We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dont use” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sandpiper Lodge

Save Saved
You added Sandpiper Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sandpiper Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3525 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93105   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% off room rate
Ranked #36 of 61 hotels in Santa Barbara
Upland, California
1 review
“dont use”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

have used in the last three years, without problems, on last stayand previous stays doing construction for the city, did not know just how m days wero be used, office would call their office and ask if it would be same price, the girl said yes, and there were not any problems, this last stay, did same routin told same price, when I received bill from credit card company difference prices each time, never on weekends or holidays, called credit card company after no response from Sean, the manager, somehow the information from Sean said I was protesting stays not price, told credit card company it was for different rates, not the one told on the phone, on the last stay sandpiper said they didnot have reservation, had to have sandpiper recheck, found under last name first, and wrong rate, they changed the rate at that night stay, but Sean would not bo back to previous nights, thiswas a total $246 total, since then stayed down the street at competitors without any problems costing sandpiper a total of $3600, not too smart, if you deal with them get it in writing because they have very short memories

Room Tip: ont go to sandpiper lodge in santa barbara, calif
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark R, Owner at Sandpiper Lodge, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
I want to first Thank-you for all the times you have stayed with us in the past,it sounds like your past stays were good and I am happy to hear that. I am sorry if the billing or rates on your last stay was not correct, our rates do change sometimes daily. Please contact us again and ask for my contact info (Mark) if you would still like to talk about the charges, I hope you come back to the Sandpiper Lodge and stay with us again. Thank-you for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    66
    118
    78
    35
    39
See reviews for
91
106
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sonoma, CA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Not knowing Santa Barbara, I left my hotel-fate up to the Hotwire Gods. Their choice... Sandpiper Lodge for $85/night on an early January weekend.

The Sandpiper is a good value for that price. It's a typical U-shaped motel with parking in the center and rooms around the parking lot. My room was on the end so I wasn't bothered by car noise. The water pipe noise from all adjacent rooms however.... pretty loud.

I appreciate having a fridge, coffeemaker, and microwave in the room. The room was comfortable and clean if a bit worn. The bedding was not soft -- a bit scratchy but for the price in a town like Santa Barbara, I should have expected such.

The continental breakfast was pretty good -- tasty pastries and plenty of them. The free wi-fi is a plus as well, though it was a bit slow for my Netflix.

If I was on a budget, I would stay at the Sandpiper again.

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms are directly at the parking lot. 2nd floor rooms may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, Ca
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Very nice hotel for the price. It is away from downtown and away from the beach but only 10 minutes or so. The room was clean, quite and comfortable. The staff was very nice and efficient. The breakfast wasn't much, cold cereal, bananas and some muffins. I would choose this hotel again.

Room Tip: Don't take room 109. It is next to the laundry and they start doing the laundry early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Qld
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Found this hotel on line and decided to take a punt considering the price. Right from check in which was very friendly, quick and organised through to the room being very clean, spacious and good amenities including a microwave. I couldn't fault the place. The price is fantastic and the accommodation can't be faulted. The shower has great water pressure. Only thing I would re-consider would be taking an upstairs room to avoid hearing footsteps above. If given the chance I would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: Go for the upstairs room to avoid hearing people walking around above you
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore City, null, Singapore
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Served online and found this hotel. Read the reviews and decided to book it. We arrived around 4 pm and the check in was quick and pleasant. Joshua who was serving us was meticulous and pleasant. He explained the breakfast, car parking, location of our units clearly. Seldom has I seem such dedication. Well done.

The rooms were spacious and clean. Everything is in order.

The location of the lodge is smack in walking distance to shops, restaurants and amenities. Very convenient.

Love this place.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed here for spring break this year...so nice and clean...coffee was wonderful...looking forward to booking for next spring...location wasnt walking distance for kids...but the is was a short drive to everything

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

At $80 Sandpiper is a great value in Santa Barbara. Our room was clean and spacious, had a flat screen TV, refrigerator, microwave and even a breakfast with excellent pastries. Great shower, with good pressure and hot water. The only downside is the windows are not too soundproof, so one can hear guests rolling their bags by your room late into the night. The buildings surround the parking lot in a U-shape, making access easy and secure, but for some reason, more than a few people here tended to double click their car key, making their horn beep. Not the fault of the property owners. Guests should be more conscientious, especially late at night.
Plenty of restaurants, gas, groceries nearby. But the tourist area of State street is a 5-10 min drive.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark R, Owner at Sandpiper Lodge, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Thank-you for letting us know about your stay, We are always looking for ways to upgrade our property and noise issue are one of the an important part of a good nights sleep. Thank-you for staying with us and I hope you will return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandpiper Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Lodge

Address: 3525 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 61 hotels in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandpiper Lodge 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotel.de, Otel and Venere so you can book your Sandpiper Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Hotel Santa Barbara
Sandpiper Motel Santa Barbara
Sandpiper Santa Barbara
Sandpiper Inn Santa Barbara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandpiper Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.