We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castillo Inn at the Beach

Save Saved
You added Castillo Inn at the Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castillo Inn at the Beach
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   22 Castillo St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 60 hotels in Santa Barbara
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great place....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Rooms are very spacious, clean and modern....very large with beautiful white shutters, and we had the continental breakfast out on our patio. (room 24). Large well-appointed bathroom, with a whirlpool tub, and the best coffee we've had at a hotel!,,,, definitely would return. We did experience some noise from the train.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    271
    159
    24
    4
    5
See reviews for
92
274
16
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Only stayed one night but we will definitely try to stay here the next time we are in SB
Pros
Clean
Spacious
Great location
Helpful staff
Individualized decor making it homey
Con
Mattress a bit hard
Some Train noise for other family who also stayed there

In the end pros far outweigh cons particularly since it was such a good value

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfred, NY
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I think I looked at just about every TA hotel/motel review in Santa Barbara before I decided to go with with the affordable Castillo Inn. It was a surprisingly good deal for its location and spacious, clean rooms. My friend and I had a double queen sized room with a small patio outside. We were a little concerned to find ourselves right next door to the laundry room, but it turned out not to be a noise problem. There was a little bit of confusion figuring out the wireless code with the man at the front desk, then later found the code on the desk in the room, which would have saved a lot of time. The location was perfect for walking to the harbor, beach, and State St. We'd be pleased to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed at the Castillo Inn during our PCH road trip. The location was great - 30 seconds off the beach, and about a 15 minute walk from State Street, the main drag in Santa Barbara with restaurants and boutiques - and the room was excellent. We felt like we were staying at a bed and breakfast, the room was spacious, really nice furniture and amenities, and a good shower. The owner was very friendly and provided us with information on Santa Barbara and good dinner recommendations, as well as some recommendations for our further drive up the coast. All that was lacking was the breakfast - the were lots of bottled juices to choose from, but breakfast itself was just some cellophane-wrapped danishes. Overall, I'd recommend it and would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton & Hove
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Room was very good - clean and spacious enough. Had nice touches with antique looking furniture and bathroom fittings, nice change from the chain decoration. Location was also good, near enough to walk everywhere we wanted to go. The owner was very helpful, giving us great tips for what we might like to do in SB and how to get there, using the free bus and also pointed us in the direction of great food too. We would definitely go back if we get the chance.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had an upstairs King suite with a little balcony. The room was facing the street. We were worried about the noise, but it was no problem. The room was beautifully redecorated, as well as the bathroom. The location of this motel is perfect, just a few steps from the yacht harbor and restaurants. The room was very clean. We have absolutely no complains at all. Considering this motel is close to the beach, the value is very good. What we didn't like was the fact when we entered the lobby to check in, there was nobody at the front desk. No bell either. We were waiting maybe 5 minutes. Then the front desk clerk appeared from outside. He was not friendly, just took our reservation, gave us the room keys and that was it.

Room Tip: the upstairs king suite is very nice. Tasteful decorated. Even though it is facing the street, it wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed here last year for two nights on the way to Cayucos. We were pleasantly surprised by the size of the room and the excellent condition of the room. The furniture, linens, carpets, and fixtures are in a Spanish Colonial style. Nothing was amiss. We had windows on three sides with views of the Santa Barbara mountains. The beds were soft, but firm, and induced some the best sleep I've every had away from home. The beach, wharf, and pier were only a few minutes away. The property is in very good condition. The onlything that reminds you that you are in a motel is that the cars are parked in front of the rooms. The property itself is across the street from a park. We liked it so much that my wife and I returned and spent seven days from Sunday to Sunday last week. I told my wife that if I could, I would return to Santa Barbara and this motel, instead of traveling to Hawaii. That is how much I enjoyed the motel and Santa Barbara. One drawback is that there are no microwaves. However, you do get a refrigerator and a coffee maker. The only other drawback is that if you stay out too late, you may find that you cannot park in the motel because folks don't always park well in the sometimes narrow parking spaces.

Room Tip: I'm actually too selfish to provide this information online. I don't want any competition fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castillo Inn at the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castillo Inn at the Beach

Address: 22 Castillo St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#16 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Castillo Inn at the Beach 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Castillo Inn at the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castillo Inn At The Beach Hotel Santa Barbara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castillo Inn at the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.