We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mason Beach Inn

Save Saved
You added Mason Beach Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mason Beach Inn
324 West Mason Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 59 hotels in Santa Barbara
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Pretty average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The front desk staff were friendly and helpful, and there's a good supply of brochures etc about Sta Barbara. We only stayed one night, but my impression is of a pretty average hotel. The pool was closed for cleaning when we wanted to have breakfast on the deck. Breakfast, as mentioned by other reviewers, was just a continental breakfast, and we couldn't find a comfortable place to eat it, as there were a lot of people before us.
The room was fine, and the bed was comfortable. The elevators smelled of mouldy carpet, but the room didn't have any bad smell. The wifi was a bonus. We also liked the proximity to the beach. For the price we paid, I don't think we got good value - but then again we couldn't find better value anywhere nearby.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    76
    23
    12
    10
See reviews for
40
70
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Pool and hot tub were very nice. Two nights and one full day in Santa Barbara was one of the best days of my life. The marina and pier were wonderful and State Street is never ending shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: all rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Small room was clean, free wifi, the included breakfast is very bad muffins, coffee, etc, pretty common fare. Well maintained pool. 2 short blocks from beach. Bad soundproofing, shower upstairs sounded like a war zone.

Room Tip: Try for an upstairs room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Nice spacious rooms - and quiet.
Ok breakfast.
The pier, the habor and the beach is within walking distance.
Expensive at weekends.
Situated in a street without street lighting, and a very cozy area at night.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed at the Inn for three nights.
There were good and bad things about the Inn, but basically it was not a good value for several reasons.
The continental breakfast was a sham. A very small breakfast room, cold cereal, juice, some stale biscuits, and coffee.
The elevator smelled of mold (carpeted). The hallways had old, dirty carpeting.
The motel is very old and it needs to be updated. All of the pictures in the hallways are totally faded.
The TV's are CRT's. Our room did not have a "fridge" or microwave.
On the plus side, the staff was very nice..
On the negative side, the Inn is a poor value (considering the price). ...even tho Santa Barbara is a great location (We lived there for five years).

Room Tip: Ask for a "fridge" and microwave. The traffic is not that bad, since the Inn is not on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodside, California
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We were not impressed with the place. The room was a suite off to the side, and it was loud late and early. Some people arrived late and had a difficult time parking (the lot was pretty full) and bumped into an adjacent car trying to squeak in. They were loud before that happened, it was a mess, and right outside our window. The management made no apologies to us. It was certainly not as comfortable as we like. The pool was fine, but it's surrounded by walls, a bit claustrophobic. We won't be returning.

Room Tip: Don't get 121 -- you'll hear every car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Jackson (I think that was his name) was an amazing host on our first night at this hotel. When my husband and I arrived it was just before fourth of july and we had a million questions and needed a million things as we had never been to Santa Barbara. This young, fresh faced, hotel receptionist helped us with all of it... with a smile to top it off. I can't say much about the rest of the staff except "meh" but if they hired a whole team of jacksons they'd be an amazing hotel.
The front area was cute, breakfast was very basic, location was perfect, room was clean, water pressure was low. Overall, very good for the price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mason Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mason Beach Inn

Address: 324 West Mason Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#27 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mason Beach Inn is within walking distance of beautiful West Beach and the oceanfront bike path, the Santa Barbara Yacht Harbor, Stearns Wharf, and the shops and restaurants on beautiful State Street in downtown. Santa Barbara’s world-class golf courses and renowned wineries are just minutes away.45 Well-appointed guest rooms, suites all non-smoking Year round heated swimming pool and SpaDeluxe continental breakfast Winter monthly and weekly rates available Complimentary wireless Internet service Front Desk Available 24 hrsMultilingual staff ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Mason Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mason Beach Hotel Santa Barbara
Mason Beach Santa Barbara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mason Beach Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.