We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel by the ocean.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Barbara Inn

Save Saved
You added Santa Barbara Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Santa Barbara Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   901 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103   |  
Hotel amenities
Memphis, Tennessee
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Nice hotel by the ocean.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We had a nice stay at this hotel. The employees were very laid back. The best thing about it was the view of the ocean, the nice sized rooms with patio. Nice big shower. There was no coffee in the room, but there was coffee in the lobby and a nice continental breakfast on the third floor with a nice seating area and great view. It is a good long walk to town. There was no conditioner in the room, but very nice smelling shampoo and soap. Parking on the street or valet.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    162
    113
    46
    29
    34
See reviews for
86
159
15
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were on the 3rd floor overlooking the ocean. We opened the windows at night and were awakened by seals sounding off in the morning. The pool was nice. I enjoyed the breakfast served every morning the beautiful 3rd floor dining room with windows overlooking the ocean. We walked to the main shopping street which was full of shops and restaurants. Highly recommend a side trip to the Mission. What a wonderful history lesson that was. The hotel is on the bus route which we took back from the Mission. Walking distance to the Pier. Front desk staff very informative and helpful. They booked us on a sunset cruise which turned out to be a highlight of our stay in Santa Barbara.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Santa Barbara Inn is located across East Beach in Santa Barbara, which gives you perfect access and walking distance to the walkway/bike lane across the street, shuttle stops, restaurants, etc. The staff was very nice, and the lobby welcoming and breezy. The hotel has been recently renovated; however, the bathrooms have not been. The floor tile was cracked, the lighting is terrible, the sink area small, not much mirror, the shower is small, etc. The room itself was very spacious and nicely furnished. Plenty of room to spread out. The breakfast room is on the 3rd floor with huge windows overlooking the ocean. My complaint is the continental breakfast was pretty poor. All the baked goods-muffins and pastries-were stale. Inadequate cereal selection. The fresh fruit was nice, however, and they did have yogurt and hard boiled eggs as well. The room was comfortable, but the lack of air conditioning made it a bit stuffy. To comment on one of the other reviews-it is nice to have the valet parking because you cannot always find street parking; plus, the garage valet parking is safer as well.

I would definitely go back to this hotel, but only if I had the third floor again. It would be really nice if on our return trip sometime, that the bathrooms were remodeled.

Room Tip: Get a 3rd floor room. On a prior visit, we did not, and you could hear people walking above your he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, NC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed here in September 2012 and had a great room...comfortable bed and wonderful view of the ocean. Unfortunately, we were there during a heat wave; temperature was 90 degrees and they have no air conditioning!! The staff was super nice and moved us to a room that didn't get the afternoon sun but it was still uncomfortable trying to sleep. It is evident that more money has been spent on the property (hallways, entrance) than on the rooms. Our shower didn't drain properly (in either room). However, I would definitely stay here again in cooler weather. Just hope rooms get updated soon. I agree with another reviewer, valet parking is totally unnecessary since parking adjoins and is just behind the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I had to write a second review of the Santa Barbara Inn because yet again I am so thrilled with the service and accommodation that we experienced there. First off the front desk staff was friendlier and more helpful then ever. It's so nice to be greeted warmly after the long drive up the coast. The complimentary breakfast was great yet again. We had a very clean room facing the ocean. At night we left the sliding glass door open so we could listen to the crashing waves. While Cabrillo is a busy street during the day, at night we had no problems with noise.
Needless to say I can't wait for our next trip to the SB Inn!!!

Room Tip: Try to get an Ocean view room. It's amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago area
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This is an older property but nicely remodeled. My husband didn't appreciate the fact that it was not air conditioned but I didn't mind. Room was large, very nice bed, linens etc. Valet parking was only $7. per night ,really don't understand why they had a valet at all. The room where continental breakfast was served overlooks the beach - beautiful, but breakfast just cold cereal, toast etc- nothing great. Have to say the staff was fantastic, very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Probably should pay small upgrade for ocean front
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

What a great place! Beautiful recepcao area with comfortable chairs to rest and enjoy the view of the ocean, bike path and palm trees!
From the rooms, you can enjoy the sunset and have a view to the pool and jacuzzi! Righ in front of the hotel, you can get the trolley and have a great experience to go by Cabrillo St (famous street by the beach) an go up to State St (main street) and have an amazing time in downtown Santa Barbara! Ps. It is just 0.50 cents wich way! :) Thank you Santa Barbara Inn!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Santa Barbara Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Barbara Inn

Address: 901 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Santa Barbara Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Santa Barbara Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Barbara Hotel Santa Barbara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Barbara Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.