We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and clean motel! Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Castillo Inn at the Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Castillo Inn at the Beach to your Saves list
Castillo Inn at the Beach
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   22 Castillo St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 54 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Turin, Italy
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Nice and clean motel! Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

The rooms are all on first floor. The parking is free and handy. The bathroom is big and beautiful, we were in room 17: the decor of the bathroom was very nice. The king bed is big and comfortable. The manager was very friendly. The continental breakfast is free: you can choose between some muffins and sweeties. The lobby was nice: there is a place where you can use a desktop and a place where you can read newspapers and books. The location is very good, just five minuts walk from Santa Barbara Pier and from State Street. There is no ocean view but it is just across the street. The price is similar to other Santa Barbara close hotels.
A great place for stay in Santa Barbara!

Room Tip: all rooms seemed good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    180
    29
    3
    5
See reviews for
105
303
18
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edna, Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

This is an older property that has been very well maintained and redone from top to bottom. Nothing in our room (#18 King bed) was shabby or old, everything from ceiling to floor was nice and new, clean and lovely. Nice linens, very comfortable non-bouncy mattress with cushy mattress topper or mattress pad. Clean white cotton blanket. Good location within walking distance to the attractions. We liked our stay. I will agree with others that the walls are thin and you can hear what's going on in the parking lot. We went to bed early during our stay and never had any trouble with loud neighbors in rooms next door, thankfully. Don't expect a good view as there is none. There is no pool or outdoor space to speak of, but we didn't need those things at all. All the attraction was across the street at the beach, the marina and downtown on State St. I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California/Italy
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

Lovely large bathroom with superior details and the fresh scones, fruit and excellent coffee for breakfast offset the awkward layout in a smallish room. A bit on the expensive side considering there's no outside seating, pool, hot tub...just parking. The walls are thin so the party next door woke us up after midnight. Well located and easy to find; the park in front did have some city overnighters but plenty of police presence. Still, it was very clean and the innkeeper was pleasant. A good basic choice for Santa Barbara.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union City, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

We loved our stay at the Castillo Inn in Santa Barbara. Dan, the general manager, was most helpful. The room was well appointed, clean, stylish, and quiet. Our only slight disappointment was location in realizing that "at the beach" didn't mean "on the beech" and the view outside our back patio was of the parking lot of the Best Western.
We were a very short walk from the beech and ended up enjoying our stay at Castillo Inn immensely.
Service and ease of use made up for our slight disappointment about the beech. This is a great place to stay!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southeast texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

Very clean. Room furnished like a nice home. Great location, would return again.
Guy at front desk was helpful with recommendations.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

The Castillo Inn is right off the main drag by the marina. It was easy to get around and we walked everywhere. We booked last minute and got a very nice room for $156/nite. It's not the fanciest of hotels but it was convenient and well appointed. I'd be glad to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shadyside, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

My husband & I just got in the car and drove up the Pacific Highway till we came to Santa Barbara. No plans, no reservations! We started calling around to various hotels and found the cost was too too much, but we got lucky and called the Castillo Inn. They had one room left so we took it. We were pleasantly surprised at how clean it all was. We certainly weren't expecting the new and clean rooms. We both slept so soundly. I recommend this Inn to anyone visiting Santa Barbara. It's not a luxury hotel but a wonderful place to lay your head for the night.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castillo Inn at the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castillo Inn at the Beach

Address: 22 Castillo St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#8 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#14 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Castillo Inn at the Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Castillo Inn at the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castillo Inn At The Beach Hotel Santa Barbara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castillo Inn at the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.