We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable and serene” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Barbara Inn

Save Saved
You added Santa Barbara Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Santa Barbara Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   901 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103   |  
Hotel amenities
San Diego, CA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Reasonable and serene”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Don't stay here if you want action. Stay here if you enjoy peace and quiet, lovely views, and the ocean. The rooms are old-school large and the beds are very comfortable. The off-season price, along with the continental breakfast, all day coffee and fruit, make it a bargain for Santa Barbara. Nice staff, too. Passes to a nice offered to a nice athletic club, too.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    162
    113
    46
    29
    34
See reviews for
86
159
15
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Wife and I did a quick one night weekender. Not realizing it was the Santa Barbara Film Festival weekend and all rates were going to be high, we chose the Santa Barbara Inn mostly due to rate on hotels.com. Proximity to the 101 was great and provided for easy access. It is about a 15min walk to State Street, but that provided cheaper food options. La Super Rica was just a mile down the street. The location off State Street was good and bad. We wished we were closer to the action, but it definitely was quieter than some of the other hotel options by State Street.

Pretty much everyone on staff was nice and helpful. The hotel room was a nice size and they gave the rooms a modernization which is nice. The bathrooms were still old school, but they were serviceable.

Overall, we may not stay here every time we go to SB, but it will definitely be a consideration for our next trip up there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

What makes this hotel worthwhile are the views and the access to the beach. The room was perfectly adequate and the continental breakfast was all we needed. The front desk staff was friendly and the valet parking guy was very friendly, putting up with our unceasing abuse of the unlimited in and out policy. Seriously, this property puts you right in the center of things at a very attractive price. We went to the Biltmore for lunch and felt that we had gotten the best of both worlds.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Rey, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I so agree with the notion of "5 star quality for 3 star price"! I admit i am partial to the SB Inn as it was the home of our wedding party during our wedding weekend in 2010, but we've visited many times since and the staff, room accommodations and overall quality is always top notch. You can not beat the quality and value for being right on the beach and walking distance to the Pier and State Street, even the Santa Barbara Bowl for summer concerts. We love it and will be back as often as we can rationalize!

Room Tip: the ocean view rooms are wonderful, and worth the little extra $. suite #200 is huge, great for ente...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Santa Barbara Inn was a happy mistake. I thought I had booked a hotel with a similar name in the shopping district. Ended up at the Inn in a huge, ocean view room. The front desk staff is very friendly - always a smile and a "welcome back" when we walked in the door. Always hot coffee, tea and fresh fruit available in the lobby. Our room was HUGE, though it was an odd mix of dated and updated. The carpets had some stains but otherwise the room was very clean, the bed was very comfortable and the view was spectacular. A basic continental breakfast was served in a lovely third floor breakfast room with more spectacular views. The walk to Stearns Wharf at the end of State Street was about 15 - 20 minutes.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I grew up in Santa Barbara and try to visit whenever I am home to visit my family in SoCal. Many of my friends had the good sense to stay in the area so it's a treat to seem them when I'm in town. I usually book a room for my family at the Goleta Holiday Inn but this was a special trip and I wanted to stay on the beach. Since I'm familiar with the area, I knew exactly where the SB Inn is located. Tripadvisor comments aided me in deciding to make a reservation.

My first and foremost requirement was oceanfront/view. My daughter is 9 so I reserved a king/twin room. They also have rollaways but I thought the twin bed would be more comfortable. The twin is actually a pullout bed which is folded into what looks like an oversized ottoman. The ottoman is comfortable but skip the bed - it's very thin. We decided to snuggle in the king but since the bed was probably the best we've ever slept in, no one moved a muscle all night. We fell asleep to the lullaby of seals.

Unlike some previous posts, our bathroom was quite nice. It had a large shower and seemed as recently renovated as the rest of the hotel. The room had a large flat screen, small round table and a deck. The deck was wide enough for a 4-seater table and comfy chairs to enjoy sunset/sunrise. The decks are private, but only separted by vinyl - very beachy and attractive.

The ambience of the inn lends itself to a quiet getaway atmosphere. As we traveled in early January, the summer months may be different. This is a family-friendly place to stay, but we only saw adult guests. My daughter loved the pool (alas cold) and jacuzzi, and being walking distance to the beach.

The decor of the hotel is very tasteful. The hallways are lined with black and white photos of SB, other nice furnishings and lend themselves to a comfortable walk to the rooms. The lobby is inviting and offers 24/7 gourmet coffee/tea and fresh fruit. The continental breakfast is served in a window enclosed room on the third floor and faces the beach. The food is adequate, not too heavy for a day in the city. The only change would be to have trays to carry breakfast back to the room. As it was, I had to make a couple trips so I wouldn't drop my husband's oatmeal or have an apple roll down the hallway.

The icing on the cake was the wonderful staff. Nicholas was our parking valet - what a friendly young man. I can't remember the gentleman's name who assisted with my reservation/checked us in, but all the front desk employees were very welcoming. I mentioned to the front desk that we were dining at the Enterprise Fish Company (just a mile away) and he gave me a card for a free appetizer. The housekeeping staff all had smiles on their faces and you could tell they were treated well.

I hope the staff reads these posts. I would like them to know how they played a big part in making our trip so wonderful.

Room Tip: Definitely reserve an oceanfront room. Second would be pool view, the other rooms overlook the parki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Santa Barbara Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Barbara Inn

Address: 901 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Santa Barbara Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Santa Barbara Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Barbara Hotel Santa Barbara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Barbara Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.