We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lemon Tree Inn

Save Saved
You added Lemon Tree Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lemon Tree Inn
2819 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93105   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 60 hotels in Santa Barbara
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed here in April 2013. The hotel is well located, clean and hospitable. The service is excellent, the rooms are spacious and contemporary and the pool area is large with lots of sunbeds. The restaurant is smart and the food is great.
During our stay, some young guys on leave for the week-end checked in late and woke everyone up. The noise was bad. However, the hotel reacted very well and discounted rooms for those affected. They could not have been more apologetic and I would definitely not let this put you off staying here.
My only criticism is that room service and the restaurant closed at 9.30 which was early for us and we didn't get to eat dinner. Breakfast was wonderful and overall the value was good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    112
    50
    17
    26
See reviews for
82
74
8
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This is an older motel 1960s that has had some renovations. We booked a room with 2 beds, and it took a couple of room changes to finally get a room with 2 queen beds. Our downstairs room was spacious with a slider that opened to the large heated saline pool and large hydo-spa. The property was well maintained.

The beds were comfortable. There was no closet, but an open shelved area with a coffee pot, and another area for hanging garments. Think California closet set up. There were 2 sinks one outside the toilet and tub area, and another in the tub area. This was very convenient for a family, and really helped us get going in the morning.

I walked a little ways to a CVS pharmacy and there were a couple of restaurants withing walking distance.

We however drove to Super Cuca's Taqueria after reading a review on trip advisor and we were so happy that we did...The Burritos were massive and the food delicious. See my review on trip advisor. Super Cuca's Taqueria: Massive Burritos & More

I can also recommend Fresco on State street for excellent food with a varied menu that has something for everyone.

The hotel is an easy walk to the Mission, and I really enjoyed the walk. So if you are so inclined leave the car behind, and get some exercise.

Santa Barbara Museum History 0.6
Mission Santa Barbara 0.6
Oak Park .07

Oak parks offers beautiful trees, public tennis courts, 2 playgrounds, and a wading pool for youth age seven and younger -open May-September with an on-duty lifeguard.

The fitness room is functionless, so getting out and walking is advised for some cardio if you stay for more than a few days.

Free in- room wi-fi
coffee pot

Room Tip: In the back away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

All rooms face the lovely pool and garden. Nice large room, two queens, with plenty of space. The room was for two adults and teen. It had been made up for two, but within a few minutes of my call to front desk, housekeeping was there to provide towels, etc for four. We stayed two nights over spring break and arrived in two cars, due to last minute work requirements. Plenty of space for the second car. A few miles from downtown, but easy to navigate since it's straight on State Street. Not far from 101 or the Mission either. About 4-5 miles from the harbour and beachers.

Good value for the money for Santa Barbara. While not the Ritz, our room seemed to have been remodeled and was a pleasant surprise. Older bathroom, but camp and very functional. It had the typical divided toilet and full bath/shower from large sink, but there was an additional pedestial sink inside the bathroom. Hair dryer,iron, ironing board, laptop size safe, and small coffee / tea set complete the room. True the towels are thin, but they are abundant.

About 15 minutes or so from UCSB, where we were visiting as well.

Room Tip: Rooms on the sides away from the streets are quietest. Second floor or third on one half will have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camano Island, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

The room was away from the main traffic street on the first floor, which was fine.. The bed was better than average. Restaurant was average although the wait staff seemed a little sketchy, i.e., not well trained. Everything was alright until 4:50 in the morning when my new next-door neighbors rolled in--two young women who must have thought that this was the normal arrival time as they talked loudly for an hour, went out to their outdoor patio and continued the conversation at which point I got up, showered and left, but not before expressing my opinion regarding their behavior. The walls were so thin, I could hear almost every word. What a great start for an eight day road trip up the coast to Washington !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBINNKEEPER, General Manager at Lemon Tree Inn, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear cjmbp1943, Thank you for your positive remarks. We deeply regret your bad luck with an inconsiderate neighbor. We welcome the opportunity to make your next stay a more comfortable and memorable one.
Lemon Tree Inn
Santa Barbara, California
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesowen
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The Lemon Tree does not look like much from the outside but all rooms face inward to a pleasant central area with palm trees and a pool. The rooms with two bouble beds we used were clean and well presented - but very uncomfortable to sleep on. We used the restaurant but as we were a party of 6 adults 4 children were asked to only pick 3 items from the menu and received what can only be described as minimal service. On the whole the hotel was much better than expected.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBINNKEEPER, Manager at Lemon Tree Inn, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you had a great stay. We are sorry about the limitations offered to your menu choices in the Crocodile Restaurant. Our meals are prepared from scratch and with a group of 10 our staff may offer the limitation as an option to prevent a long wait time for simultaneous meal presentation. On your next visit please call ahead and we will be happy to make special preparations for your group. Once again, thank you for recognizing our Hotel with your kind observations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We arrived Santa Barbara late on Saturday. All the Hotels from Goleta to Santa Barbara had their "no vacancy" signs up. We eventually found a "not quite right place", with a "vacancy" sign up, but fortunately another guy got the room just before us.

Fortunately because it caused us to continue on, to the next one, the Lemon Tree Inn.

Clean sheets, modern industrial looking but very comfortable rooms just what we needed. The inn faces into a tranquil central park with facilities.

A great place to overnight or if you are in Santa Barbara on business.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBINNKEEPER, Manager at Lemon Tree Inn, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for your positive review of our Hotel. We are located in the heart of Santa Barbara so Northbound or Southbound travelers both have to be lucky enough to drive past many other motels to find us. Our location has been accommodating travelers as a motel since the 1920s and as the Lemon Tree since 1960. We are constantly improving our amenities and adding services so we hope you will stay with us again or check out our new websites to see what is new. Our restaurant is getting rave reviews from locals..Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed two days in the back section of the hotel on the second floor. The hotel was obviously built much earlier and remodeled in some areas. The pool was clean, the jacuzzi nice and hot and the staff was very friendly and helpful. I booked online (not on the hotel website) which made the price cheaper than most other hotels in SB of similar value. We're a family of 5, and while I didn't need to ask for a rollaway since we bought 2 rooms based on the price, you could easily fit a rollaway in the double bed rooms. The beds where comfortable and clean. When traveling we usually stay at HIE so if you like their beds, these beds and pillow are a cut below that level. The redeeming quality of the bathroom is the pressure of the water and nice hot water. These bathrooms are older- fun tile color, but old school. Soap amenities where average- nothing extra there. Towels are plentiful (you can ask for extras without the feeling like someone is keeping track of you), but not soft at all. Hotel internet is free and worked well. We didn't eat in the restaurant- actually I would consider it a crime to eat in most hotel restaurants in SB as there are SOOO many excellent restaurants in SB. We didn't use the AC or heat either, but when I turned it on it made average noise- not horrible, but not quiet either. For the price we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lemon Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lemon Tree Inn

Address: 2819 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93105
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 60 hotels in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic neo-60s Inn in the Center of Paradise. Set on a Tropical 4 acres, Modern Guest Rooms with Private Patios or Balconies face our Lush one acre Courtyard with Giant Heated Swimming Pool and Hydro-Spa. Guest love our Crocodile Restaurant and Bar which features Californian style Italian Cuisine with something for every appetite. Dine in our Chic Dining Room or at our Cool Bar, on our Tropical patio or enjoy private In-Room Dining. Our Full-Bar features an extensive Wine List, Great local Draughts, Traditional and Exotic Cocktails.Spacious Guest Rooms feature comfortable Beds, Sony Flat Panel TVs, In-Rooms safes, In-Room Coffee. We Offer Pool-Side Rooms, Garden and Mountain View rooms and Atrium rooms...all accessable by Elevator.The Lemon Tree has Meeting Space and offers full In-House Licensed catering for all types of events.Our Friendly 24 Hour Front Desk Staff is eager to welcome you to the Lemon Tree Inn and Beautiful Santa Barbara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Lemon Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lemon Tree Hotel Santa Barbara
Lemon Tree Santa Barbara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lemon Tree Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.