We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice clean and economical stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Castillo Inn at the Beach

Save Saved
You added Castillo Inn at the Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castillo Inn at the Beach
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   22 Castillo St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 61 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Lexington, Kentucky
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Very nice clean and economical stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We had a large clean room with king size bed, small frig, sofa and chair in sitiing area, a desk and a patio. The bath was small but nicely appointed. Our room rate of $100 included a continental breakfast. The coffee was very good and there was a good selection of pastries, muffins, juices, bottled green teas, and fresh fruit. There is self parking, no valet (It is a small property) included in the room rate. The location is an easy walk, 2 blocks from the Santa Barbara Pier. It would be a pretty long walk to State Street, but if you like to walk it wouldn't be a problem.

I also selected this hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews and the rate. Probably considering the rate and the clean and spacious room I should rate it Excellent. I think the location might be too far away from the State Street area for many people. Also although we didn't miss a pool as we were too busy sightseeing,a hot tub would have been nice in the evening. So I left at very good.

I would definitely stay here again.

When we arrived we noticed homeless people in the park across the street. As it turned out there are homeless people on State Street as well. We didn't feel threatened, but what to warn other visitors in case this is a concern.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    167
    26
    4
    5
See reviews for
96
282
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ridgecrest, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Having patronized the Castillo Inn at the Beach for nearly 20 years, we can say it more than meets our needs as a clean, very conveniently located and great value motel in a lovely city. The staff, always accommodating and friendly, want your stay to be comfortable. The rooms are spacious and nicely decorated, with refrigerators. Extra added attraction-----it's quiet !!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Very decent motel-style hotel, with helpful manager Dan who was always there if you had any questions. The Castillo Inn is just a block from the beach/harbor/pier and a 10-minute stroll away from downtown (State St). Our room (24) was spacious enough and had a jacuzzi, comfortable bed, sitting area and patio. Small continental breakfast is complimentary and very nice start of the day (you take it back to your room).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I was visiting Santa Barbara just for the weekend for a friends' wedding. When searching for 'reasonable' hotel rates, it was quite a challenge. After searching online, I decided to check out reviews on Trip Advisor and found great reviews about the Catillo Inn - and once again, Trip Advisor came through. The Castillo Inn is a small little boutique hotel/motel that delivers on personal service and charm. The rooms, first off, are very clean (my TOP priority behind the price), large with windows on both sides with shutters for privacy and beautifully updated bathrooms. The furnishings are cozy and warm and comfortable. Even though I missed my ergonomic bed at home, my bed at the Catillo Inn was super comfy! My room was right beside a road but I never once heard traffic. The area is a mix of small little inns and private residences so you really don't have any congested traffic areas. Dan, the owner/manager, was exceptionally polite and after the initial check-in always addressed me by name when I came in. Every encounter with him from making my reservation to check out was positive. In the mornings, Castillo Inn does offer coffee/tea along with fruit and muffins/pastries - which was more than fine for me. The Inn is not harbor front but is only about 1/2 block from the waterfront. State Street is a short drive or 15 min walk away. There are only a handful of rooms and parking is tight but there is one guaranteed spot for every guest - and no matter where you park in the lot, you will only be steps away from your room. So if you are visiting Santa Barbara and want an affordable, clean and comfortable place to stay, close to everything with a friendly and helpful manager, you definitely need to check out the Castillo Inn. I would highly recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, WA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We celebrated our 25th anniversary in Santa Barbara - I'd always wanted to go there. It seemed like all the hotels close to the harbor were independently owned (vs. chains that are pretty consistent) - which scared us a bit since we have family members who run their own independent motels and have seen how bad they can be.... But, after some research, my husband chose the Castillo Inn.

We couldn't have been happier! The room was private and beautifully decorated. We loved sitting on the patio facing the park across the street and reading. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean.

The Front Desk gave us great restaurant suggestions and a helpful map. The Inn is within walking distance of the harbor and it was nice to take a sunset stroll there every evening. We walked downtown the first day and found it just a bit too far. The next day we drove. But, it was still nice to stroll through some of the surrounding neighborhoods and view some great mid-century California architecture we don't get in the NW.

Loved the bottles of juice and yummy scones in the morning. They were just enough to start our day.

If we ever return to Santa Barbara (which I hope we don't have to wait another 25 years to do), we will stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrightwood, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This hotel was nice, the room was spacious, and the customer service was friendly, however, there is no jacuzzi or pool, which would have been nice, as it was chilly in the evening. It is also a bit overpriced for what you get. We were there the week after New Year's so prices my have still been high, but I thought for what we got that it was a bit much. We enjoyed our stay though, and the "light continental breakfast" was actually delicious!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We really liked our room here. It was very clean and the decor was lovely. We could walk to the beach, wharf, etc. from the "Inn". I agree with one reviewer's assessment of Dan at the front desk. He can be friendly one minute and kind of gruff the next.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castillo Inn at the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castillo Inn at the Beach

Address: 22 Castillo St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#5 Best Value Hotel in Santa Barbara
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#16 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Castillo Inn at the Beach 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Castillo Inn at the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castillo Inn At The Beach Hotel Santa Barbara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castillo Inn at the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.