We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beach front views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbor View Inn

Save Saved
You added Harbor View Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harbor View Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   28 W Cabrillo Blvd, Santa Barbara, CA 93101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
AWARD WINNING HOTEL
Ranked #12 of 59 hotels in Santa Barbara
Boston
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“beach front views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

This hotel was beautiful, staff very friendly, recommended restaurants and local attractions, we had oceanfront room which was spectacular, just stood and stared. The area is gorgeous, can walk everywhere, close to downtown stores and bars. Not many tourists although a cruise ship was off the beach, Romantic.

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms are the way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    371
    263
    74
    29
    27
See reviews for
160
357
18
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Paying almost $400 per night we got a tired 60tys motel room , with a view of stagnant water to the rear. They charged extra charged for drinking water, and parking 1/2 mile away. Overall a bad experience to be avoided.

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark R, Manager at Harbor View Inn, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
I am sorry to hear we did not provide the stay that we want all our guests to enjoy. If our service fell short I am as disappointed that I did not hear about your issues when you were here. My family bought this property in 1985 and I am a General Contractor and built all the building here on property the first was in 1985 and the most resend was our North wing which I completed in 2006. We are currently starting a remodel of all our rooms this week to update colors and soft goods. I hope you will give us a try again and let me know what you think. Thank-you for taking the time to write a review.
Mark A. Romasanta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuertoBVallarta
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We were just at the Harbor View Inn with our family--perfect location, near the pier. Our grandchildren--4years and 8--fell ion love with the pool!!! We are a fussy family believe me--but everything was top shelf--they catered to the children and it was a perfect family vacation--we hope to go back---thanking everyone who made it such a great family vacation

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Lovely, lovely stay. Great location..walking distance from the beach. Rooms are nice and spacious, clean and staff is very accommodating. Highly recommend!

West Beach..where the hotel is..feels a bit touristy. I'd recommend going to east beach which is only a 10-15 minute walk from the hotel. A bit more quiet and nicer.

If you are looking for restaurant recommendations: Cava, The Lark were fabulous and the boat house on Hendri's beach.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Everything that could go wrong went wrong. After booking a room for nearly $390 a night we were looking forward to a relaxing trip and expecting excellent customer service. Nonexistent.

It just gets worse if you can imagine it. Major security breach occurred when the front desk gave us a room key that was being occupied and imagine the faces of the occupants (and us) when we opened the door. Everyone has bad days and I get it but to have sequentially a bucket list is ridiculous.

I will say that the rooms are nice and beds are comfortable but it all starts with the front desk. If they can rally the staff to reflect the Inn, they could be five stars.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark R, General Manager at Harbor View Inn, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
I want to Thank-you for letting me know about our service failures during your stay. I am sorry my staff gave you the wrong keys to your room putting you in a very uncomfortable position that should have never happened. I am glad you had a few positive comments for us but I understand your late of wanting to give us another try. Please call me directly if you are coming to Santa Barbara and let me try to convince you to stay with us. Thank-you for taking the time to write a review. Mark A. Romasanta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
249 helpful votes 249 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

This hotel is almost on the corner of State Street & Ocean Boulevard - the street that runs along the ocean.  None of the hotels are directly on the beach because Ocean Blvd is between the ocean & the hotels.  Also the area of State Street where the fun restaurants & shops are located is 3 or 4 blocks from the hotel.  Harbor View Inn is in a good location to take advantage of shops, restaurants, beach & pier.

We recently stayed 3 nights in a standard room with 2 queen beds.  Our room was very spacious & comfortable.  The decor is somewhat dated but we spent little time in our room - there is so much to see & do in Santa Barbara & the weather is so pleasant that outside activities are inviting.  Check in & out was simple & efficient.

The pool area is very nice & has a snack bar that serves ice cream, soft drinks & mixed drinks.  I think you can also order sandwiches.  There is a small restaurant adjacent to the hotel that serves meals & has nice outdoor patio seating. The hotel charges for everything from disposable shavers to bottled water (not much complimentary here so be sure to pack needed items).

We were surprised by the number of foreign languages spoken by guests at the hotel pool.  There must be some connection with European travel agencies.

We had a pleasant stay and would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We were booked for a week, but left after 60 hours! Hotel is old, smelly, and in desperate need of updates! We had the most expensive suite for our honeymoon thinking it was awesome based on pics we've seen on their website. Wrong wrong! Spa? Really? Where exactly is this? Fitness area? Give me a break! Old equipment, broken down weights machines and so hot we could hardly breath, even after asking maid to please turn on a/c!
Room was big and clean and views were awesome, but NOT worth the 600.00 per night! Service sucked! We waited 1-1/2 days to get towels we asked for upon arrival.
Never again!

Room Tip: Recent building in area was going on at 5:30 am!! Jack hammers echoed thru our heads! Elderly Neighb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Harbor View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor View Inn

Address: 28 W Cabrillo Blvd, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#5 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#6 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbor View Inn 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Santa Barbara's premier 4-Diamond boutique oceanfront hotel. Centrally located to the beach, downtown shops, restaurants, museums and attractions. Enjoy all of our wonderful amenities which include heated pool and jacuzzi, Full service Spa,room service, gift shop, fitness center, coffee bar and restaurant, Eladio's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Harbor View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor View Hotel Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Santa Barbara
Harbor View Inn Santa Barbara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbor View Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.