We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice stop for one night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mason Beach Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Mason Beach Inn to your Saves list
Mason Beach Inn
324 West Mason Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 54 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A nice stop for one night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is ideally located. You can walk to the wharf.
The hotel style is nice and the check-in is ver friendly.
The parking is a little small.
Rooms are modern and well equiped. WIFI access is complimentary and the speed is sufficient.
The breakfast is for europeans terrible. The jam is just disgusting, croissants are one day old and 100% industrial. To sum upp, the breakfast offered is the one you will get in most of the hotels in US; no fresh squeezed juice, no fruits, no fresh bred, no true marmelade....

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    92
    28
    13
    11
See reviews for
46
86
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We love that we can easily park our car (plenty of parking in the lot near our room), and walk everywhere - beach, marina, zoo, wharf and State Street shopping/restaurants. The room was very clean and comfortable, but better chairs to relax in after all the walking would be greatly appreciated (very hard seat and straight back, hardly a chair to take a rest break after much walking around town), beds and pillows were great for sleeping, shower and bathroom was very clean and comfortable, front desk was most friendly, pool and breakfast was nice - also a Sambos restaurant is just down the street for breakfast/lunch. WiFi was only accessible in our room via our laptop - could not pick up the signal with an iPad or iPhone, since it was such a weak signal in our second floor room, but it did work about half way down the hallway. We had a microwave and small refrigerator which were nice additions, and A/C, although a ceiling fan would be nice to just move the air a bit when it's warm in your room from afternoon sun. Floor space was a little tight for three people. Overall, the location was great, the room was clean and comfortable, but I was surprised the room rate is $100 more per night on Fri/Sat, then during week nights - quite a large increase in my opinion. My family enjoyed our stay! :)

Room Tip: Our second floor room was on the end, just up from the parking lot (no view, other than a nice palm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

A couple of friends and myself stayed at Mason Beach last week while traveling up the CA coast. This hotel is in a great location, is clean and comfortable, and Nick was very helpful with information regarding places to eat and walk. I will stay here again if ever in Santa Barbara.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The hotel was very clean and located on a quiet side street, a nice short walk to the beach and restaurants. The staff was extremely helpful and accommodating. I will definitely refer to friends and visit again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stay at this hotel whenever we visit Santa Barbara. From where we live SB is an easy train ride and MBI in a short walk from the station. The staff is friendly and helpful, rooms are clean and neat. We actually prefer the older, larger rooms between the lobby and pool area; The newer rooms are toward the back of the property on the 1st and 2nd story. The breakfast room in the lobby is a bit small but there is more space outside or you can take items back to your room. The walk through the west beach neighborhood to and from the station is always fun; its a beautiful older part of Santa Barbara.

Room Tip: There is a shuttle from near the train station that takes you through town to upper State St. for .2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Wow! I came to the Mason Beach Inn with my pregnant wife and 2 year old looking for a quiet retreat from the heat and craziness of LA! The Mason Beach Inn did not disappoint.

On the outside the building is charming with nicely attended flowers. Inside, the room was absolutely massive with a really comfortable bed and our room was nicely decorated. In addition, it had the mark of a great hotel: a powerful shower and clean bathroom. I think the TV had HBO and even TWC Sportsnet because we were able to catch some of the LA Galaxy game.

The staff were super pleasant and helpful. The pool area was very clean and a perfect temperature (a bit cold when I first jumped in but warmed up quickly - although I'm from Scotland so maybe have a higher tolerance level!).

We didn't try the breakfast so can't comment on that, but Sambo's restaurant around the corner was great. The location was really good as well - quick access to the beach, restaurants and pier and there is a 7/11 about a block from the hotel.

Price was a fantastic deal as well.

All in all, we were super happy here and can't wait to return!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Great location, nice and quiet with a good pool. Only negative is breakfast isn't great but Sambo's restaurant is around the corner and they do a fantastic breakfast. Plenty of parking and easy walking distance of the Pier and State Street. There is a 711 on Castillo which is turn right out of the Mason.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mason Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mason Beach Inn

Address: 324 West Mason Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#22 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mason Beach Inn is within walking distance of beautiful West Beach and the oceanfront bike path, the Santa Barbara Yacht Harbor, Stearns Wharf, and the shops and restaurants on beautiful State Street in downtown. Santa Barbara’s world-class golf courses and renowned wineries are just minutes away.45 Well-appointed guest rooms, suites all non-smoking Year round heated swimming pool and SpaDeluxe continental breakfast Winter monthly and weekly rates available Complimentary wireless Internet service Front Desk Available 24 hrsMultilingual staff ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Mason Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mason Beach Hotel Santa Barbara
Mason Beach Santa Barbara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mason Beach Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.