We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to beach and sailing club.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of West Beach Inn

Save Saved
You added West Beach Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
West Beach Inn
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   306 West Cabrillo Blvd, Santa Barbara, CA 93101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 60 hotels in Santa Barbara
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Close to beach and sailing club.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Location on waterfront is an easy walk to beach, sailing club, boat tours and Sterns Wharf. Beds a little on the firm side, but comfortable and clean. This hotel offered free wine, cheese and biscuits for a few hours in the afternoon (4 - 7pm I think), and a decent breakfast in the morning. Only down side was a lot of noise in our room from the floor above. Nice place but a little expensive compared to some of the other places we stayed between LA and San Francisco.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    115
    128
    35
    9
    10
See reviews for
60
147
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, CO
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I have visited Santa Barbara several times in the last year. It is a tricky town to find nice well located hotels under $200 a night. I have stayed at the West Beach Inn twice in the past few months. While it is an older property, it is a great choice if you want to be near the beach.

I like lots of things about this hotel. It has a beautiful courtyard and small pool area. It is across the street from the harbor and is an easy walk to the pier and lower State Street. The rooms are reasonably nice... you may even manage a peekaboo view of the harbor from the rooms that are't sold as ocean view. Parking is easy and convenient.

Unfortunately, the doors/windows all face the the courtyard which means that you don't have any privacy from passerby's if you want to enjoy the view. Things that I wish they would improve include the beds (very firm) and the noisy wall unit ventilation system.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUSTRALIA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stayed only one night as an overnight stay to San Fran.
Great , clean hotel , plenty free parking and short walk to the Pier.
Free wine and cheese on check in (5- 7pm) and breakfast, although a bit cramped seating area it served its purpose. Room was a good size and clean. Had a nice pool area but didnt use as weather was too cold.
Try booking room on top floor overlooking water, this side also has the elevator, handy if you have plenty of luggage.
I would definately reccomend for any overnight stays.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We loved this place on our recent four-day stay. Great location, beautiful view, lovely, spacious room, excellent bed and very courteous and helpful staff, nice breakfast. A very pleasant surprise! I would enjoy firmer pillows, but there were plenty of them. We could walk across to the beach and to most of the local restaurants.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street side have a great view with nice balconies. Might be a little noisier, but it q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

First great impression was of the nicely kept pool area and the center lawn area which was quiet and relaxing. The second level rooms have a nice little lounging area with a couple chairs and table in front of the room. The room was clean and the bathrooms were oddly laid out but surprisingly big. We stayed on the first floor but I recommend you stay on the second floor as the floor is very thin and you can hear everything above you

Directly across the street from the beach, literally (50 feet maybe). Will take you about 15 minutes to walk to anything fun on State Street.

Room Tip: Stay on the second floor for the patio and lower room noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Great little hotel with clean secure rooms and free parking. Staff really helpful and even fed-ex'd some clothes I left behind to my next destination!
We booked in late but I did price check the hotel beforehand and it was between $20 & $100 cheaper than its nearest competitors directly on the sea front.
So to finish the hotel and grounds are well maintained it is family friendly and the staff are genuinely helpful. Your a 10 minute walk to the main boulevard (bottom off) and less than a minute to the beach I highly recommmend this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This hotel is very clean and pleasant. We have a wonderful view of the beach and the harbor. All the staff are very friendly. We especially say thank you to Ramon who helped us with our luggage to our room. Santa Barbara is a very beautiful city, don't miss the Mission if you visit. Beds are soooooo comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to West Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Beach Inn

Address: 306 West Cabrillo Blvd, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#18 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — West Beach Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The West Beach Inn is nestled in between the beautiful Santa Barbara Yacht Harbor and historic Stearn’s Wharf along Cabrillo Boulevard. The hotel is centrally located, only a few blocks from downtown Santa Barbara and steps away from the many beaches, restaurants and shopping areas. Complimentary wine and cheese and a deluxe continental breakfast are offered daily in our sunny lobby alongside the heated pool and large luxurious spa. Guest laundry facilities and Complimentary parking are available to all guests. All rooms and suites are air-conditioned and include in-room safes, refrigerators, high quality bathrobes, coffee makers, irons and ironing boards, hairdryers, cable TV including HBO, desks and telephones equipped with voicemail and automated wake-up call services. Complementary High-Speed Internet is available property-wide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your West Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Beach Hotel Santa Barbara
West Beach Motel
West Beach Inn Santa Barbara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Beach Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.