We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our 2nd time at West Beach Inn as good as the first” 4 of 5 stars
Review of West Beach Inn

Save Saved
You added West Beach Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
West Beach Inn
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   306 West Cabrillo Blvd, Santa Barbara, CA 93101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 60 hotels in Santa Barbara
Plano, Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Our 2nd time at West Beach Inn as good as the first”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Our first review was a year ago and we said we'd be back. This year we had the opportunity to come back and we did -- didn't have to think twice about it. This is the kind of place that fits right in with the beach. It has a very relaxing and unpretentious atmosphere. You can sit on your balcony, the courtyard, or at the pool and take it all in. It is a small place so everything you need is close by -- nice and cozy. The rooms are very spacious, well appointed and clean. Morning breakfast and evening wine and cheese are nice touches. And as an added bonus, we got a discount as returning guests (booked in advance). This is our choice for a Santa Barbara stay.

Room Tip: Normally we get balcony rooms for the view. This time we needed a wheelchair accessible room so we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    117
    128
    35
    9
    10
See reviews for
60
148
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
swansea
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed here in September 2012. Had the best deal in Santa Barbara (after 3 hours calling in x no of places and visitor centre!! ) 4 nights for the price of 3 ($260x3) in a superb room with balcony looking out across the road to the beach/marina/Stearns Wharf. Cheese and wine between 5 and 7 was a bonus, the breakfast great, staff wonderful! for a 4 day chill out perfect!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed here for our 35th anniversary and it was all we hoped for. Right across from the beach and all the action. Very clean room and lots of space. Hotel is well cared for and it shows.
Good complimentary breakfast although nothing is hot. Nice touch with the complimentary wine, cheese and crackers from 5 - 7 pm. Wifi is a little slow but not as bad as some hotels that we have been at. Christian on the front desk went out of his way to make sure that anything we wanted was looked after. There are many restaraunts in the immediate area to suit anyones taste. A couple of hints...
1. If you can, ask for a 3rd floor room facing the marina...very nice views.
2. If it happens to be your wedding anniversay while you are staying here, let them know when you book and they will give you 1% off the price for every year that you are married. We saved 35% which was huge! You will have to have a copy of your marriage cert.
Would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: 3rd floor, facing marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris County, NJ
Top Contributor
746 reviews 746 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 203 cities Reviews in 203 cities
2,336 helpful votes 2,336 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

First the good and then the comical, which cost it a star.

The hotel is a clean, well maintained hotel across from the marina and near the beach in Santa Monica. We had a room that faced the marina. The view was great; it was large and it was clean. We paid about $300 per night for it. We stayed there two nights.

Now for the comical. On the morning we checked out, we ran out of toilet paper and there was no spare roll to be found. So at 7:30 when I went for breakfast, I went to the front desk and asked for another roll. They did not have one and I was told that I would have to wait for the maid to come in at 8 and she would bring it up. 8 am comes and no toilet paper. 8:30 comes and still nothing. By that time we thought about going to a store and buying a roll,but there were no stores nearby. 9 am nothing. We checked out at about 9:45 and of course did not get it. I am not a demanding person, but when I am paying $300 a night, I expect something as basic as toilet paper in my room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Location: West beach Inn is literally  right across the street from the beach: it is partly facing the harbor rather than the sandy beach, it is also a short walking distance from many restaurants and tour spots.
We had a harbor view room, which was very beautiful, even though I personally prefer a serene beach view rather than looking at all the boats on the harbor ( but again that is not possible in this hotel due to its location), we could still spot the sandy beach at an angle view.
The outside of the hotel looks like a motel, and the check-inn counter does not give you a fancy first impression, however you will be pleasantely surprised once you see the amenities it offers because they are ones of a 5 star hotel.
The staff are very Nice and helpful.
Amenities: free breakfast is very delicious, nothing made to order though,however the pastry are always fresh and refilled as needed, and has all the other basic items for a rich breakfast. Coffee, tea, hot cocoa and fruit are available for self service all day long.
The cheese and wine at the pool in the afternoon is a great plus.
The pool is small but very relaxing, there is also a hot tub.
Free parking, free Internet and premium chanels are nice extras.
House keeping service is offered twice daily, something that is important when you are in a beach vacation and you will need to come in and out with sand in you shoes and towels, you will also find pieces of  chocolate next to your bed in the afternoon!
The rooms are Air conditioned something that other hotels will tell you that it is not important in Santa Barbara, but in fact It Is important specially on hot non-breezy summer nights.
The only cons I could think of is that is it overpriced, specially if you are aiming for a room with an ocean view. I think you can save with a room with a garden view instead since the patio of these rooms would give a very nice and spacious accommodation (and the beach is still literally across the street!)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We arrived off peak (the week after school had started in the States) and on a Monday afternoon. There are lots of hotels in Santa Barbara and around the same area on the beach front. We would advise anyone else arriving around this time not to worry about booking in advance because hotels will have space and you can afford to choose one you like. We chose this hotel because it was small, had a quiet double room facing the back and we liked the pool and hot tub area after having a look around at some of the others.
We came here on a road trip round California after landing in LA. We stayed two nights in LA area before driving up to Santa Barbara. In hindsight, it only took less than 2 hours drive from LA and if we had to do it again, we would drive straight from LAX airport to Santa Barbara. Our point is that for people on a fly drive from LA it would be feasible to drive to Santa Barbara without staying overnight in LA if you didn't fancy it.
One thing to note is that hotels on the beach front tend to be far from the restaurants on State Street which is the main hub of Santa Barbara, so if you are looking for somewhere to eat for dinner 5 minutes away you won't have more than a choice of two or three places. The pier only has a pub type place open after 7pm so don't go that way. We had this problem and unless you fancy driving in or cycling then be prepared to walk about 15 minutes and over the rail track down towards State street where there are plenty of restaurants and bars to choose from.
Another thing about this hotel is that it only offers continental breakfast (nothing cooked/hot except toast), so there is no option to stay in for lunch or dinner. It was a good breakfast and exactly what we expected from a decent continental breakfast. Like many of the hotels in Santa Barbara, the hotel offers wine and cheese in the evening. This was nice and we tried it once.
During our stay we took the opportunity to cycle down to Butterfly beach which is a pleasant hour round trip. We would recommend doing this and for people who anticipate hiring bikes for a longer time it may be worth investigating staying at one of the hotels who offer free bike hire. However, for a short trip, there are two cycle hire shops only a block away which is very convenient and inexpensive which we hired bikes from.
We had a lovely stay at this inn - it is quite small - with a little breakfast area and tables outside round the pool. The pool is open till 11pm and is clean and overlooks the sea. We also felt the staff were friendly and service pleasant. Unlike some of the other hotels/ inns, this one has no hidden charges other than the cost quoted. We would come again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

The inn is well located, at the beginning the the beach, right where the harbor ends. The inn is not pretty or charming in any way but the rooms are clean, the bed is very comfortable and the staff is friendly. The pool and jacuzzi are nice. It met our expectations (good location, not too expensive).

Breakfast is included and it good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to West Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Beach Inn

Address: 306 West Cabrillo Blvd, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#19 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — West Beach Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The West Beach Inn is nestled in between the beautiful Santa Barbara Yacht Harbor and historic Stearn’s Wharf along Cabrillo Boulevard. The hotel is centrally located, only a few blocks from downtown Santa Barbara and steps away from the many beaches, restaurants and shopping areas. Complimentary wine and cheese and a deluxe continental breakfast are offered daily in our sunny lobby alongside the heated pool and large luxurious spa. Guest laundry facilities and Complimentary parking are available to all guests. All rooms and suites are air-conditioned and include in-room safes, refrigerators, high quality bathrobes, coffee makers, irons and ironing boards, hairdryers, cable TV including HBO, desks and telephones equipped with voicemail and automated wake-up call services. Complementary High-Speed Internet is available property-wide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your West Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Beach Hotel Santa Barbara
West Beach Motel
West Beach Inn Santa Barbara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Beach Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.