We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Santa Barbara comfort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mason Beach Inn

Save Saved
You added Mason Beach Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mason Beach Inn
324 West Mason Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 59 hotels in Santa Barbara
San Carlos, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Santa Barbara comfort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

My family and I love the Mason for it's location, friendly staff and comfortable feel. We've stayed here several times. The rooms are big and have a comfy feel to them. They are amazingly quiet, even with a full hotel. The suites are perfect for gathering before or after dinner to relax and chat. The pool is great for families, or just sitting and reading. The breakfast is definitely continental - nothing hot, but the pastries are fresh and tasty. Coffee was pretty weak, so needed to get out and go find stronger. Santa Barbara Roasting is the closest.

Room Tip: Suites are on the corners, and a great choice if traveling with family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    76
    23
    12
    10
See reviews for
40
70
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is ideally located. You can walk to the wharf.
The hotel style is nice and the check-in is ver friendly.
The parking is a little small.
Rooms are modern and well equiped. WIFI access is complimentary and the speed is sufficient.
The breakfast is for europeans terrible. The jam is just disgusting, croissants are one day old and 100% industrial. To sum upp, the breakfast offered is the one you will get in most of the hotels in US; no fresh squeezed juice, no fruits, no fresh bred, no true marmelade....

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We love that we can easily park our car (plenty of parking in the lot near our room), and walk everywhere - beach, marina, zoo, wharf and State Street shopping/restaurants. The room was very clean and comfortable, but better chairs to relax in after all the walking would be greatly appreciated (very hard seat and straight back, hardly a chair to take a rest break after much walking around town), beds and pillows were great for sleeping, shower and bathroom was very clean and comfortable, front desk was most friendly, pool and breakfast was nice - also a Sambos restaurant is just down the street for breakfast/lunch. WiFi was only accessible in our room via our laptop - could not pick up the signal with an iPad or iPhone, since it was such a weak signal in our second floor room, but it did work about half way down the hallway. We had a microwave and small refrigerator which were nice additions, and A/C, although a ceiling fan would be nice to just move the air a bit when it's warm in your room from afternoon sun. Floor space was a little tight for three people. Overall, the location was great, the room was clean and comfortable, but I was surprised the room rate is $100 more per night on Fri/Sat, then during week nights - quite a large increase in my opinion. My family enjoyed our stay! :)

Room Tip: Our second floor room was on the end, just up from the parking lot (no view, other than a nice palm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

A couple of friends and myself stayed at Mason Beach last week while traveling up the CA coast. This hotel is in a great location, is clean and comfortable, and Nick was very helpful with information regarding places to eat and walk. I will stay here again if ever in Santa Barbara.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, South Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The hotel was very clean and located on a quiet side street, a nice short walk to the beach and restaurants. The staff was extremely helpful and accommodating. I will definitely refer to friends and visit again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stay at this hotel whenever we visit Santa Barbara. From where we live SB is an easy train ride and MBI in a short walk from the station. The staff is friendly and helpful, rooms are clean and neat. We actually prefer the older, larger rooms between the lobby and pool area; The newer rooms are toward the back of the property on the 1st and 2nd story. The breakfast room in the lobby is a bit small but there is more space outside or you can take items back to your room. The walk through the west beach neighborhood to and from the station is always fun; its a beautiful older part of Santa Barbara.

Room Tip: There is a shuttle from near the train station that takes you through town to upper State St. for .2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Wow! I came to the Mason Beach Inn with my pregnant wife and 2 year old looking for a quiet retreat from the heat and craziness of LA! The Mason Beach Inn did not disappoint.

On the outside the building is charming with nicely attended flowers. Inside, the room was absolutely massive with a really comfortable bed and our room was nicely decorated. In addition, it had the mark of a great hotel: a powerful shower and clean bathroom. I think the TV had HBO and even TWC Sportsnet because we were able to catch some of the LA Galaxy game.

The staff were super pleasant and helpful. The pool area was very clean and a perfect temperature (a bit cold when I first jumped in but warmed up quickly - although I'm from Scotland so maybe have a higher tolerance level!).

We didn't try the breakfast so can't comment on that, but Sambo's restaurant around the corner was great. The location was really good as well - quick access to the beach, restaurants and pier and there is a 7/11 about a block from the hotel.

Price was a fantastic deal as well.

All in all, we were super happy here and can't wait to return!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mason Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mason Beach Inn

Address: 324 West Mason Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#27 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mason Beach Inn is within walking distance of beautiful West Beach and the oceanfront bike path, the Santa Barbara Yacht Harbor, Stearns Wharf, and the shops and restaurants on beautiful State Street in downtown. Santa Barbara’s world-class golf courses and renowned wineries are just minutes away.45 Well-appointed guest rooms, suites all non-smoking Year round heated swimming pool and SpaDeluxe continental breakfast Winter monthly and weekly rates available Complimentary wireless Internet service Front Desk Available 24 hrsMultilingual staff ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Mason Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mason Beach Hotel Santa Barbara
Mason Beach Santa Barbara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mason Beach Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.