We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little motel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Castillo Inn at the Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Castillo Inn at the Beach to your Saves list
Castillo Inn at the Beach
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   22 Castillo St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 53 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice little motel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Stayed here for one night on the drive down from San Francisco to Los Angeles. Close to beach and a short walk to State Street for bars, restaurants and shopping. Comfortable room with free wifi and free parking. Staff welcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    194
    31
    4
    5
See reviews for
114
335
19
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

During our road trip in California, we stopped in Santa Barbra. The hotel was near by the beach. The room was good, clean and big enough for two persons. The parking area was located close to the rooms. We strongly recommend this hotel if you are going to stay in Santa Barba.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

We stayed for two nights as part of our honeymoon. The accommodation was to a very high standard and was great value for money. We thought the breakfast offered was a nice touch. I would highly recommend the Castillo Inn and would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Perfect for a stop over during a road trip. We stayed for one night and had a really great nights sleep at Castillo Inn at the Beach. It's in a good location and we took a lovely walk along the beach in the evening until we found somewhere for dinner.

We had 2 large double beds in our room so had a bed each which was a nice surprise! The bathroom was lovely and very quiet at night.

Had a problem with our room key and the guy at reception seemed a little grumpy when we requested help, but all was resolved quickly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

My husband & I stayed for one night here, and were pleased with our choice. The rate was reasonable and we felt lucky to get a reservation. It's only a block away from the beach, and a few blocks from restaurants. The room is lovely, with lots of nice touches such as beautiful tiles and lovely landscaping. The room was quiet, although the louvres let in too much light for my sister's taste. The bed was a little small for my tastes (again a queen) so next time I'll probably upgrade to a king size. The breakfast was scones/muffins and coffee, with some fruit. The parking lot is rather tight, so park early or drive a small car.

Room Tip: They put us in the ADA room, I don't know why, but no one parked in the handicap parking spot ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Myself and my partner stayed here for four nights in August 2013. The location is great, the main street is only ten minutes away. Decent sized rooms with great bathrooms. The area is so beautiful and there are plenty of restaurants and bars nearby. The beach is just down the road and is fab. The only thing I wish it had was a pool! I was very happy with my stay and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

If you love great service, enjoy a comfy bed and walking distance to food and entertainment then you won't be disappointed. Top it off with reasonable rates and easy on off freeway and you have an exceptional experience. The only thing they don't have is an ocean view. Everything else is top notch. highly recommended.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castillo Inn at the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castillo Inn at the Beach

Address: 22 Castillo St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#16 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Castillo Inn at the Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Castillo Inn at the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castillo Inn At The Beach Hotel Santa Barbara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castillo Inn at the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.