We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Place to Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Barbara Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Santa Barbara Inn to your Saves list
Santa Barbara Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   901 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103   |  
Hotel amenities
Sherwood Park, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lovely Place to Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We just recently came home after 5 nights at the Santa Barbara Inn. Our room was spacious and had a King size bed and ocean view. It was very well maintained and the staff were courteous and friendly. I guess the only down side was the traffic noises outside our room as there is no air conditioning and we had to keep the doors open and fans going. However, they told us that they are closing in May of this year to do a huge reno and it will take up to 18 months. They are going to add a restaurant. Right now there is a gorgeous breakfast room with an ocean view where we had our complimentary breakfast every morning.

Room Tip: Our room was ocean side, but there are mountain side rooms which might be quieter. We had a room on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    114
    43
    30
    34
See reviews for
88
160
15
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poway, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

The location of the hotel is great. All staff encounter was very friendly. I was allowed to check in very early without any problems. The only problem I had was hair in my bed, under the covers, when I arrived. Unfortunately the hair problem was not taken care of in the first try. I asked the staff to fix the problem by getting new betting. When I returned to the room later, the bed was made. Upon further inspection, however, I found multiple hairs (short and medium length, black, I have long blond hair) again under the covers. I assume that the bed was just made again (perhaps a miscommunication amoung the staff). When I asked the desk clerk to witness the hairs, he came up to my room promptly, and immediately appologized and I was offered a different room (with full ocean view upgrade). The second room was amazing. The next day I received a note, a phone call from the manager on duty, cookies and 2 bottles of sparkling water. I was very clear that the staff took my complaint very seriously and that they were eager to make up for their short coming the night before. I would 100% stay at this hotel again. Although the problem was not fixed the first time, the issue was resolved and I was very happy with my new, clean room. Mistakes happen, we are humans after all. As long as I am taken seriously and the complaint is fixed, I am happy.

Room Tip: This hotel is worth the extra money for the ocean view. Falling asleep listening to the waves was g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, OH
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

A great hotel with a beautiful view of the ocean. The location is perfect for shopping, dining or just enjoying some relaxation. The staff could not be more helpful or pleasant. Great breakfast. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Stayed on an upper room and first floor. Both had a great view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quakertown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

We had a very nice room on the second floor. The view from our room was delightful. It was clean and up to date. The staff was helpful and friendly. Nice pool area, fresh fruit in the lobby, small produce/grocery store nearby with a nice wine selection. Our only negative was poor wifi in our room - fickle and just one bar of service most of the time. Worked fine in the lobby. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
Top Contributor
337 reviews 337 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I spent two nights at the Santa Barbara Inn last winter with my boyfriend and his father, visiting from England. We had two separate rooms.

At first it doesn't look like much, but inside it's a boutique type of hotel with great service. The staff really goes out of its way to make sure that you are comfortable and are having a great stay.

The rooms are beautifully appointed, making this a great spot for a romantic weekend away.

My favorite thing was the pool. It's not a huge pool, but it was heated to nearly spa temperatures, which was awesome during our winter stay. I felt like it was a treat to be able to go swimming.

The rooms have balconies that overlook the ocean, which is just across the road.

We walked to the pier and to the State street shops. It's not really close, but walkable- about 20 minutes. If you don't want to walk, it is easy to catch public transportation from this location. We left our car with the valet the entire trip and had no problems getting around.

The complimentary breakfast was very good and served in a large banquet type room overlooking the ocean.

This is the perfect hotel for a relaxing Santa Barbara vacation. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We were very impressed with the Santa Barbara Inn. The rooms (we had upper floor ocean view rooms) were very roomy with lovely views of the ocean. The continental breakfast served in a beautiful, sunny room was just right to start the day. It was also walking distance to the Santa Barbara Zoo, which was very nice. On Sunday, we just strolled across the street to the ocean walkway to enjoy the views and the Sunday Art Fair. A great place to stay.

Room Tip: Pick the Ocean View Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

My husband and I travelled to California for our 25th wedding anniversary and booked a three night stay at the Santa Barbara Inn. We were very happy with our choice. The location was perfect, right across the street from the ocean. We had a very large room with the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. Our room had a large balcony overlooking the pool and beach - it was perfect. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful, assisting us by making recommendations for our anniversary dinner. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and if in the area would love to stay there again.

Room Tip: Request/pay for a pool/oceanview room - it's worth it. Beds are the most comfortable ever!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santa Barbara Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Barbara Inn

Address: 901 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Santa Barbara Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with AAA Travel Services, Otel, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Santa Barbara Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Barbara Hotel Santa Barbara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Barbara Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.