We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem in Santa Barbara” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castillo Inn at the Beach

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Barbara
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castillo Inn at the Beach
22 Castillo St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 59 hotels in Santa Barbara
Holland, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Hidden gem in Santa Barbara”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

What a pleasant surprise. The hotel is in a great location, a half a block to the beach and marina, and across the street from a nice park. The rooms are very spacious and charming with a nice sitting area. Our room had a patio attached out of the back door. The furnishings and bathroom were very nicely appointed and plantation shutters covering the windows. The staff was friendly and attentive as well as knowledgeable and helpful with things to do and restaurants to suit any taste and budget in the area. The property is small and you can park right outside of your room making it easy to get luggage into your room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    254
    148
    23
    4
    5
See reviews for
84
257
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed here with our 2 sons, aged 22 and 18, in July 2012, as part of a two week road trip in the US, mostly in California. We really enjoyed our short stay here, the room was comfortable, the service friendly and helpful and it was good value. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Going on the reviews from Tripadvisor, I booked a room with a patio on the phone with someone named Jacqui a month before our stay. She said that she would email through our confirmation. Nothing ever arrived. I emailed several times, and finally had to call again. They had our booking, but the promised email still never arrived.

We were on a work trip in L.A, and 2 days before we were due to arrive, we knew our meetings would run over into the evening. We called again to try and cancel or move the first night, but were told there was a 48 hour cancellation policy which we had just missed. How were we to know, we never received anything documenting our booking or their policy? My boyfriend tried to explain, but the manager was obdurate. So we had to rush our meetings and drive late in the evening to make their check-in time.

When we got there, we found a VERY ordinary motel at a price of $200 + tax per night. No outdoor or communal area to hang out in, no pool. Our room had low ceilings, the decor was corporate, we did not get a room with a patio we requested a month prior. One small window looked out onto the parking lot of the motel, another small window looked out onto the parking lot of the motel next door. No view. Dark. Grim. Cooped up with no patio. Not our style.

My boyfriend talked to the manager to see if we could check out the next day as we were unhappy. He was again obdurate that we were bound to stay for the two nights, despite the fact we had never received any confirmation of our booking. As we did not get the room with a patio we requested because my boyfriend is a smoker, and there is no outdoor space at the motel, he smoked one cigarette outside on the stairs while talking to me through the open door.

We were so unhappy with the unfriendly sad motel that we checked out the next morning and went somewhere bright and cheerful with a pool and a good attitude. As a courtesy, we called Castillo Inn on the Beach to tell them they could resell the room for the second night we had paid for.

We spoke to someone called Frank, who said that they had already cancelled our reservation whilst still charging us in full for the two nights, and that they had moreover charged us a $100 'cleaning fee' for smoking in the room. We tried to explain that we hadn't done so, but Frank rudely told us that "this monkey business was not appreciated" ! Words fail. Perhaps if they treated their guests with respect, by confirming their booking and cancellation policy, and giving them the rooms they have requested for a reason, we wouldn't have been forced to smoke outside an open door. There seriously cannot have been more than one puff of smoke that chanced to blow inside the room. We are a polite couple and left the room in perfect condition, but were treated as if we had burnt down their precious motel.

This was a really negative experience which cost us over $500 for one night at this overhyped motel, and ruined our Santa Barbara trip. We were only there for 2 nights and didn't have a chance to relax from having to move. There are so many more worthwhile places in SB to stay. Avoid.

Room Tip: Don't stay there, and if you do, don't expect to get the room you request.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

My husband and I feel we found a diamond in the rough. I'm a bit of a hotel snob (or just a neat freak, either way...). I don't need the Ritz, but I want something cozy and clean, and this fits the bill! I was SHOCKED at the price. SB is not exactly an affordable place to stay, and my husband and I typically stay at the Canary for triple the cost. Now, this is certainly not the Canary, but for the price it was absolutely perfect. Clean, cozy, refurbished, and beds were very comfy!! Also, close enough to downtown/pier to walk.

Also, the room we originally reserved was unavailable due to water damage in a neighboring room. Our room was originally $99 per night (which was already a great price), but because we needed to change rooms (which was the exact same room on the bottom floor instead of the top), the manager gave us the room for half cost. Yes, you heard it, have cost! We paid $100 for TWO nights. Crazy talk.

Very nice place, very nice manager, will absolutely stay again!! Hope you will visit too!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We attempt to be frugal in our hotel choices as we spend most time out exploring and only sleep in the room. After seeing good reviews on here and calling to find out that their "winter" rate was well below many of the surrounding hotels, I was convinced that this hotel would work for us. Well it more than works for us! We were pleasantly surprised to enter our room and see the spaciousness--room 12, king bed corner room. We have a one-year-old and are always trying to determine the best place to put his pack-n-play...no problem here! Plenty of room for him to explore and for us to shove the crib in a corner. Room is very nicely updated and well kept. Linens are very soft and comfortable and beds as well. Bathroom looks like it belongs in a much fancier hotel. Great location too--walking distance to the water and bike path, cute playground (ages 1-3), and marina. Shuttle stops just a block away to take you to the wharf, zoo, etc. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Spent one night here and was upgraded without even asking. The room was nicely decorated and very comfortable. It even had a charger for my I phone and a DVD player. The complimentary breakfast was just enough with fresh fruit and a few pastries. The coffee was surprisingly good. I would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Stayed overnight on road trip down the coast and just needed a comfortable clean room for the night. The Castillo Inn suited us perfectly. Our family of 4 shared a room with 2 Queen beds - beds & pillows were very comfortable. The man at reception leant us umbrellas & gave us a map and directions of where to walk through town & to a great Mexican restaurant for dinner. A basic continental breakfast was included in the room rate which you collected in the reception area and ate in your room. We were happy with our choice and thought it was great value for a budget hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Castillo Inn at the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castillo Inn at the Beach

Also Known As:
Castillo Inn At The Beach Hotel Santa Barbara
Castillo Inn At The Beach Hotel
Address: 22 Castillo St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Santa Barbara
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#11 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castillo Inn at the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Castillo Inn at the Beach to your Saves list