We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegance at the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Barbara Inn

Save Saved
You added Santa Barbara Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Santa Barbara Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   901 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103   |  
Hotel amenities
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Elegance at the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Inn is perfectly located, across from the beach, within walking distance to the Wharf, restaurants and activities. Our room was spacious, comfortable, clean. On-street parking was easy during our stay in early May, an alternative to the valet parking provided at the Inn. The breakfast was a bit skimpy, but the breakfast room was elegant with a beautiful view. The hallways are light and well decorated, evoking an earlier era. Coffee, tea, water and fruit available all day in the lobby. The rates are reasonable, comparaed to the neighboring Hyatt and Fess Parker. A good choice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    161
    113
    43
    30
    34
See reviews for
87
159
15
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Escondido, CA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed for our anniversary at the end of April and overall the Inn was good. The pros are the proximity to the Beach (at least in Santa Barbara the hotels are across the street, not directly on the beach). the nice size of the room, and close bike rental places nearby, the beach path across the street for biking or walking, and a reasonable size balcony with an ocean view. The bed was comfortable, and the staff was attentive. On the con size, the rooms could use a little updating, and you are on the street which can be a little noisy. The continental breakfast was adequate. i would stay there again.

Room Tip: Pick ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

The only good thing about the Santa Barbara Inn is the location: great ocean view. However, it is in need of considerable updating: it is literally falling down. We were in the "penthouse" which gave us a bird's-eye view of the dilapidated roof and the HVAC systems. The suite was huge but sparse, and the bedroom was on the back of the hotel. Therefore, we were entertained until the wee hours of the morning by the drunken guests at the adjacent motel. The railing on the deck was splintered and badly in need of replacement. The sliding glass door in the bedroom is sealed shut, so in case of fire, there is no way to get out. Parking is $7/night. There is no restaurant, so you need to drive elsewhere to dine. Apparently the hotel will be remodeled in the fall, but in the meantime, we would recommend travelers stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed G, General Manager at Santa Barbara Inn, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
We are sorry you were not pleased with your stay at the Santa Barbara Inn. We have closed the hotel as of October 1, 2013 for an extensive renovation. We will return with a completely renovated hotel with all new guestrooms and suites, air-conditioning, a new restaurant, bar, fitness center and banquet room. We look forward to a grand re-opening in early 2015.
Ed Galsterer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Ok, so we booked this place for two nights because we wanted to get a taste of luxury in Santa Barbara. i have to admit this this really was the most best choice we could have made. Great staff, complimentary taxi service and amazing decor. The Santa Barbara Inn is located right by the beach, so after breakfast we would just take a stroll along the promenade and walk to the pier. We highly recommend going here for a great Santa Barbara experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Several stays at the Santa Barbara Inn have all been top rated! The staff is very attentive and dedicated to making stay the best it can be. The decor is charming and well as the amenities. It is a quick stroll across the street to the beach and a 20 minute walk to the pier. It the only place we will stay. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ocean side room provides good awesome sleep and easy access to the hot tub and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Staff was awesome, and included a hotel taxi to take us to a concert at the Bowl. Perfect location! And Nice, large rooms...with awesome balconies/gorgeous views. Steps to water and running trails, and great restaurants. Very professionally run. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Third floor, water view...balconies are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Absolutely great location, staff, and experience. This was the perfect place to stay in Santa Barbara. Only went for 1 night, but wish I could've stayed the entire weekend. I went with my wife for a romantic getaway, but we could've brought the kids and had a great time as well.

Room Tip: 3rd floor, overlooking pool towards beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santa Barbara Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Barbara Inn

Address: 901 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Santa Barbara Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Santa Barbara Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Barbara Hotel Santa Barbara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Barbara Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.