We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harbor View Inn

Save Saved
You added Harbor View Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harbor View Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   28 W Cabrillo Blvd, Santa Barbara, CA 93101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
AWARD WINNING HOTEL
Ranked #12 of 59 hotels in Santa Barbara
ESSEX
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights. Located right on the beach front in view of the pier.
Rooms are fantastic, lots of space with a view of the ocean and the pool. Would definately stay here again.Our room had two small balconies, one to the side and one overlooking the pool.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    370
    263
    74
    29
    27
See reviews for
160
356
18
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed at the Harbor View for 5 nights and just loved the place. We had a sea-view room overlooking the pool and it was excellent. Well equipped and with a bed we really liked plus a small balcony to drink "sun-downers" - what more could one want. The pool and hot tub area was cleaned every day and set in very well kept gardens. The adjoining restaurant was in keeping with the high standards of the hotel producing excellent food in quite large quantities. What really made this such a pleasant stay was the friendliness of all the staff. Yes I would definitely stay here again WHEN we return to Santa Barbara.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHEFFIELD
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This hotel has it all, fabulous rooms, large comfortable beds, fantastic bathrooms. The staff are friendly and helpful, the car parking is ample. The location is across the road from the beach and pier. We mistakenly only stayed the one night on our trip south, a big mistake, at least two would be much better. You can catch a bus around the corner to 'Downtown' which again is a class act for the shoppers. There is a café/restaurant adjoining the hotel which is great to be able to sit in the garden eating breakfast or lunch. Will definitely stay again if given the opportunity.

Room Tip: If you can upgrade to a sea view do it, we had a 'partial' which was ground floor, it was fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

The Harbor View is in a great location, has everything you expect a good hotel to have. The staff are really friendly and make you feel welcome. Parking was $10/night, and was in the back of the hotel. The hotel has a coffee shop and bar/restaurant next door which patrons get 10% off at. Rooms were a good size, with a mini bar and safe and the hotel was clean and tidy. My only criticism was that the bed was on the soft side (I personally like a hard mattress). We had a great stay and I would have loved to stay longer than the two nights we stayed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel nice size rooms and very comfy bed. The rooms have a atrium the adjoins the other rooms. The hotel is right across from the beach! Very close to shopping amd restaurants.Parking is very convient with covering.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Arrived at Harbor View as we made our way down the coast, very easy to find and a great location. The hotel is on the main road running along the sea front very close to the pier and harbour. The views out the front of the hotel are great! Not only is the hotel ideally positioned for the beach and sea front the main street where many of the shops and restaurants are situated is just around the corner within easy walking distance. The reception was very busy when we used it and would appear somewhat under-staffed however the staff were friendly and helpful. We didn't eat at the hotel as there's such a great choice locally. Our room was very large with huge comfy bed, the only downside was the slightly avocado colour decor throughout which felt like it needed updating however wouldn't let this put me off staying again!

Room Tip: We had room 329, it has 2 balconies, one to the front and side - was beautifully light, airy and spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed at the Harbor View Inn for 1 night in August. Santa Barbara is absolutely beautiful, it’s a shame we only got to spend 1 night there. The hotel is very clean and the staff are helpful. The room was very large with a separate dressing area and a large balcony. We didn't pay for a view ad therefore got a view of the car park which was unfortunate.

The swimming pool area is ideal, a large swimming pool, whirlpool and plenty on sun beds. There is a small pool-side bar but we did not use this. There is also a small gym with a few machines in (though it is quite basic).

The hotel is right on the sea front. The pier is just over the road and the walk into the town (where most of the bars and restaurants are located) is only 10-15 minutes - there is also a shuttle service that they inform you about at reception. Parking was $10 for the 24 hours which was not unreasonable.

The negative - the wifi connection is poor, especially if you have an apple product. We could only get signal in the lobby area.

Room Tip: If you can afford the extra for a view, the view of the Harbour would have been very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Harbor View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor View Inn

Address: 28 W Cabrillo Blvd, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#5 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#6 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbor View Inn 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Santa Barbara's premier 4-Diamond boutique oceanfront hotel. Centrally located to the beach, downtown shops, restaurants, museums and attractions. Enjoy all of our wonderful amenities which include heated pool and jacuzzi, Full service Spa,room service, gift shop, fitness center, coffee bar and restaurant, Eladio's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Harbor View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor View Hotel Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Santa Barbara
Harbor View Inn Santa Barbara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbor View Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.