We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consider other hotels in the area.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Harbor View Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Harbor View Inn to your Saves list
Harbor View Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   28 W Cabrillo Blvd, Santa Barbara, CA 93101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 10% - 30%
Ranked #14 of 53 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A TripAdvisor Member
“Consider other hotels in the area.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2005

Avoid the rooms with patio views of the ocean. Employees come and go from a room on the corridor and so you hear doors slamming.

We called the front desk because heating provided only cold air. An hour later called again and they finally responded. They could not resolve the problem and so provided a space heater and a discount. The next evening we had heat, but the heat did not turn off and thermostat seemed to have no affect. The only choice was to manually turn the heat off and on.

A room service charge was applied to our account that was not our charge. We called and asked about it. We were told that they would call back. They called back after a while and said would have resolution and call back in twenty minutes. Never heard from them, but charge was finally removed.

Other reviews on this site rave about the service. We did not see it. We will not stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    324
    91
    31
    28
See reviews for
208
428
20
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2005

My girlfriend and I spent Valentine's weekend at the Harbor View and were impressed by our spacious luxury king room with two balconies and a great view of the ocean. We did notice that there were few rooms with a view of the ocean, and we were fortunate to apparently have one of the best of the few. The fixtures were modern, the bed was comfortable, and the housekeeping and room service were fantastic. I unknowingly received a promotional rate and was not aware the AAA discount was not applicable because of it. The front desk clerk was rather smug about this, and made me feel ignorant and less than for even mentioning it. Whatever, you work there buddy, I don't. We won't be going back, but overall it was a nice experience and I would recommend this hotel (Room 240) to anyone looking to visit Santa Barbara.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2005

Staff there is top-notch, they really understand that a little bit of extra attention makes a hotel stay a life-time memory. Rooms were spacious, clean, and the "build" was excellent, best I've seen in a hotel room so far (no annoyances like shallow bath-tub, cheap carpentry, etc). In order to have a view of the beach, hotel is right up against a busy street (some noisy motorcycle traffic), which makes it difficult to enjoy open doors to balcony at night, but the sliding glass doors are state-of-the-art and block out all noise. Among the fifty or so hotels I've stayed at in the $200-$500 price range, these guys certainly are in the top five.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2005

Just spent 2 night romantic get-away in Santa Barbara at HVI and despite the rainy weather, we had an incredible time. The staff was very courteous and helpful and the room was really clean. The location was great and we would definitely stay at this hotel the next time in SBA. It may not be as sophisticated as a 4 star hotel, but it was a good find.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2005

I've stayed at the Harbor View Inn twice. The rooms are very spacious, comfortable, well furnished, and quiet. The hotel is in a good location, and service is reasonably good. However, this property has more of the feel of a very upscale motel than a 4-star hotel.

The exercise room is tiny and some of the equipment is rather worn. The restaurant is very expensive, with a pretentious menu that is short on healthful choices. Fortunately, there is a wide selection of other restaurants within walking distance. A good breakfast choice is Sambo's, which is only a block and a half away.

During our most recent visit there were several power failures overnight owing to a heavy rain and wind storm. Each power failure set off the fire alarms making sleeping difficult. It took the staff several hours to fix this problem, and no offer of compensation was made.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2004

I felt like I was visiting family, or in my own home. This hotel was the highlight of our trip, with a wonderful location, huge rooms, and hospitality that made me want to stay forever. You can walk to everything, then relax in your room or visit the restaurant. I cannot recommend it highly enough. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed May 2002
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2004

Arrived prior to check-in, but was invited to try the on-site restaurant for lunch. It was a very satisfying meal. The room was large and well equipped, but lighting was inadequate. The outdoor tile walkways and nearby handicapped elevator created some unwelcome noise, but not too objectionable.

The staff was attentive and offerred good advice regarding restaurants and day excursions. The Inn was very conveniently located and rates were reasonable for Santa Barbara, which is unusually expensive (at least for lodging). I would definitely stay here again on any subsequent visit to Santa Barbara.

Don't miss the view of the area from the top of the County Courthouse, nor the Santa Barbara Mission...both are must see.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbor View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor View Inn

Address: 28 W Cabrillo Blvd, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#7 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#9 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#19 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbor View Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Santa Barbara's premier 4-Diamond boutique oceanfront hotel. Centrally located to the beach, downtown shops, restaurants, museums and attractions. Enjoy all of our wonderful amenities which include heated pool and jacuzzi, Full service Spa,room service, gift shop, fitness center, coffee bar and restaurant, Eladio's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Harbor View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor View Hotel Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Santa Barbara
Harbor View Inn Santa Barbara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbor View Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.