We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location near beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castillo Inn at the Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Castillo Inn at the Beach to your Saves list
Castillo Inn at the Beach
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   22 Castillo St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 54 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great location near beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012 via mobile

We loved this hotel for many reasons. Great location near the beach. Excellent host. Clean room. Very spacious and convenient. Very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    180
    29
    3
    5
See reviews for
105
303
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Stayed here for one night when passing through Santa Barbara en route to LA. Wish it was a week.

The front desk guy (the owner I think) is awesome - very welcoming and also hilarious, a treat to deal with.

We stayed in a deluxe king room and it was magnificent - the mini-lounge was great, the bed was huge and comfortable, the bathroom was ornate and we were just overall very impressed. We could comfortably have stayed here for a week. It was very clean and nicely decorated with lots of extras.

Location-wise its a short stroll down to the waterfront and all the sights and sounds. The tourist map given by the front desk was informational and highlighted all the local attractions.

Downsides would only be (a) we blocked the toilet =/ and (b) the internet signal was very weak.

On checking out the staff insisted we take bottled/canned drinks with us that they provided for free - we love this place!

Bottom line: We loved it and would highly recommend to anyone. Its also great value.

Room Tip: Just stay here you won't regret.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

Dan, the manager of the Castillo Inn, is very friendly and welcomes me every time i arrive to the hotel. He will give me any room i ask for (if available) and gives me a great price. The value is amazing. You can even get passes to the Santa Barbara Athletic Club (off site). They provide great morning coffee, fruit, and pastries. The attention to detail is extraordinary. Every week i look forward to my stay!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012 via mobile

My Favorite hotel is the Canary, and it was out of my budget this trip. I have 2 kids and we loved the easy access to the beach/ restaurants and our parked car out of our room. If you do not need pay per view and room service this was such a great find in a slew of over priced hotels. Free parking was also a plus. The rooms are clean with a nice decor. Very quaint.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

We found this little place at the last minute, for Easter Sunday. It has been recently renovated, so the bathrooms have new granite countertops, fixtures, and furnishings in the room. We were surprised at its price: $119/night plus tax, for king room with seating area and pull-out sofa sleeper, continental breakfast, and free parking.
It is literally one-half block to the harbor, where you can walk up and down the waterfront.
Excellent little place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

It is hard to find a bargain on a decent hotel room in Santa Barbara, but Castillo Inn is an affordable and good (though not fancy) small hotel located only a block from the beach. To be sure, it is an old motel, but one that has been renovated to a fairly high standard. Once inside the room, nothing really looks like an old motel. Furniture is all relatively new and bathrooms are up to date. It’s a 10 minute walk to State Street, where you’ll find most of the restaurants and night life. The continental breakfast was minimal but sufficient for us – there are restaurants close by if you need more. Our only small complaint was that the desk clerk, while pleasant and polite, was not particularly helpful with tips and local knowledge. All in all, we’d go back and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foxboro, ma
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

This is actually a motel. Our room was spacious, very clean, with a huge king-size bed, and sofa. The bathroom was spacious. It's within walking distance to restaurants, the ocean, State Street, etc. The only downside is the continental breakfast, which consists of danish, muffins, bananas and juice and coffee. Plan to go to a restaurant for breakfast. I would highly recommend this hotel/motel, and have.

Room Tip: We only had 1 room on 2 occasions, so I assume they're all similar. There is parking right outs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castillo Inn at the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castillo Inn at the Beach

Address: 22 Castillo St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#8 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#14 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Castillo Inn at the Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Castillo Inn at the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castillo Inn At The Beach Hotel Santa Barbara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castillo Inn at the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.