and small pool area. It is across the street from the harbor and is an easy walk to the pier and lower State Street. The rooms are reasonably nice... you may even manage a peekaboo view of the harbor from the rooms that are't sold as ocean view. Parking is easy and convenient.

Unfortunately, the doors/windows all face the the courtyard which means that you don't have any privacy from passerby's if you want to enjoy the view. Things that I wish they would improve include the beds (very firm) and the noisy wall unit ventilation system.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to West Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Beach Inn

Address: 306 West Cabrillo Blvd, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#20 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — West Beach Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The West Beach Inn is nestled in between the beautiful Santa Barbara Yacht Harbor and historic Stearn’s Wharf along Cabrillo Boulevard. The hotel is centrally located, only a few blocks from downtown Santa Barbara and steps away from the many beaches, restaurants and shopping areas. Complimentary wine and cheese and a deluxe continental breakfast are offered daily in our sunny lobby alongside the heated pool and large luxurious spa. Guest laundry facilities and Complimentary parking are available to all guests. All rooms and suites are air-conditioned and include in-room safes, refrigerators, high quality bathrobes, coffee makers, irons and ironing boards, hairdryers, cable TV including HBO, desks and telephones equipped with voicemail and automated wake-up call services. Complementary High-Speed Internet is available property-wide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your West Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Beach Hotel Santa Barbara
West Beach Motel
West Beach Inn Santa Barbara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Beach Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.