We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Santa Barbara Inn was very nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Barbara Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Santa Barbara Inn to your Saves list
Santa Barbara Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   901 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Santa Barbara Inn was very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We were very impressed with the Santa Barbara Inn. The rooms (we had upper floor ocean view rooms) were very roomy with lovely views of the ocean. The continental breakfast served in a beautiful, sunny room was just right to start the day. It was also walking distance to the Santa Barbara Zoo, which was very nice. On Sunday, we just strolled across the street to the ocean walkway to enjoy the views and the Sunday Art Fair. A great place to stay.

Room Tip: Pick the Ocean View Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    117
    44
    30
    34
See reviews for
89
162
15
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

My husband and I travelled to California for our 25th wedding anniversary and booked a three night stay at the Santa Barbara Inn. We were very happy with our choice. The location was perfect, right across the street from the ocean. We had a very large room with the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. Our room had a large balcony overlooking the pool and beach - it was perfect. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful, assisting us by making recommendations for our anniversary dinner. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and if in the area would love to stay there again.

Room Tip: Request/pay for a pool/oceanview room - it's worth it. Beds are the most comfortable ever!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Don't stay here if you want action. Stay here if you enjoy peace and quiet, lovely views, and the ocean. The rooms are old-school large and the beds are very comfortable. The off-season price, along with the continental breakfast, all day coffee and fruit, make it a bargain for Santa Barbara. Nice staff, too. Passes to a nice offered to a nice athletic club, too.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Wife and I did a quick one night weekender. Not realizing it was the Santa Barbara Film Festival weekend and all rates were going to be high, we chose the Santa Barbara Inn mostly due to rate on hotels.com. Proximity to the 101 was great and provided for easy access. It is about a 15min walk to State Street, but that provided cheaper food options. La Super Rica was just a mile down the street. The location off State Street was good and bad. We wished we were closer to the action, but it definitely was quieter than some of the other hotel options by State Street.

Pretty much everyone on staff was nice and helpful. The hotel room was a nice size and they gave the rooms a modernization which is nice. The bathrooms were still old school, but they were serviceable.

Overall, we may not stay here every time we go to SB, but it will definitely be a consideration for our next trip up there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
107 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

What makes this hotel worthwhile are the views and the access to the beach. The room was perfectly adequate and the continental breakfast was all we needed. The front desk staff was friendly and the valet parking guy was very friendly, putting up with our unceasing abuse of the unlimited in and out policy. Seriously, this property puts you right in the center of things at a very attractive price. We went to the Biltmore for lunch and felt that we had gotten the best of both worlds.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Rey, California, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I so agree with the notion of "5 star quality for 3 star price"! I admit i am partial to the SB Inn as it was the home of our wedding party during our wedding weekend in 2010, but we've visited many times since and the staff, room accommodations and overall quality is always top notch. You can not beat the quality and value for being right on the beach and walking distance to the Pier and State Street, even the Santa Barbara Bowl for summer concerts. We love it and will be back as often as we can rationalize!

Room Tip: the ocean view rooms are wonderful, and worth the little extra $. suite #200 is huge, great for ente...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Santa Barbara
Hyatt Santa Barbara
#40 of 52 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 stars 650 reviews
1.1 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#14 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 stars 975 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn At East Beach
Inn At East Beach
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 stars 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#33 of 52 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 stars 365 reviews
1.5 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 stars 907 reviews
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 stars 649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Barbara Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Barbara Inn

Address: 901 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Santa Barbara Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Santa Barbara Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Barbara Hotel Santa Barbara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Barbara Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.