We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandpiper Lodge

Save Saved
You added Sandpiper Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sandpiper Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3525 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93105   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 25 % On Your Stay!
Ranked #34 of 59 hotels in Santa Barbara
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We found this hotel comfortable. The rooms are dated although spacious and clean. The staff were helpful and friendly.
The lobby area is tastefully decorated, this is where they serve a continental breakfast. The hotel is well located to get on/off the freeway.
The pool area is compact and clean with a heated pool which was nice.

Room Tip: We requested a second floor room so didn't have any noise from people above. I didn't see an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    132
    76
    34
    39
See reviews for
87
102
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Victor Cortez (the manager on duty during my stay) robbed me over $10. We agreed upon a set price. I signed the contract and he overcharged my credit card. He is very rude and extremely crass. Don't waste your time here. The rooms are musty. The bed is hard box spring with lumps. Pillows and sheets are scratchy. Pool is tiny and overcrowded. There is nothing good within walking distance. All restaurants are cheap or shady. the ONLY good thing about the hotel was me leaving.

Room Tip: Don't Choose this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark R, Owner at Sandpiper Lodge, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
I want to Thank-you for taking the time to write a review. If you were over charged please call the hotel and ask for my number and I will be happy to make sure we did not over charge you. Thank-you again for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, NH
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This was a great place to stay. It was very economical for the area. The room was very big and it was clean. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The hotel is located it a great area. Not to far from the resturants and shopping at the other end of State Street. It is not walking distance to the beach but, it is still in the perfect area. I enjoyed it very much. This was the first time we had been to Santa Barbara and I didn't know if I would like it or not. We were in town for a family function.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Welcomed on arrival by reception staff more like what you would find in posh hotel ! Motel grounds clean and well kept. Rooms spacious and clean.Lovely little bakery on corner near motel. While a distance from downtown..you would have to get a taxi..it was in a nice part of state street.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark R, Owner at Sandpiper Lodge, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us Thank-you for taking the time to write a review,we hope to see you on your next visit to Santa Barbara.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

My boyfriend and I just needed a place to stay for a night and the Sandpiper was perfect! It was so affordable and only a ten minute drive to downtown. I've stayed at some affordable places, but the Sandpiper was really clean!!! And that's important. The room was spacious and we even got an extra room attached for no extra charge. A lot of channels, nice tvs. AC worked great. Employees are very friendly!!!

Skip the free breakfast.
My boyfriend thought the bed was a little stiff.

I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Stayed here for two nights on our roadtrip. The room was clean and The pool area was quiet when we spent an afternoon there watching the hummingbirds taking nectar from the flowers.

Downtown is about a 5 minute drive from the motel. The breakfast is adequate. Staff very helpful and friendly

Great place to stay in Santa Barbara.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

This was our first stop on our drive up the coast with three kids. After spending the day visiting missions the kids enjoyed the heated pool. We also loved that we had a king bed with a separate rom with two double beds for the kids. We made the reservation last minute and paid $71 with AAA discount. Continental breakfast saved us money in the morning. The staff at the Sandpiper were all very welcoming. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sandpiper Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Lodge

Address: 3525 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 59 hotels in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandpiper Lodge 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sandpiper Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Hotel Santa Barbara
Sandpiper Motel Santa Barbara
Sandpiper Santa Barbara
Sandpiper Inn Santa Barbara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandpiper Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.