We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great position on the beachfront” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harbor View Inn

Save Saved
You added Harbor View Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Harbor View Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   28 W Cabrillo Blvd, Santa Barbara, CA 93101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
3 NIGHT STAY SPA SPECIAL
Ranked #11 of 59 hotels in Santa Barbara
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great position on the beachfront”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed two nights in July with two rooms overlooking the pool and across the beach to the ocean. We had adjacent rooms, which we had requested, so that our teenagers were next door to us. From arrival all the way through our stay the front desk were incredibly pleasant and helpful giving us some good advice and assistance with making bookings and suggesting what to see and do during our short stay in Santa Barbara. We had a hire car and there was plentiful parking in the grounds of the hotel with much of it shaded which was helpful. Our rooms were good sized and the Molton Brown products in the large bathrooms were a nice touch. The pool, whilst not huge, has good space around it so you can relax either close to the water or in a quieter spot further away. The pool bar shuts slightly early at 5pm but otherwise we had no issues with anything and would happily stop off here again if we are in Santa Barbara.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool and facing the ocean are worth paying the extra for
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    352
    255
    71
    28
    26
See reviews for
151
339
18
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We decided to end our tour of California with four days in Santa Barbara and booked the Harbor View Inn. We could not have been more pleased with our stay there.

From check in to check out the staff were courteous and efficient, making sure our stay was perfect. We were given room 312, which we found out is the most requested room in the hotel. We could see why this would be the case as the room is very large, with a huge balcony looking out over the hotel pool and the beach/marina. It is like a small penthouse. House services kept this room and it's large bathroom spotlessly clean. On mornings when we had a lay in, house services came back later to make our room up with no fuss.

The hotel has a small pool/spa complex with waiter service for drinks and lunch, there are also nice gardens with sun loungers. There is also a gym and our room has an ice machine outside the door.

We normally ate breakfast at the Eladio's, which is part of the hotel. The Scrambled Salmon Tower was the best breakfast we had in all of our trip.

The hotel is perfectly located. Stearn's Wharf Pier is opposite, the marina with its nice bars and restaurants is a 5 minute walk State Street (the main area for bars and restaurants) is next to the hotel. The best restaurant we found was Toma and this is a 2 minute walk along the beach front (well worth visit!!).

We were very sorry to leave the hotel and would recommend it to anyone looking for some chilled relaxation on the California Riviera. Ask for room 312!!

Room Tip: Room 312 is the best in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Attending a recent wedding in Santa Barbara, I stayed 6 nights at the Harbor View Inn which I had selected from internet advertising and talking with management. My room was clean, spacious and had a lovely balcony overlooking the beach and ocean with a view of both the pier to the left, and the marina to the right. It was so nice, that my friends would meet me at my room to have cocktails on the balcony before we left for dinner. I could walk the beach or to nearby restaurants and shops. The staff was attentive and friendly. I had rented a car and hardly used it. It would be my hotel of choice on a repeat stay. It was just what I wanted.....Linda O

Room Tip: Third floor rooms have cathedral ceilings for a very spacious feel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESSEX
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights. Located right on the beach front in view of the pier.
Rooms are fantastic, lots of space with a view of the ocean and the pool. Would definately stay here again.Our room had two small balconies, one to the side and one overlooking the pool.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed at the Harbor View for 5 nights and just loved the place. We had a sea-view room overlooking the pool and it was excellent. Well equipped and with a bed we really liked plus a small balcony to drink "sun-downers" - what more could one want. The pool and hot tub area was cleaned every day and set in very well kept gardens. The adjoining restaurant was in keeping with the high standards of the hotel producing excellent food in quite large quantities. What really made this such a pleasant stay was the friendliness of all the staff. Yes I would definitely stay here again WHEN we return to Santa Barbara.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHEFFIELD
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This hotel has it all, fabulous rooms, large comfortable beds, fantastic bathrooms. The staff are friendly and helpful, the car parking is ample. The location is across the road from the beach and pier. We mistakenly only stayed the one night on our trip south, a big mistake, at least two would be much better. You can catch a bus around the corner to 'Downtown' which again is a class act for the shoppers. There is a café/restaurant adjoining the hotel which is great to be able to sit in the garden eating breakfast or lunch. Will definitely stay again if given the opportunity.

Room Tip: If you can upgrade to a sea view do it, we had a 'partial' which was ground floor, it was fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

The Harbor View is in a great location, has everything you expect a good hotel to have. The staff are really friendly and make you feel welcome. Parking was $10/night, and was in the back of the hotel. The hotel has a coffee shop and bar/restaurant next door which patrons get 10% off at. Rooms were a good size, with a mini bar and safe and the hotel was clean and tidy. My only criticism was that the bed was on the soft side (I personally like a hard mattress). We had a great stay and I would have loved to stay longer than the two nights we stayed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Harbor View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor View Inn

Also Known As:
Harbor View Hotel Santa Barbara
Harbor View Hotel
Santa Barbara Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Santa Barbara
Harbor View Inn Santa Barbara
Address: 28 W Cabrillo Blvd, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#6 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#7 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#11 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbor View Inn 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Santa Barbara's premier 4-Diamond boutique oceanfront hotel. Centrally located to the beach, downtown shops, restaurants, museums and attractions. Enjoy all of our wonderful amenities which include heated pool and jacuzzi, Full service Spa,room service, gift shop, fitness center, coffee bar and restaurant, Eladio's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, T4B, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Harbor View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbor View Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.