We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel/motel - basic but great value.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lemon Tree Inn

Save Saved
You added Lemon Tree Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lemon Tree Inn
2819 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93105   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 60 hotels in Santa Barbara
London, UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel/motel - basic but great value.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night on road trip from LA to San Francisco. A fairly basic mid-century hotel/motel, but well maintained and lovingly restored/refurbished to a very good standard.

Room was well maintained and good quality. Bed was comfortable and perfectly adequate.

We ate in the restaurant in the evening, which was good. Staff were very helpful and friendly at all times.

Great value for money, would recommend to all.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBINNKEEPER, Manager at Lemon Tree Inn, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear kobebryantLDN,

Thank you for your excellent review! Our team strives to impress and I thank you on their behalf.

Our Crocodile Restaurant and Bar is a great find for travellers, we are happy you had the opportunity to enjoy the great food and friendly service.

We look forward to your next visit..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    115
    52
    19
    27
See reviews for
86
77
8
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Krakow, Poland
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
127 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Good choice for budget travellers, nice and celan property with really friendly staff. The location is quiet but not within walking distance of major attractions and beaches in Santa Barbara. Nice pool area. My room was OK, quite modern and very clean, the bathroom same. The food in the restaurannt was top quiality and fresh.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We had the King Jacuzzi Deluxe room. The Jacuzzi isn't worth to write anything about (It's just a bath) but the room itself is big, nice decorated and very clean with a nice balcony overlooking the garden. In the room you have a comfortable kingsize bed TV, coffee/tea making and safe. There's no fridge or microwave and the fridge I really missed during my stay.
The swimming pool is really nice place to relax and feels with the palm trees like a little oases.
The check inn was quick and adequate and parking is not a problem.
It;s very good value for your money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

The Lemon Tree Inn does not look like much from the outside, but the rooms are big and each room backs up to an adorable, spacious courtyard with lemon trees, a pool and hot tub. The first floor rooms have an outdoor space for eating or drinking coffee in the morning. Other reviewers mentioned the thin walls, but we didn't have any issues, but I think the rooms on either side may have been empty. The rooms are spacious and clean and the beds are comfortable. We had dinner at the Crocodile Cafe which was very good and convenient! Did not realize there was a fitness center - would have used it had we known.

Pros: Pool and hot tub; big rooms; free wi-fi; spacious vanity area - separated from the toilet and shower; flat screen TV; good restaurant on-site; super cute courtyard; friendly staff.

Cons: Small, thin towels - could have used an extra towel or two in the room to use for the pool.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So Cal
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I had booked this hotel on short notice and had wanted a fairly inexpensive option that was close to downtown Santa Barbara. I stay in Santa Barbara for work sometimes and knew that State Street led directly into the heart of town so that was what I based which place I should stay at. It was a great price compared to other hotels in the area and I knew it wasn’t a high end hotel.

My friend and I had arrived extremely late and the night hotel employees were friendly, checked us in quickly, and gave us quick hotel information.

We had booked a two queen room and the room itself was quite large. The décor is what I would consider “modern” but the outside of the hotel is very retro. No fridge that I could see but there was a safe, an iron, a hair dryer, and a coffee maker. The hotel internet worked really well which made me very happy and the beds were decent to sleep on. Our room overlooked the pool area and it looked very clean and well-maintained.

I will say however, the walls are terribly thin. My friend and I had decided to sleep in the next day but were woken up by our neighbors’ loud talking through the walls. There seems to be a lot of spiders hanging out in the hotel and some came to visit us in our room but I attribute that to Santa Barbara being more bug friendly due to the climate.

I ran up and down State Street when I was there because I didn’t think there was a workout room but I did happen to walk by it on the last day after my run. Also, I was terribly thirsty after running and had gone to the lobby to ask if they had a water fountain and the front desk employee went to the on-site restaurant and got me a cup of water instead. I thought it was a very nice gesture.

Overall, I liked the staff and hotel location but the rooms needed improvement in terms of sound-proofing. Easy to drive to and from but a long walk from downtown.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I was very surprised to find the Lemon Tree Inn. It is both affordable and a great retreat with lovely pool, hot tubs and a great little restaurant with surprisingly good food. I had an injury and could not stay on our boat, so the manager found me a great room with a private patio and in this case thankfully close to the ice machine. I had everything I could need and didn't have to leave!
In fact I would go back to the Restaurant for dinner, even if I were not staying there! Now that is something!
Thanks for such great comfort and service!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Just spent last Friday & Saturday in SB for a wedding. Suggested hotels were $350+ per night. Lemon Tree got great Trip Advisor reviews for half the price, so we booked. Very clean, fantastically remodeled 1950's motel. Room appointments, free parking & wifi (that worked), close to State St, etc. The BIG PLUS here: the pool area was spectacular! Our ground floor room opened onto a small lanai with a nice outdoor table & two chairs. The walkway off our lanai led us to the generous salt water pool, twenty feet from our room! Plenty of lounge chairs & tables w/umbrellas, ice machine twenty steps away. Late afternoon sun, after walking State St in the AM. Reasonably priced beverages from the on site Crocodile Cafe & Bar. Best deal in SB. We will return.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms all had great lanai's, with your own table & two chairs, and are step...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lemon Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lemon Tree Inn

Address: 2819 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93105
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 60 hotels in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic neo-60s Inn in the Center of Paradise. Set on a Tropical 4 acres, Modern Guest Rooms with Private Patios or Balconies face our Lush one acre Courtyard with Giant Heated Swimming Pool and Hydro-Spa. Guest love our Crocodile Restaurant and Bar which features Californian style Italian Cuisine with something for every appetite. Dine in our Chic Dining Room or at our Cool Bar, on our Tropical patio or enjoy private In-Room Dining. Our Full-Bar features an extensive Wine List, Great local Draughts, Traditional and Exotic Cocktails.Spacious Guest Rooms feature comfortable Beds, Sony Flat Panel TVs, In-Rooms safes, In-Room Coffee. We Offer Pool-Side Rooms, Garden and Mountain View rooms and Atrium rooms...all accessable by Elevator.The Lemon Tree has Meeting Space and offers full In-House Licensed catering for all types of events.Our Friendly 24 Hour Front Desk Staff is eager to welcome you to the Lemon Tree Inn and Beautiful Santa Barbara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Lemon Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lemon Tree Hotel Santa Barbara
Lemon Tree Santa Barbara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lemon Tree Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.