We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Ocean location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Barbara Inn

Save Saved
You added Santa Barbara Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Santa Barbara Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   901 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103   |  
Hotel amenities
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Perfect Ocean location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Santa Barbara Inn is located across East Beach in Santa Barbara, which gives you perfect access and walking distance to the walkway/bike lane across the street, shuttle stops, restaurants, etc. The staff was very nice, and the lobby welcoming and breezy. The hotel has been recently renovated; however, the bathrooms have not been. The floor tile was cracked, the lighting is terrible, the sink area small, not much mirror, the shower is small, etc. The room itself was very spacious and nicely furnished. Plenty of room to spread out. The breakfast room is on the 3rd floor with huge windows overlooking the ocean. My complaint is the continental breakfast was pretty poor. All the baked goods-muffins and pastries-were stale. Inadequate cereal selection. The fresh fruit was nice, however, and they did have yogurt and hard boiled eggs as well. The room was comfortable, but the lack of air conditioning made it a bit stuffy. To comment on one of the other reviews-it is nice to have the valet parking because you cannot always find street parking; plus, the garage valet parking is safer as well.

I would definitely go back to this hotel, but only if I had the third floor again. It would be really nice if on our return trip sometime, that the bathrooms were remodeled.

Room Tip: Get a 3rd floor room. On a prior visit, we did not, and you could hear people walking above your he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    161
    113
    46
    29
    34
See reviews for
85
159
15
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, NC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed here in September 2012 and had a great room...comfortable bed and wonderful view of the ocean. Unfortunately, we were there during a heat wave; temperature was 90 degrees and they have no air conditioning!! The staff was super nice and moved us to a room that didn't get the afternoon sun but it was still uncomfortable trying to sleep. It is evident that more money has been spent on the property (hallways, entrance) than on the rooms. Our shower didn't drain properly (in either room). However, I would definitely stay here again in cooler weather. Just hope rooms get updated soon. I agree with another reviewer, valet parking is totally unnecessary since parking adjoins and is just behind the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I had to write a second review of the Santa Barbara Inn because yet again I am so thrilled with the service and accommodation that we experienced there. First off the front desk staff was friendlier and more helpful then ever. It's so nice to be greeted warmly after the long drive up the coast. The complimentary breakfast was great yet again. We had a very clean room facing the ocean. At night we left the sliding glass door open so we could listen to the crashing waves. While Cabrillo is a busy street during the day, at night we had no problems with noise.
Needless to say I can't wait for our next trip to the SB Inn!!!

Room Tip: Try to get an Ocean view room. It's amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago area
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This is an older property but nicely remodeled. My husband didn't appreciate the fact that it was not air conditioned but I didn't mind. Room was large, very nice bed, linens etc. Valet parking was only $7. per night ,really don't understand why they had a valet at all. The room where continental breakfast was served overlooks the beach - beautiful, but breakfast just cold cereal, toast etc- nothing great. Have to say the staff was fantastic, very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Probably should pay small upgrade for ocean front
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

What a great place! Beautiful recepcao area with comfortable chairs to rest and enjoy the view of the ocean, bike path and palm trees!
From the rooms, you can enjoy the sunset and have a view to the pool and jacuzzi! Righ in front of the hotel, you can get the trolley and have a great experience to go by Cabrillo St (famous street by the beach) an go up to State St (main street) and have an amazing time in downtown Santa Barbara! Ps. It is just 0.50 cents wich way! :) Thank you Santa Barbara Inn!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idyllwild, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I first want to say, the room was beautiful and the bed very comfortable. I loved everything about the room itself. However, the hotel is situated on Cabrillo, a very busy street, and because there is no A/C in the room (not really necessary on the beach), the windows and slider need to be open. Busy street + open windows = noisy environment. Fortunately, the street quiets down after about 11:00 p.m. and we slept pretty well (could hear the waves crashing once the traffic quieted down). The staff was very pleasant and helpful, and the valet parking was only $7 a day. Woo hoo! It is just too bad the hotel couldnt be situated on the other side of Cabrillo, right on the beach! BTW: not so sure you can find any hotel in this area that doesn't deal with the problem of noise from traffic on Cabrillo.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view room! The balconies and the furniture on them are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollister, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

have stayed several times at santa barbara inn. love the direct access across the street to the beach. you can hear the ocean from room. rooms are clean, great views if you choose one of the suites or we like the pool rooms which glass doors open up to the pool. hot tub open till late. continental breakfast good, valet parking great.. we had the most accomodating valet. if you want to get to restraunts it is a bit of a walk. we usually take a cab much easier. if you want ocean views, quiet than this is the hotel you will want to choose in sb.

Room Tip: suites are a little more expensive but well worth the money.. great views from here
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Santa Barbara Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Barbara Inn

Also Known As:
Santa Barbara Hotel Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Hotel
Address: 901 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Santa Barbara Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Santa Barbara Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Barbara Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.