We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“suite value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Castillo Inn at the Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Castillo Inn at the Beach to your Saves list
Castillo Inn at the Beach
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   22 Castillo St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 53 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tempe, Arizona
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“suite value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

For a brief visit to Santa Barbara one weekend, I needed a place that, preferably, had two bedrooms & after looking at the past reviews of this property I was convinced the Castillo Suite would suit my needs.
It did not disappoint. I was completely satisfied by this place. The property's largest room is essentially a 2 bedroom apartment with a nice modern bath and a very nice, well appointed kitchen. The pricing of this large suite was comparable to regular rack rate rooms at nearby hotels. Internet was included, as was a modest breakfast. No additional resort fees... thank you management!
I feel this small, boutique Inn offers excellent value for the money and would highly recommend it for my fellow tripadvisor travelers.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    192
    31
    4
    5
See reviews for
113
329
19
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ormond Beach, Florida, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This review is long overdue as we stayed there last November (2012) - but - it was such a nice experience the hotel is still on my mind.
What was amazing to me is we had just checked out of the St. Regis in Monarch Beach before arriving... this charming hotel was just as nice, clean, and stocked as the St. Regis! Obviously the Castillo Inn is not going to be as spacious as a luxury resort - but they made the best use of the space in the room to make sure we had everything we needed to stay comfortably.
I'm big on bathrooms, and this one was clean, and you could tell thought was put into making sure the guest felt comfortable.
They have a complimentary breakfast you can pick up in the lobby each morning - again the thoughtfulness shows - it is just the right amount, quality, and selection for most tastes.
I'm not going to post any photos as we stayed in the upstairs room with the balcony and the photos the Castillo Inn posted are honest and let us know exactly what to expect - so no need to post my own.
The owner was also very friendly and made sure to take great, considerate care of the guests.
Did I mention, you can't beat the price for the quality?
Thank you Castillo Inn at the Beach for making our stay there a fond memory :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This hotel was clean, charming and very reasonably priced. Definitely a good value for the Santa Barbara area, which can be pricy. All rooms have a cute little patio and the continental breakfast was quite nice for that sort of thing. The staff was very friendly and we had a great stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed here one night in march and were very happy with the place. When you first arrive the parking lot seems a bit small but if you reserve your room you are guaranteed a space. The staff are all nice and tbe manager was nice enough to give us a tourist map of all the good spots nearby. The room was spacious, clean and had some charming decor. The jacuzzi tub in the bathroom was a little small but powerful and great to soak in. The patio was semi private and relaxing. The bed was good, however the towels could be a little softer. Overall we really enjoyed our stay, and would reccomend it to anyone travelling the area.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed there last night based on TA reviews.......it exceeded our expectations. The location is perfect.....the rooms are very comfortable with all the nice amenities and the staff very friendly and helpful.......add to that, the price is very reasonable for SB. We were lucky to get a reservation a few days ahead as they are normally fully booked.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

My trip to California started with a four day stay at the Manchester Grand Hyatt in San Diego in a $500 a night suite that my wife's company paid for.
Then we headed up the coast to San Francisco on my dime. I would never pay $500 a night to sleep, but my wife has become accustomed to a certain level of accommodation, so it is always a challenge to match my budget with her expectations.
The Castillo Inn made us both happy. When we pulled up she slightly snickered at the Motel appearance, but as we entered a spacious, incredibly clean room, I knew I had her (never told her the room was below $130 a night)
This Hotel is conveniently located, the Manager is very friendly and accommodating and in a city of incredibly high prices, this is truly a great bargain.
Highly recommended....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon BC Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Being Top 5 on TripAdvisor is a pretty tall order to achieve in Santa Barbara, no small feat especially when one of the other Top 5 is the Biltmore. But very quickly you come to realize the Castillo Inn do a lot of things really well. It's professionally managed, clean (inside and out), w/spacious updated rooms for overall good quality and value.

This is a small quaint motor inn aprox 20 rooms, single/double queen and king rooms, (standard and deluxe w/couch), some with small closed-in outdoor patio. Nice spanish architecture with blooming flower beds along the covered walkway. Parking is free, but compact due to being completely booked out most nights.

We arrived without a reservation and when we wanted to extend our stay further, Dan (the manager/ innkeeper) was very gracious and professional in accommodating us. You get the sense that this inn takes great pride in their property and genuinely cares for their guests.

The rooms have been recently remodelled with newer tile, carpet and granite counters. Also sport nice touches like plantation shutters, recessed lighting w/dimmers, 36" flat screen HD TV's (with HBO), free internet, dedicated drinking water faucet, small fridge, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, modern quiet heating/cooling system, upgraded fixtures/cabinetry, comfortable beds and bathroom w/fan and opening window. The rooms are fairly quiet with not a lot of noise transfer between rooms. Actually the property in general is fairly quiet and safe, and has a more mature guest clientele. (management really watches property and keeps a good eye on things)

There is a small continental breakfast in the morning from 7am, with killer coffee (really... really good coffee!). No pool or ocean views, but the overall value more than makes up for not having those on property, besides you are only a few steps away from some of the best views and beaches in Santa Barbara.

When there, check out the Herons nesting high in the tall trees directly across from the inn.

Santa Barbara is a compact city which makes the Castillo Inn perfectly located within easy walking distance to most attractions ( 5 min to beach, 10 min to Stearns Wharf, 10 min to Harbour, 20 min to downtown restaurants and shops, 25 min to Shoreline Park)

Note: If you are packing anything on the rooftop of your vehicle, watch height on one-way arch leading out. Witnessed a bike attached to car roof damaged due to being over height limit.

Overall great place and very good value for a good night's sleep!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Castillo Inn at the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castillo Inn at the Beach

Address: 22 Castillo St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#7 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#16 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Castillo Inn at the Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Castillo Inn at the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castillo Inn At The Beach Hotel Santa Barbara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castillo Inn at the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.